6/13 Zeus no PM shot, back from the ultrasound

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
6/12 Condo

Good Morning,

Thank you to everyone that dropped by yesterday to offer support and kind words for Zeus. We so appreciate it. If you didn't get to read my update last night, I did get to schedule an ultrasound for tonight. It's at an animal hospital an hour and a half away. I hope it's nothing serious, but that we can get to the bottom of Zeus' appy issues, vomiting and weight loss.

My question is what to do with his shot tonight? We will be on the road or maybe just getting to the hospital at his shot time. I am planning to bring the insulin and supplies so that I could test, feed, shoot. Just not sure that he will eat when we get there after the car ride. The hospital person told me to either shoot early (but we have a hour and a half drive, so the shot would have to before that) or we could try to do it there.

Zeus ate OK last night. Had a snack before bed PM +4.5 and then had 1/2 of a FF appetizer at PM+8. No vomit today. :-D also no poo. I can't remember if he poo'd yesterday after the vet visit... I can picture scooping but I don't know if that was yesterday or If it was the day before). Funny how the days really do all blend together sometimes. :lol: so far this morning, he seems to be Ok. He ate a little from his dish and moved on to Smokey's for a couple of licks, then a bit more of his own.. after I microwaved it up for the second time, he isn't too spoiled ;-)

Have a good day,
Kathie

ETA: the poo arrived :smile:
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus +11.5 208 AMPS 217 ultrasound tonight & ?

I wish you an easy car trip and good ultrasound test results :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus +11.5 208 AMPS 217 ultrasound tonight & ?

Can't give opinion on the insulin Kathie, but glad you were able to get a quick appointment. Happy Zeus is eating today :-D Sending positive vines on the US outcome!
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus +11.5 208 AMPS 217 ultrasound tonight & ?

Morning Kathie,
I wish I had an answer for you. It would be nice to be able to shoot your regular dose and keep your time. Sending Lots of good test, feed and shoot vines whenever you decide to do it. and TONS of good US and test results vines.
Take care, travel safe.
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus +11.5 208 AMPS 217 ultrasound tonight & ?

Hey Zeus, this is Mali...don't sweat the US. It's no biggie. I''ve had one and you will ace this one and...don't give the beans a hard time on the ride over and keep us posted.dancing_cat
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus +11.5 208 AMPS 217 ultrasound tonight & ?

I hope everything goes well with the U/S tonight. I'm glad you were able to get it scheduled so quickly. If you think he will eat after the U/S, maybe waiting until you are at the vet will work. If you shoot at the vet, there will be less time to worry about his numbers while you are driving back than if you shoot early.
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus +11.5 208 AMPS 217 ultrasound tonight & ?

hi kathie. has zuess ever had an ultrasound before? if so, did they have to anesthetize him? i'm asking because anesthesia can lower blood glucose... sometimes a lot. they have to put alex under to do an ultrasound. she doesn't cooperate at the vet's and that's putting it mildly. i either hold off or skip her shot if there's any chance she'll have to go under anesthesia.

good luck with the vet visit!
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus +11.5 208 AMPS 217 ultrasound tonight & ?

Don't they want to do the US on an empty stomach?

I think you may end up skipping since there's no way to know if Zeus would eat if you waited until after the US to feed and shoot. I also think feeding and then putting him in the car may be a recipe for a car sick kitty.
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus +11.5 208 AMPS 217 ultrasound tonight & ?

Were thinking of you


218a5f17-586e-438c-837b-db5f308330d5_zps92a4161f.jpg
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus +11.5 208 AMPS 217 ultrasound tonight & ?

Thanks for visiting with more support Dyana, Jane, Mary, RG and Mali, Carla and Ann. I appreciate it :smile:

Jill, Zeus has not had an U/S before, but he is really a very mellow cat for the most part. I don't think that they will have to give him anesthesia... But you never know. He could surprise me.

Sienne, I asked about fasting and they said no. I don't think Zeus will eat there either before or afterwards., So i may have to skip. I'm going to test him before we leave, and decide i guess... he is 108 right now +7 so I fed.

Such a cute kitty picture mtncat58... Thank you :-D
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus +11.5 208 AMPS 217 ultrasound tonight & ?

Sending piles of good car ride and good vetty vines your way. Cats so seldom eat at the vets office. Even my hoover pauses before eating a treat there.
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus AMPS 217 +7 108 +10 72 off to the U/S

It looks like we probably will have to skip Zeus' shot tonight. He is 72 at +10. We are off to the Ultrasound and I can't imagine that he will eat after the long car ride or the time in the vets office. He did just have a tiny snack and is busy washing his face. Cutie patootie.

