6/13 Rudy AMPS 277, +4.5 274, +8 295 PMPS 322, +3.5 282

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen1218

Member Since 2017
Very late posting today. Spent most of it cleaning and doing laundry. My petsitter is coming by this evening for a crash course on how to take care of Rudy while I'm in Philly Sunday/Monday.

Yesterday's post
 
I hope things go well with the petsitter learning about Rudy. Are you thinking of reducing the dose for your trip? You may want to post and ask about it on Thursday.
 
I'm almost certain I'll be reducing his dose for her or I'll have her feed MC at bfast and dinner with LC as inbetween meals or vice versa. I'll ask on Friday. I don't want any issues while I'm away. :cat:
 
I think my petsitter was overwhelmed by Rudy's care. :(

She didn't grasp the idea of the half unit marks, so it looks like she'll just be giving him 1 unit for 2 cycles. I did send her home with an old pen and both kinds of syringes so she can get used to drawing the insulin. Hopefully, she'll also figure out the half unit marks too so he can get closer to his anticipated regular dose. I'll leave a syringe filled with punch so she can see what/where she needs to draw too.

And I guess I'll be typing even more detailed instructions than I thought I needed...
 
Last edited:
I think my petsitter was overwhelmed by Rudy's care. :(

She didn't grasp the idea of the half unit marks, so it looks like she'll just be giving him 1 unit for 2 cycles. I did send her home with an old pen and both kinds of syringes so she can get used to drawing the insulin. Hopefully, she'll also figure out the half unit marks too so he can get closer to his anticipated regular dose. I'll leave a syringe filled with punch so she can see what/where she needs to draw too.

And I guess I'll be typing even more detailed instructions than I thought I needed...
Not sure why but some people struggle with reading scales of any sort. :confused:
 
I think my petsitter was overwhelmed by Rudy's care. :(

She didn't grasp the idea of the half unit marks, so it looks like she'll just be giving him 1 unit for 2 cycles. I did send her home with an old pen and both kinds of syringes so she can get used to drawing the insulin. Hopefully, she'll also figure out the half unit marks too so he can get closer to his anticipated regular dose. I'll leave a syringe filled with punch so she can see what/where she needs to draw too.

And I guess I'll be typing even more detailed instructions than I thought I needed...

For Raja's pet sitter I end up prefilling syringes with the desired dosage and keeping them in the fridge for her. It has worked much better than having someone else dose it out. I even prepare a reduction batch just in case.
 
For Raja's pet sitter I end up prefilling syringes with the desired dosage and keeping them in the fridge for her. It has worked much better than having someone else dose it out. I even prepare a reduction batch just in case.

You're not supposed to prefill syringes. Something to do with the coating inside the syringe interacting with the Lantus. Would be so much easier to prefill, but it's a no-no.
 
You're not supposed to prefill syringes. Something to do with the coating inside the syringe interacting with the Lantus. Would be so much easier to prefill, but it's a no-no.
is there more documentation on this ? I would assume 2-3 days in the fridge wouldnt be enough to cause any issues but I just assumed it was ok and at least in my case the three times I have done this Raja's numbers havent shown anything out of the ordinary
 
is there more documentation on this ? I would assume 2-3 days in the fridge wouldnt be enough to cause any issues but I just assumed it was ok and at least in my case the three times I have done this Raja's numbers havent shown anything out of the ordinary

I'm going by several posts I've seen on here by senior members advising folks not to prefill for even one cycle ahead. I'm hoping someone senior comes along to confirm this.
 
You're not supposed to prefill syringes. Something to do with the coating inside the syringe interacting with the Lantus. Would be so much easier to prefill, but it's a no-no.
Correct. Not a good idea to pre fill syringes for just the reason you quoted. Here's a better idea. Take a use syringe and fill to the mark with colored water or even tea or coffee for that matter and let her use that as a sample syringe . I have used tea and colored water in the pass.
 
is there more documentation on this ? I would assume 2-3 days in the fridge wouldnt be enough to cause any issues but I just assumed it was ok and at least in my case the three times I have done this Raja's numbers havent shown anything out of the ordinary
It's not recommended to do. Use a sample syringe with colored water or tea or coffee for the pet sitter to use as a sample.
 
@Arman Matin See page 3 of this PDF for information on why it's not a good idea to prefill syringes.
http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/diacare/26/9/2665.full.pdf
Thanks for this article. It quotes the BD warning that I found on the BD website a few weeks ago: "the syringes should be used within a few minutes of filling". There is no explanation. The statement isn't really supported by the test results in the article. I used to fill my morning syringe the night before. I still fill them maybe 20 minutes prior to shooting, but now I worry about it.
 
For Raja's pet sitter I end up prefilling syringes with the desired dosage and keeping them in the fridge for her. It has worked much better than having someone else dose it out. I even prepare a reduction batch just in case.
@Arman Matin Great to see Raja's chart shows him doing so well!
 
Cycle six tonight after the sneaky 46 a few nights ago. I think we are hoping he'll break out of the pink/yellow floor tonight.

He might. 6-8 cycles seems to be his max before he pulls a fast one on me. He's in a coma right now. I'll let him sleep til his +3.5 in 30 minutes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top