? 6/13 Raja's progress, reduction of 6.5 to 3 units in seven weeks

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arman Matin

Member Since 2017
Hi everyone

It has been a while since i last posted.
Raja is doing a lot better and his hind legs are slowly slowing progress. He seems more alert and loving than ever before and he is finally being able to eat from his regular spot in the kitchen versus in the bed due to his hind leg weakness. He is also doing more his his usual things like waking me up in the morning with licks, or sleeping all stretched out , or running out of the door to walk in the hallway.

I have been following protocol to the best of my knowledge and I am happy to report that he seems a lot more stable with his numbers. However just within less than two months I had to lower his dosage down from 6.5 units to 3 units today. Curious whether this seems normal looking at his chart.

And any advice if it feel relevant

thanks so much

much blessings

Arman
 

Attachments

  • raja_june2017.jpg
    raja_june2017.jpg
    112.4 KB · Views: 66
Last edited:
I'm so glad to hear Raja is doing so well! He even looks like maybe he's put back on a little of his lost weight! His spreadsheet looks fantastic - keep doing what you're doing. it's obviously showing some real positive results!

It's wonderful that you have been able to reduce his dose, that shows that his pancreas is probably healing a bit. (Did you know that cats are the only animals whose pancreas can do this?!) I'm also happy to hear that his is more active and that his legs are getting better. :):):)
 
I'm so glad to hear Raja is doing so well! He even looks like maybe he's put back on a little of his lost weight! His spreadsheet looks fantastic - keep doing what you're doing. it's obviously showing some real positive results!

It's wonderful that you have been able to reduce his dose, that shows that his pancreas is probably healing a bit. (Did you know that cats are the only animals whose pancreas can do this?!) I'm also happy to hear that his is more active and that his legs are getting better. :):):)

Yes thank you. He has gained a lot of his weight back. Nearly 20 lbs from 15 lbs.
I did not know that cats could heal their pancreas. thank you for sharing
 
Your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ee-elsewhere-weaker-legs.177886/#post-1962797
How is the peeing situation going? I hope that is better with his improved mobility.

Raja's spreadsheet looks great! :D A healing pancreas is one of several reasons kitties earn reductions, and probably the most common one. That is why we are such strong advocates of home testing, so people can detect and reduce when a dose becomes too much.

I have one little nag to give, or it wouldn't be me. ;) On 5/5 you shot insulin at a PMPS of 41. Please don't do that again. He could have turned around and gone down even lower. Even the most seasoned of members will not shoot below 50 on the human meter. There are strategies listed in the sticky note on shooting low, one method is to stall 15 or so minutes and see if he is rising before shooting.
 
Your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ee-elsewhere-weaker-legs.177886/#post-1962797
How is the peeing situation going? I hope that is better with his improved mobility.

Raja's spreadsheet looks great! :D A healing pancreas is one of several reasons kitties earn reductions, and probably the most common one. That is why we are such strong advocates of home testing, so people can detect and reduce when a dose becomes too much.

I have one little nag to give, or it wouldn't be me. ;) On 5/5 you shot insulin at a PMPS of 41. Please don't do that again. He could have turned around and gone down even lower. Even the most seasoned of members will not shoot below 50 on the human meter. There are strategies listed in the sticky note on shooting low, one method is to stall 15 or so minutes and see if he is rising before shooting.

Thank you Wendy for that insight. Actually in all cases where his number was below 50 before shooting, I have stalled 20 mins to an hr and gave shot when his number was higher. I havent figured out the best way to note that . For example on 5/5 I gave him his shot at 69 , 30 mins later but wasnt sure how to note that. Also you will note that today i stalled and moved the numbers back on the spreadsheet to show his true AMPS

His peeing situation was temporary. Anti biotics took care of that. Now he seems to drink and pee like a regular cat
 
Last edited:
Good to know you were stalling those low preshots. The way I would enter those is to put the lows in the +11 column, so do something like 49@+12, then in the PMPS column, put 69@+12.5. That tells us you stalled and how much.

Great news on the peeing! It's always good when your litter bill goes down.
 
When I have to stall, I stack mine in the PMPS column with a note attached to indicate times for each test result. Wendy's method is probably better, especially when you want to see results at a glance. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top