? 6/13 TiTI AMPS 91, No Shoot, +6 131, PMPS 148 Shoot 11u, +2.5 74 +2.5 64 +3 79

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's a bit low for this early in the cycle. You might want to give her some food now, maybe a small drop of karo or syrup. If you had medium carb food around, I would suggest it. Or if you had high carb you could mix it half and half with low carb to get medium. Don't feed her too much, you want her to be a bit hungry.

I have MC, no Karo, Organic Maple Syrup

She does well with the honey
 
OK, a couple of tsp of MC would be a good idea, and test in 1/2 hour. She's coming down fairly quickly.
 
Give her a couple of teaspoons of her regular low carb food with a drop or two of honey added.

Is she typically hungry? As in, can you count on her to want to eat more?
 

been 20 minutes since last test.

She's eating MC after 2.5 mls honey delivered straight thru a syringe.
No physical signs of trouble yet, but I do not feel secure in this
 
Have you got that +3.5 yet?

I have to nip out and take my dogs for a short walk before it get's too hot. But keep on doing what you are doing in the meantime.
Back in 30-45min
 
No, it's not a 911. On the human meter, she is safe above 50. It's good to see she's going up now. You can go a little longer before the next test. I'm going to head to bed soon, but I think Gill will be round if Titi heads down again or if you have more questions.

A few of us were talking, and since Titi got as low as she did after a skipped shot, we think she probably needs another reduction. We are suggesting trying 9 units again. Something has changed in Titi, and it's a good change.
 
Well, I slept to 11:30. Had to do job stuff-may have lost job due to technical problem. Long story don't ask.

Is it safe to shoot 11u at this late date.
Have you got that +3.5 yet?

I have to nip out and take my dogs for a short walk before it get's too hot. But keep on doing what you are doing in the meantime.
Back in 30-45min

Her +3 was 79.
8 minutes to the next test.

TiTi looks good, and tested at a nice low blue # Will test again PMPS. Staying at 11units, most probable.
PMPS tested 148 131 148 74

+2.5 74
Seems low How do I handle it - feed her - add honey ?


Gave her 2.5 mls honey

I think 11 units is, perhaps , too much, or she doesn't clear her depot very well.[/QUOTE]
 
No, it's not a 911. On the human meter, she is safe above 50. It's good to see she's going up now. You can go a little longer before the next test. I'm going to head to bed soon, but I think Gill will be round if Titi heads down again or if you have more questions.

A few of us were talking, and since Titi got as low as she did after a skipped shot, we think she probably needs another reduction. We are suggesting trying 9 units again. Something has changed in Titi, and it's a good change.
Coulda fooled me. lol.

It's the food
She went off dried food to MC, and this is when everything went blooey.
 
Coulda fooled me. lol.

It's the food
She went off dried food to MC, and this is when everything went blooey.

By blooey, I mean running significantly lower. The food change changed everything. In the long run this has to be a very good thing. Be nice to find the , if not long run, then the longish-run or sorta'-long-run, soon.
 
Yes, going off dry food can make a big difference in the dose they need. I think going to 9 units will be safer as her new dose. And hopefully let you get more sleep.
 
Have you got that +3.5 yet?

I have to nip out and take my dogs for a short walk before it get's too hot. But keep on doing what you are doing in the meantime.
Back in 30-45min

Sounds like Spain is like Central Texas. 6am to 9am is about right for gardening, walking with or without dogs, and other outdoor activities. You can stretch it to 10am, but it's pretty hot by then.
And the intensity of the sun on bare skin is fierce. Really feels like el sol is attempting to burn you to death. I am usually covered up, with a sun hat, and wrap around sunglasses and sun screen on nose, lips, neck and anything else that isn't shielded by glasses or clothes.
 
I'm back getting my coffee now, will be around for as long as you need me, southern inland Spain is a lot like central Texas, it's 86 F already and it's only 9.30am, and we are not in full summer swing yet!!! We've had a very short spring this year.

I see you have a 117 at +4. I would withhold food for now and test in one hour to make sure she is going to stay up without any extra help.

G
 
Sounds like Spain is like Central Texas. 6am to 9am is about right for gardening, walking with or without dogs, and other outdoor activities. You can stretch it to 10am, but it's pretty hot by then.
And the intensity of the sun on bare skin is fierce. Really feels like el sol is attempting to burn you to death. I am usually covered up, with a sun hat, and wrap around sunglasses and sun screen on nose, lips, neck and anything else that isn't shielded by glasses or clothes.

hi,
well as of 50 minutes later , +5 (I think it's +5) TiTi is 114
 
I'm back getting my coffee now, will be around for as long as you need me, southern inland Spain is a lot like central Texas, it's 86 F already and it's only 9.30am, and we are not in full summer swing yet!!! We've had a very short spring this year.

I see you have a 117 at +4. I would withhold food for now and test in one hour to make sure she is going to stay up without any extra help.

G

Yup, that's Central Texas, all right. We must be on the same longitude.

The last test was also sans food.
 
Yup, that's Central Texas, all right. We must be on the same longitude.

The last test was also sans food.

I understand there's an idea that going down to 9 units might be a good idea.
I'm curios about why it's always 2 units up, or 2 units down.
Never does one go 1 unit or 1.5 units in either direction? Is this because her numbers are so high?.
 
