6/14/14 Mom-mom AM 109, +1-68,+2-62 GOING DOWN

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
I am really worried about Mom-mom. She was steady going down, which is good, however, since this morning. She was 109 in the AM and did not get a shot, of course. She ate almost a full 3oz can of "companion" salmon flavored canned food (which is excellent as far as carbs) Its her usual. Anyway, after she ate she went down more to a 68, so I gave her a piece of turkey (lunch meat) and a little more canned. I tested her again and she went down again to a 62. I am starting to worry. What should I do ???? SOMEONE PLEASE HELP
 
She didn't get a shot this morning, right? The insulin is wearing off from last night. It has been 14 hours since her last shot. I believe that after 16 hours the insulin is totally worn off. 62 is still a safe number. 68 and 62 are really the same with meter variance. It looks like she was clearing the bounce so these cycles can be more powerful.

MOm-mom numbers are pretty very variable. I wonder if she needs to stay with a dose for a longer period of time as long as she doesn't drop below 50. You use a human meter right?
 
Thank God I just got a reading of 92. :-D :-D I did give her another piece of turkey. I am supposed to be on my way to my niece's son's t-ball award game. I am just scared to leave her. Do you think she will be OK for about 2 hours, or should I stay??? nailbite_smile
 
I'm a little confused. Did you give her a shot or not? If no, then instead of +1 your number would be +13 and then +14 etc. If you skipped the shot and she is going up without carbs, she should be fine. In that case I would feed her her regular lc food and go. I just looked at your ss and you wrote no shot. The insulin will either have worn off or is wearing off by now. Do leave food for her.
 
No I did not give the shot this morning. She is at 117 now, so I am going to leave for a few hours. Thanks everyone who helped me out with my daily dilemma :razz: Have a Great Day ALL :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
laura, is your goal to get her off of insulin?

if so, you really need to learn to shoot lower numbers. experienced people will shoot everything over 50ish if they are going to be home to monitor. if it makes you nervous, gradually lower the numbers you will shoot and "practice" shooting lower. If you won't shoot anything under 200 now, start with shooting everything over 150. Then 100, then 75, then 50.

That's what Tight Regulation is - we try to keep a cat's BG's between 50-120 so that their pancreas will heal if at all possible, and they'll go off of insulin. If their pancreas isn't able to heal, keeping them in that range is protecting their body from the damages of high blood sugar.

Lantus works best when the numbers are lower. You won't see the gigantic drops that you see when you shoot a 300 or a 500. Mom Mom will feel better if her BGs aren't going up and down by 300 points every day.

Look at today's posts for Oliver, Trey, Dimitri and Zack - look at these cats' spreadsheets and notice the preshot numbers. Look at the preshot numbers that they shot that are less than 100 or so and look at what happens in the rest of that cycle. These are all newly diagnosed cats, just like mom-mom. When they started shooting lower preshot numbers, the high numbers on the spreadsheets basically disappeared.

Numbers over 50 are completely safe. Numbers in the 40's mean take action, give some carbs to bring up the BGs. You don't have to panic about these numbers.
 
I know you are 100% right Julie and theres only a few people in who's opinion I trust, and you are one of them. I will try do the shot at 150 but no lower than that, I get really scared. Just say she had a 150, now 4 months ago I wouldnt even think about a shot then, or even now. Since I will shoot if it's over 150, do I shoot the same amount??? She is at 200 now so, if she is 151, do I shoot the same dose 2.00???? Thanks for your time Julie, you have helped me out in the past too and I really appreciate it :smile:
 
Julie, I think she was afraid today because she needed to leave her. At least that's is what I thought.
 
right, you can't shoot low and leave.

yes, the point is that you keep the same dose.

before you do that, will you look at the spreadsheets for those cats that i mentioned above so you can see what i'm talking about? shooting low produces completely different effects than shooting high. it's just an entirely different game and the cat's body responds completely differently. i think it would be helpful for you to see those spreadsheets and look at what happens when the people shoot low numbers and how the cat's body reacts before you try it.

whenever you DO shoot any number lower than you've shot before, you want to get a +1 and a +2 to see what's going on.

i'm not perfect, laura. that's why we post advice here in public so others can see and correct information if we make a mistake.
 
I got my low numbers but, thats it for her. She is back on high (as usual) right after good numbers. I hope it doesn't stay that way
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top