6/14 Doodles pmps 395 +2 322

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +4 68 +5 107 +6 197 +7 395?? Whaaat?

HEIDI!!! You are in control of this!! You have your lc, mc, & hc food, you have strips, you have a meter, you have us!!
I know how scary it is to get a low number, but consult the board like you did, when it happens--
Lather, rinse repeat--means test, feed appropriate food, either lc, mc or hc,(whatever number calls for) then repeat in 15-20 minutes to see if she rises..Heidi got some beautiful numbers today!! BE Proud!!! You Did GOOD!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Next time-- dose crease will come--not to worry, she is doing just fine :-D --Good Job :thumbup
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +4 68 +5 107 +6 197 +7 395?? Whaaat?

Heidi I'm not confused at all. I told you to expect a crazy # tonight, you got it.
This is the body's over reaction to the low you had....liver panicked and saved kitty by spilling glucose into the blood. It happens all the time.
In that way it's good you did'nt shoot more...still would have had the same thing happen but you would have gone lower and probably carbed her up.
Does this make sense?
She is insulin sensitive now so stick with your skinny no matter what you see on that one touch :o
I'm thinkin pancrease will kick in before pmps and you'll see a somewhat lower #.
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +4 68 +5 107 +6 197 +7 395?? Whaaat?

I think you have a bouncy rubber kitty there. Hopefully she can clear it just as fast. Did you feed any dry kibble or HC when she was low?
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +4 68 +5 107 +6 197 +7 395?? Whaaat?

FWIW I know she did'nt feed any HC or MC
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +4 68 +5 107 +6 197 +7 395?? Whaaat?

my own cat's diabetes is so boring that i have to REALLY involved in doodles diabetes :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +4 68 +5 107 +6 197 +7 395?? Whaaat?

oops didn't see the second page...no she hasn't had any hc at all. Just her regular lunch of FF and that I brought to her.
She's sleeping on the couch with periods of stretching lovin with her brother and an ear flick for me :smile:
Biology, math urghhh should have paid more attention :lol: :lol: but wait that's why I have you awesome beans :-D :-D
thanks so much
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +6 197 +7 395 +8 402 boing

Nice cycle today... now, sorry about the bad case of rubber kitty - also called save-a-strip.

OK... let me try to help you on the food issue.

Wet food only right? 3 kinds: LC, MC (10-12%) or HC (>15%) - I've marked my special cans with a sharpie pen as to not use them accidentally.

ECID and some of them are more carb sensitive than others - in the very sensitive category is Jen/Oreo, not so sensitive... Jackie/Punk (I think). Wet food doesn't last forever.. .in fact the gravy in the can is not only the yummy part but that's where most of the carbs are in MC and HC. Unlike dry-evil-kibbles, the effect of wet food and wet carbs is rapid - which is why we say to test in 15 minutes. If it's early in the cycle, we'll say to retest to make sure there is no bobble... that's because gravy is somewhat short-lived and the cat can lower again... make sense?

I'm sorry but adding water to LC doesn't really do anything for carbs, although it is great hydration. I'm been known to add water to HC to dislodge the gravy from the meat though.

Depending if you cat is a diver - see Sienne/Gabby - the initial drop in the BG because of the onset may or should be soften by food. Tizon was served at snack at shot time and a bigger snack at +2 (his onset) to dampen the drop. Typically, the steeper the drop, the bouncier the cat gets. I use the express elevator analogy, it's not easy on the stomach.... the stairs are easier and smoother.

The goal is to maintain the cat into the green or blue/green zone to promote healing of the pancreas. Sometimes, when you are home you can experiment (not when Doodles is 40 though) with LC and/MC to see what kind of spike you get. Often LC is what you need, although sometimes, when a nice bump is required - like for a nice surf in the 50s - a touch of HC is warranted.

Greens are your friends! I know you're thinking... IMG, I almost died... what is she talking about... I've been there.... even got the dramaQueen award! Trust me... we like green!

I hope this helps you. You are going great Heidi.
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +6 197 +7 395 +8 402 boing

Helene are you saying feed HC when kitty hits 50 at +2 to soften the fall?
I'm not sure I understood. Seems Doodles hit 50 and drove herself straight uphill from there with no MC or HC
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +6 197 +7 395 +8 402 boing

lori and tom said:
Helene are you saying feed HC when kitty hits 50 at +2 to soften the fall?
I'm not sure I understood. Seems Doodles hit 50 and drove herself straight uphill from there with no MC or HC

No.... let me try to clarify. Doodles hit 50s all by herself and it's ok. When a cat drops early in the cycle, some food (LC preferably) is good to soften the drop. If a cat is in the 40s early in the cycle, definitely HC (or MC if you know your cat's reaction to food inside and out). If you have a cat in the 50s at +6 or +7 (around nadir say), LC is fine... because the insulin is fading out... did I explain it right this time.,...maybe?
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +6 197 +7 395 +8 402 boing

good job today, you and Doodles did great feeding the curve. :smile: The bounce is ugly, but it was expected and it will go away.