Never does one go 1 unit or 1.5 units in either direction? Is this because her numbers are so high?.
No, it's because her dose is so high. The amount of the change is figured by percentage. Most cats are only on 1-3 units or less, so changes are only .25 units. Because TiTi is on so much more, her changes need to be bigger.
 
No, it's because her dose is so high. The amount of the change is figured by percentage. Most cats are only on 1-3 units or less, so changes are only .25 units. Because TiTi is on so much more, her changes need to be bigger.

Ahh, you know what? That was exactly what I meant to say. I am losing brain power rapidly.
 
I think it's a case of trying to make a significant enough change in her dose to stop her going to low and giving you both a break.
When a kitty that's on 1u goes too low we drop the dose by 0.25u which is a 25% decrease in dose.
The 2u decrease on TiTi's current dose rounds up to around 20%. Different dose changes will come as things settle for TiTi, she is looking awesome at the moment, and it's great to hear that she is feeling so well.
So if it's two hours since you fed, it looks like it will be OK for you to get to sleep.

So 9u tomorrow morning then. Try and post up before you shoot if for some reason she were to be still in low blues or green.

Does everyone go through this? I mean when they start, or is it hIgh dose kitties, primarily.

Everyone goes through a steep learning curve, and when kitties start to go down the dosing scale it get's a bit frantic, whether they are high dose or not. It's just with the high doses there needs to be a different dosing strategy.
 
Does everyone go through this? I mean when they start, or is it hIgh dose kitties, primarily.
Go through what? Having to readjust the dose? Not everyone. But then, not everyone starts out here on such a high dose. It does take time to find the ideal dose for a cat, though, and it's more difficult if there are other factors in play, like what they're eating, other conditions, etc.
 
Go through what? Having to readjust the dose? Not everyone. But then, not everyone starts out here on such a high dose. It does take time to find the ideal dose for a cat, though, and it's more difficult if there are other factors in play, like what they're eating, other conditions, etc.

Yes, the whole megillah. Has to be tiring for y'all, as well.

I think mine was complicated , not only be the change in food and the high dose, but the fact that TiTi had gone 2 years before we got here. And those 2 years were with almost no documentation. I felt like I was traveling blind for the first few weeks.
 
I think it's a case of trying to make a significant enough change in her dose to stop her going to low and giving you both a break.
When a kitty that's on 1u goes too low we drop the dose by 0.25u which is a 25% decrease in dose.
The 2u decrease on TiTi's current dose rounds up to around 20%. Different dose changes will come as things settle for TiTi, she is looking awesome at the moment, and it's great to hear that she is feeling so well.
So if it's two hours since you fed, it looks like it will be OK for you to get to sleep.

So 9u tomorrow morning then. Try and post up before you shoot if for some reason she were to be still in low blues or green.

You bet .

Everyone goes through a steep learning curve, and when kitties start to go down the dosing scale it get's a bit frantic, whether they are high dose or not. It's just with the high doses there needs to be a different dosing strategy.

Yes, I thoughtit might be like that. Very tricky going downward.

I think I might just go for one more test. I'm a bit wary , and it's almost time for another test anyway. The last was 45 minutes ago.
 
Without a doubt a number of factors have complicated your journey, but look how far you have both come :) look at the colour of that ss in the last week, that's got to make it all worthwhile, that and TiTi shiny coat and general well being.
You are doing a great job of keeping her safe and getting her well, remember that you need to look after yourself too.
Get that last test just before you get to bed, you might as well. Get some sleep.:bighug::bighug:
 
Yes, it really is! :) Fir 2 years, we floundered. It's a nice fish, flounder, but as a verb it's a crummy experience. :)

ok. Not bad, with no food, it's +6 103

Ok so I can leave out food for her to nosh, and sleep to 9am 6 1/2 hrs from now.
Take her number at 9:15. What level will it be safe to shoot 9 units? Did you say to check in if she is in low blue or green? Is 150 ok to shoot without consulting?
 
ok. Not bad, with no food, it's +6 103

. What level will it be safe to shoot 9 units? Did you say to check in if she is in low blue or green? Is 150 ok to shoot without consulting?

I would say if she is over 150 but under 200 she is OK to shoot, but you may well have a busy cycle, bear in mind that she may need fairly close monitoring, so yoou will have to judge if you are going to be able to do that for her.

below 150 I would post up for advice, but I would say, just in case no one is about, ( I will be watching for your amps, it's about 4pm time for me here):

  • if she is below 150 above 100 and you need to get work done, a reasonable strategy might be to skip to let the depot drain some more and let you catch your breath and get some work done.
  • If you got a green number at AMPS I would skip.
As always you hold the syringe, so the final decision is yours:)
 
I would say if she is over 150 but under 200 she is OK to shoot, but you may well have a busy cycle, bear in mind that she may need fairly close monitoring, so yoou will have to judge if you are going to be able to do that for her.

below 150 I would post up for advice, but I would say, just in case no one is about, ( I will be watching for your amps, it's about 4pm time for me here):

  • if she is below 150 above 100 and you need to get work done, a reasonable strategy might be to skip to let the depot drain some more and let you catch your breath and get some work done.
  • If you got a green number at AMPS I would skip.
As always you hold the syringe, so the final decision is yours:)

I got a low AMPS 82
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top