6/13 TASHIE/PMPS=257+2=207+3.75=167

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/13 TASHIE AM=489

Increased dose to .5U

DID do a PM+3 last night + 485 (Subject line would not take info)
 
Re: 6/13 TASHIE AM=489

Morning!
There's either something goofy with my computer or with your link to yesterday. It won't open for me. :? Could be my 'puter. :?
I hope there's a nice gentle ditching of this bounce for Tashie. She sure is a beautiful little girl! It sounds like she rules the house..as she should!
have a good day
 
Re: 6/13 TASHIE AM=489

Good morning Mary, nice to meet you! There is a good chance it is *me* on the link - just did it again, hope it works now :?

And, yes, she rules the house from her window hammock and tells the boys (Boris the Exotic and Mikko the ShihTzu) what to do FOR HER! Often she will say things like "now off with you, I need my rest" ....... "go find out what time dinner is so I can schedule my nap"

Have a great day! We are hoping Tash stays on her hammock today and doesn't go to spinning class - as she is a big bouncer!

B
 
Re: 6/13 TASHIE AM=489

Have a question .... Can't believe it's been a month already (today) since Tash had her first insulin shot - I am trying my best to wrap my head around ALL of this new information - feel like I have entered 3rd year Veterinary School, but without the first two to build on!

INSULIN QUESTION: We have the Lantus Pen that we are drawing from with syringes. I am concerned about that 28-day after opening thing - yet I KNOW I've read that it's good for double that? I just want to make sure I have a script for the next one in hand and to make sure I don't use this one for too long.

Need advice please :?
 
Re: 6/13 TASHIE AM=489+6=208

That is a frequent debate around here. since we refrigerate out pens they 28 days is probably too conservative. What some of us have found though is that when we get to the end of the pen the insulin seems to wear out. I often get longer than the recommended length of use, but start watching numbers closely in the last third of the pen and switch when things seem to be stalling out. We use lev, but the same principle applies.

You need to remember to put the address for yesterday's condo between the brackets from the URL button. [color=#FF4000]put address here[/color] or put address here[/color]]Tashie's yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=97432&p=1043376#p1043376
 
Re: 6/13 TASHIE AM=489+6=208

I've often used Lantus cartridges for 45 days. As long as it's kept in the fridge it should last a while. As Ann says, just keep an eye for a trend of any strange high numbers. With Tashie's small dose, the pen should last a while.

Good luck with that dose increase getting her back into nice numbers again.
 
Re: 6/13 TASHIE AM=489+6=208

I use levemir and the pens are "supposed" to be good for 42 days. That's for a human that it is carrying it around in their pocket unrefrigerated.

Lately, I have gotten just about every drop out of my pens as well. The one thing I found that does affect it is the amount of time you leave it out of the frig while you are drawing the dose as the pen gets to the last 40-50 units. I did some reading on this and, apparently, as the pen gets down closer to the bottom and less volume, the change in temp from in/out of the frig and sitting out, can affect the insulin more by making it just a little less effective. So you might start to see numbers get a little wonky. For that reason, I take the pen out, draw the dose out of it and immediately put the pen back in the frig before I adjust my dose in the syringe. I never leave the pen on the counter while I'm adjusting the dose. Also...it's best to keep them in a cheese drawer...or some other kind of drawer where they are less affected by temp changes as you open and close the frig door. I also keep a refrigerator thermometer in next to my pack of pens. I have found that if I put warm food from a pan into a container and put it in the frig while warm, it actually raises the temp in the cheese drawer...especially if we are having a party and I have alot of food. I usually put all warm food in the other frig to keep from affecting the temperature.

I'm glad you increased the dose. Tashie hasn't had any green since you reduced her and you've been doing a really nice job of testing!! Under the protocol, if an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose. What you want to see after you reduce is when she clears the bounces, she comes back into green. Because a higher dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles (although most cats it's likely 3-4) it's usually worthwhile to hold the reduced dose for at least four cycles and let the depot drain before you decide whether the dose reduction held or not. If you see green numbers in the first four cycles after the reduction, you could still be seeing depot from the higher dose. You can always ask us until you get comfortable with seeing it on her SS.

Also on the subject line, you will see that most of us will have the AMPS data in it until PMPS. Then we delete the AMPS data and start with the PMPS. That will give you more room.
 
Re: 6/13 TASHIE AM=489+6=208/PMPS=257

First and foremost - YIKES! She has NEVER had a PS number this LOW! Am I in for a roller coaster?

Thanks for the info on the Lantus - I am storing it correctly and don't have it out of the fridge for long. As her dose is so small, it's barely been "tapped" - Either way, I need to get a back up as this is the only one we have.

Totally get about the dose increase. Thanks for making clear (again) just like to still have my hand held :cool:

Get it on the subject line - I was almost going to do that but wasn't sure. With me working & multi tasking right now, don't have much time to "surf" what others are doing - will be able to do so soon ;-)

Will get a +3 to see what my bed time plans are! Tashie, I need SLEEP but you are the boss - whatever you decide. Maybe I should line up my night time projects - just in case! And Daddy, deal with it!
 
Re: 6/13 TASHIE AM=489+6=208/PMPS=257

Good shooting!!

When you shoot your lowest preshot, we recommend you get a +2 test. The +2 can tell you all kinds of interesting info!!!

Generally speaking and I say "generally" because a cat is a cat and they don't read the "FD Manual", but, generally

If the +2 is much higher than the PS, it's likely to be a quiet cycle.
If the +2 is the same or similar to the PS, it's likely to be an active lantus cycle.
If the +2 is much less than the PS, it's likely to be a very active cycle....and you might see numbers coming down early.
 
Re: 6/13 TASHIE AM=489+6=208/PMPS=257+2+207

Okay the! PMPS was 257, +2 is 207. Just fed a little more LC & a little poached chicken & broth. She IS hungry but don't want to "overload" her in case I need more for later. Orders captain? She is bright and doesn't seem as "sluggish" as she was when she was bouncing high & low. In fact, this may be the BEST she's been since diagnosed.
 
Re: 6/13 TASHIE AM=489+6=208/PMPS=257+2+207

I'll make sure! Well, maybe a +3.75? Would that be okay? :twisted:
 
Marje, I can tell a BIG difference in her today - she is far more comfortable and is not as reclusive. Sorta "know" she is not dive bombing - you can telln :razz:
 
Bern

If she were my cat, I'd set an alarm for +6. I have never been comfortable with going to bed on dropping numbers. IF she were to continue to come down at this rate, she could be at or below 100 by +6. She's clearing a bounce from the blues and she might continue down instead of going back up.

But we say here Know Thy Cat, and if you feel she is ok with food left out....it's your decision.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top