Just one note, one thing everybody seems to forget (not just you, this is running rampant through LL these days) is that Lantus has a shed. Skinnying the dose because of a lower preshot number usually has no effect on this cycle at all. Because of the shed, you are more likely to see any impact from the reduced dose tomorrow, when she is in Rebound City and you wish you could give more insulin. In this case, you only reduced by a drop so probably the impact tomorrow will be small, but it's something to keep in mind. I think if you shot a greatly reduced dose, like 1/2 dose, you might be able to slow down the current cycle some, but not if you reduce a little bit.

So what is the right thing to do? Well, if you can be home to monitor, usually the best thing is to go ahead and shoot the full dose, and monitor. You can always control the cycle with food, so get the insulin in, steer the first few hours with food if you need to, and then there will be enough juice on board to help with the bounce that is sure to come. Shoot low to stay low. ;-)
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +6 197 +7 395 +8 402 boing

Great thanks, no since the last time I got scolded for dry kibbles :lol: I ran out and got baby food for her. Doodles and her brother Gotti (ND) are completely on wet food. Trust me Gotti did not
like that at all! The day Doodles got 15 little krack kibbles so did he and for 3 days he sat by the jar waiting :smile:

All Doodles has had today is FF Tender Turkey Feast, she loves that. Right now she's sleeping on the couch with her bellie in the air :-D Ive decided not to poke until her pmps. Poor thing ohmygod_smile

I just get confused with numbers that are great and boom whaatt?!?! So I learn as I go and again thanks for the lessons I've been getting. Can be a little over load at times, but not as bad as it was
the first week :lol: :lol:

will post pmps >"<
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +6 197 +7 395 +8 402 boing

Most kitties bounce at first. This is a wonderfully protective function of the liver (hence our description -- liver training school or LTS). Most cats who are diabetic have been so for a while prior to their diagnosis. Their bodies get accustomed to being in higher BG levels. Now that you start treating the FD, BG levels drop and the liver panics. It treats the lower BG as if it is dangerous -- and in the case of a legitimate hypo, it is. Hence, the protective nature of this reaction. The liver dumps stored glucose along with counterregulatory hormones which drive the BG levels up. This is rebound or as you correctly described, "boing." It can take up to 72 hours for those hormones to clear and levels to get back to where they were. The more time that Doodles can spend in those healthy green numbers, the more the liver will get used to being in "normal" ranges again and the bouncing will become less and less.
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +6 197 +7 395 +8 402 boing

Heidi,
Remember the last time you keep referring to, when you shot low and Doodles went into the 30's? Also remember she had not eaten for 12 hrs and was not eating well after her shot. THAT can make a BIG difference. Just another bit of info to store in your head when you are faced with a decision on the spot like we often are.

You did great today. Now you can see what happens when you skinny the dose and use that as information for the next time.

Have you had a chance to look at Janet and Binkys chart for various foods in different carb ranges (wet food that is)? Were you able to go stock up on some of those. I know you have the baby food, but I dont think anyone really knows the carb levels of that. We suggested it the one day because doodles wouldnt eat anything. Often times they will eat babyfood, even if they have a bit of an upset tummy or are being finicky. You will also see that I give it to Latte A LOT...Latte is a different egg. She does not eat well and cannot have the hc foods because of allergies (grains, gluten, etc). Im most likely to get her to eat babyfood w/ or w/o karo in a sticky situation. If I could use regular hc or mc food/gravy, I certainly would reach for that first.

Hope you have a good night and she clears this in a reasonable amount of time.
 
Re: 6/14 Doodles amps 176 +6 197 +7 395 +8 402 boing

Good to know, great information!

She's back :-D it was almost like she went on a virtual ride ~ she slept while her numbers were surfing, bouncing and making me nailbite_smile She's been following me around, playing
with me, snooping around stuff, jumping on the railing...and I know the look on her face she's out to pounce on brother :lol:
Poor Gotti he has to get used to her feeling better too :lol:

It was nice to take a break for the last +2's...Doodles too I'm sure. I just took her pmps 396 gave her skinny shot, she had a great dinner so lets see where she decides to go tonight ;-)

And you're right about the last time she was at 36 NO FOOD...I forgot, that's a :shock: its like all common sense goes out the window, the butterflies come in and I go into whaaaat mode?!? :roll:
But each time I learn soooo much more than the last time and things start to make more sense to me. I'm understanding the lingo, timing and my daughter a little more everyday. All with the help
of her new sugar kitty friends :-D

thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top