6/13 Simon AMPS 126 +4 48+4.5 71 PMP 113 +2 106 +4 93 +6 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bruce & Simon

Member Since 2011
Good Morning All

Didn't eat too much (about 20g tops) and not much enthusiasm, fine otherwise. No Tapazole
since yesterday am. Pepcid (1/4) before breakfast. Had to pill him, Allergy Pill pockets
not a hit ;-)

Nice #s yesterday, but a bit too green with no appetite.

This AMPS 126. Does this mean he's been running on his shed?
I wanted to give him something, but with the appetite still off I'm reluctant... nailbite_smile

I gave him a token dose of .5u. I hope this makes some sense, His PS was so good, I
wanted to keep some insulin in his system, and I can monitor the food intake.
I've taken all the bowls up, and will offer frequently so I can see exactly what Simon eats.

Yesterday
Yesterday Synopsis
AMPS 98 1.00 U
+4 64
+5 56
+6 59
+9 148
PMPS No Shot


Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126, Appetite still off. Reduced shot.

Good luck with Simon. It's so hard dealing with insulin and a cat who won't eat.
Sending good eating vines.
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126, Appetite still off. Reduced shot.

Sorry Simon is not eating. I would have done the same thing, but I'm no expert. I hope he feels better, and it's good you're able to montor today. I'm sure the experts will be on soon.
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126, Appetite still off. Reduced shot.

Thanks folks.

Simon's eaten a bit more, two separate "sessions". I hope we're getting back on track.
I've got a call in to the vet, and will be seeing him later today anyway with Chloe (stitch removal).
We'll figure something out, maybe some incremental dosage on the Tapazole with continued use of the pepcid.
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126 +2 89 Appetite improving Reduced sho

I hope Simon gets to feeling better and starts eating again. I would have done the no shot as well if he won't eat. I am pretty conservative and worry about a low.

Hope he gets to feeling better today and you can get back on track.
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126 +2 89 Appetite improving Reduced sho

I'd suggest taking a look at Linda/Bear Man's initial post in your condo about treating hyper-T. My understanding is that if there are side effects, you wash out the Tapazole (i.e., stop the drug), and then restart a few days later at a much reduced dose. The dose is than titrated up.
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126 +2 89 Appetite improving Reduced sho

Thanks Sienne

I checked both Linda's and the link you sent me and that's definitely what we'll be doing...
I'll just consult with the vet re: 1/4 tablet BID or the full 1/2 but only once a day. To me,
the first option seems best.

I'm surprised at Simon's #'s after missing last PM and only giving only .5u this AM

PS 126 +2 89 +4 48 Here we go again... Simon seems to like those greens.

Looks like we're going to make up for those missed earpokes last evening :YMSIGH:

I gave him some hc food (chicken chunks in gravy) and he hoovered it up.
Looks like his appetite is back thank goodness!
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126 +2 89 +4 48 ! On Reduced shot.

Hi guys .. I'm glad to hear that simon's appetite is coming back .. it's hard having a kitty who doesn't want to eat .. hope the vet get's back to you soon .. have a great day!
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126 +2 89 +4 48 +4.5 71 +6 74 Reduced sh

His appetite is back :-D
He's back to normal, eats with enjoyment, hangs out in kitchen when hungry.
Purring, playful (I got my first "love-bite" in a while :-D )
Thanks to everyone for your well-wishes and advice.

His readings today, after a missed shot, then a half dose, have me a bit puzzled,
but pleased obviously.

Last reading June 12 AMPS +9 was 148, no PM shot
Today
AMPS 126 gave only .5u
+2 89
+4 48 gave some HC Friskies
+4.5 71
+6 74 (first test with his new Freestyle :cool: )

At this point, I'm very tempted to hold his dose at .5u.
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126 +2 89 +4 48 +4.5 71 +6 74 Reduced sh

Great news on his appetite!

No dosing advice, but I can share a little experience. Back in April, Trixie got sick and I had to skip a few shots. When I restarted her shots, I was also nervous about going back to her full dose because she, too, was running low numbers. Long story short, that approach backfired on me, and we had to work our way back up. If you look at her spreadsheet, this all happened around 4/28.

Hopefully one of the dosing advisors will have more info for you!

Amy
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126 +2 89 +4 48 +4.5 71 +6 74 Reduced sh

Thanks Amy!

I do see what you mean. I'm hoping that just one shot missed may make a difference?
One of my problems is the difficulty for me staying up for those PM +6+'s etc. I'm an early to bed/
early to rise guy, awake at 5-6 a.m. regardless of amount of sleep, and can almost never get back to sleep
once awoken. The switch to Lantus has been great for Simon, but I was almost relieved when I couldn't shoot last night,
because I knew with his appetite so dodgy that close monitoring would be needed, and I was really tired -
As Betty Davis said "Getting old ain't for sissies" :lol:
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126 +2 89 +4 48 +4.5 71 +6 74 Reduced sh

Oh, I know what you mean about being so tired and losing sleep from the shot/testing schedule! I felt the same way, when Trix was sick and we couldn't shoot...as much as I hated skipping shots and was worried about her, it was "nice" to be able to get a little extra sleep since we didn't have to worry about her going hypo. I did have the same hope...all of a sudden, Trix was running solid greens without shots. I suppose it can happen that way for some, but unfortunately that's not how it panned out for Trix.

The one thing I can say is that Trix's FD has virtually cured my insomnia :lol: ! I used to often wake up in the middle of the night and not be able to get back to sleep. Now I'm always too tired for that, and it's rare that I wake up in the middle of the night anymore!

The +6s are hard...we don't get as many evening +6s or later as we probably should, but once you collect enough data, you do start getting a feel for when you REALLY need to stay up for those tests.

That Bette Davis quote is a favorite of a collge friend of mine's too. A few weeks ago, we were chatting about reading glasses...then we realized, "when did this happen to US??? :lol: !

Have a great afternoon!
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126 +2 89 +4 48+4.5 71+6 74 +10 126 PMPS

I have to confess: I have my reading glasses on one of those string thingys hanging around my neck :lol:
Literally can't read anything less than headlines without 'em.

Simon's appetite is back I'd say... He ate his supper (40g) then ambled over and finished the half Logan left.

The vet more or less left the Tapazole issue up to me... so I'll go with 1/4 (1.25mg) pill BID, starting tomorrow a.m.
I'm wondering if I should continue with the Pepcid too, as some googling shows it can have side effects too. (What doesn't?)

I gave Simon another .5u shot. He started the day at 126 and ended at 113, with a 48 @+4 which quite possibly would have dipped below 40
without the HC Friskies.

Have a great evening everyone.
 
Re: 6/13 Simon AMPS 126 +2 89 +4 48+4.5 71+6 74 +10 126 PMPS

I'm glad Simon found his appetite. I think your plan re. the Tapazole sounds good. If Simon is eating, I'd stop the Pepsid.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top