Thanks again for the vines and well wishes. I hope all will be fine.
 
Re: 6/13 Zeus AMPS back from the ultrasound

We survived the ultrasound. Dr. said kidneys and spleen were fine. Didn't see much with the pancreas. Said that Zeus' liver was bright and said it wasn't uncommon to have a fatty liver with diabetes. She said that his intestines were inflamed, and talked about inflammatory bowel disease or lymphoma. Talked about biopsies, and that they don't always go deep enough into the cells. She is sending it all to our normal vet so that we can decide how to treat. She did also say that we have to weigh the expected outcome, and if we get to the same spot either way, do I want to put Zeus through something more invasive or do we just treat with meds as if we know For sure what it is. I can't recall the name of the drug that she talked about.

Zeus was 72 before we left for our hour and a half long drive, so no insulin. After the ultrasound, the doctor stepped out of the room, and I decided to sneak in a BG test. She came back in as I was testing and was amazed, she asked me all kinds of questions about it, about how to get the right spot on the ear, and not getting the vein, and whether the ears bleed better the more you test, and my meter (she agreed that the human ones that we use are great and that we don't have to use an alpha trak, she even said that they sometimes use them instead because of the cost and because you can't get the strips quickly when needed). Then she asked me if I would do it again and if she could video tape me while I did. So I tested again. Good thing Zeus is so mellow :smile: afterwards as we were checking out, the technician came out and said that the Dr. showed her the video, and told me what a great job I did, and that I made it look so easy, that I did a better job than she did, and then she said I should put it on YouTube (I said that's where I learned how) :lol: have to admit it made me feel good that I can do something right :lol:

Zeus was such a good boy today/tonight. As soon as we got home he wanted to eat, and then he had to pee :lol: and then he wanted to eat some more. After a CPC, he went to rest in his cube, where I caught him licking his bare belly. He then came out for another snack. His BG jumped to 323.

I'm exhausted so I'm off to bed. Take care everyone, and thanks for the words of support and encouragement.
 
Hi Kathie - what a long day for you and Zeus. I will wish you guys the best, with strong positive thoughts as you make a decision on how to treat and a determination on exactly what you are dealing with. I went through this with Mannie, and without invasive surgery to do and get adequate cell samples we just couldn't know for sure. In Mannie's case there was a cyst/growth on his liver, and enlarged adrenals, along with a few other issues. I elected not to put him through that, the BW told us enough without it, we re-ran the US a few months later to determine any changes. Thinking of you guys tonight, strong positive thoughts headed your way.

I absolutely LOVE the testing story. Awesome!

Zeus my man, what a trooper you are!
 
((((kathie))))

I'm glad the U/S is behind you and I hope your vet can tell you something more definitive or give you a way forward.

Our Teddi had lymphoma but they never could get the dx via needle biopsy. They tried but it just didn't work well enough to be diagnostic and we were not going to allow surgery. Her intestines, on ultrasound, combined with the symptoms, the increased white blood cell count, and the lymph nodes allowed them to dx. She did very well with the chemo.

Paws crossed...please keep us posted.
 
Thanks everyone. Your support and kind words are wonderful.

Michelle and Mannie (GA) said:
without invasive surgery to do and get adequate cell samples we just couldn't know for sure.

That's what the doctor said too.... She thought it would be better to try to treat with meds as we would probably get to the same place in the end.

Marje and Gracie said:
Our Teddi had lymphoma but they never could get the dx via needle biopsy. They tried but it just didn't work well enough to be diagnostic and we were not going to allow surgery. Her intestines, on ultrasound, combined with the symptoms, the increased white blood cell count, and the lymph nodes allowed them to dx. She did very well with chemo.

The doctor said this too, and did talk about chemo. I don't know if I want to put Zeus through surgery, I guess I'd have lots of questions first. I do want to do the absolute best thing for him, but not at a price of doing more than he can handle.

I hope our vet calls today with a plan.

Thanks again everyone. You are all wonderful!
 
Kathie, just catching up with your condo. It sounds like you had a good visit and so cool with the Vet watching you do the test on Zeus and making a video. Sending vines and prayers for a decision and treatment.
Hugs and scritches from us.
 
Hi Kathie,
I'm glad that Zeus is home and that he enjoyed his food last night. I hope that you and your vet can arrive at a plan of treatment that will help Zeus and not be invasive. It's neat that you so impressed the vet with your testing skills!

Wishing you and your fine kitty a good weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top