6/13 Peyton PMPS 132, +2 120 +5 75 +7 116

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204 .75u?

Good morning, Julie. The board was getting funky last night. I gave up and went to bed when I saw Ann was still up. Yes, you shoot the .75 for at least 6 cycles unless he doesn't hold the reduction or needs another one because he drops under 50. Are you going to go to your class?
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204 .75u?

Skipping class :smile: Come to find out there are other classes you can attend. I called this morning and told them our situation and that we couldn't make it. Thank goodness there are others or I might have been out a job :shock:
I went ahead with the .75u before I got a response since I was pretty sure it was right. I feel like I need to get verification before I do anything. I'm so scared I'm going to do something wrong.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204 .75u?

They would have had to fire me because I'm not leaving my boy :)
They said it was mandatory and no other classes offered. They know how much I love my babies so I think they felt sorry for me. I love to pull the sympathy card. Ha
I don't think I have told everyone how many cats I actually have...13...I have a little bit of a problem taking in neglected cats. Three of them have issues: Peyton is my oldest and has been in kidney failure for 2 years and now diabetes, Sunny has multiple acquired shunts and an AV Fistula, and Caroline is an FIV+ kitty with stomatitis that I took in a couple months ago. Ends up Caroline was pregnant so now I have kittens to. Ugh! Hopefully they will not carry the virus. Caroline lives in the back yard and my fence is enclosed so she cannot jump over. The other 10 are illness free...knock on wood!!! Last but not least I have a German Shepherd that LOVES cats.
Needless to say things can get a little crazy around here but I love it!
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204, +2.5 174

You made it up before I did! Thankfully i have a DH to step in for the shot. Peyton is looking great! Those greens he was in were really a beautiful surf, just what we were looking for and he isn't really bouncing from being there either. Let's have a nice slow slide back to the pretty greens today Peyton. You can see how well he handled it, and that we weren't lying when we said he would level off. ;-) Once you have more data to refer to you will gain confidence and know just how to steer lower numbers w/ food and or Karo. We'll have you shooting greens pretty soon. Just keep asking for help, that's what we are here for.

I'm glad you can take an alternate class. You probably wouldn't have been able to get much out of it today anyway. Jobs are necessary to keep kitty fuds in the bowls!

Wow 13 cats! I have my hands full w/ 3! How are you treating the stomatitis? Emma has it and nothing seems to help except prednisolone and that started to loose effect after a few treatments.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204, +2.5 174

Thank you so much Ann! I'm so proud of my boy :)

Stomatitis is hard to get under control. Even when she was a stray I would give her antibiotic that would start to clear it up but it always comes back. With her being a stray at the time she wasn't always around for me to give her the antibiotic. Now I will be able to care for her better.
Since she was pregnant I had to wait until she had the kittens to start another antibiotic. She was on Clindamycin for 10 days after the kittens were born. That's all we can do until she's done nursing. I give her L-Lysine twice a day but that's no cure. When the kittens are old enough Caroline wil have to have a dental and probably have to have some teeth removed :(
How severe is your kitties case? How long has she had stomatitis?
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204, +2.5 174

Emma adopted us a year and a half ago. She was about 2 and had had a URI as well. Anti-viral eye drops cleared up the eye inflammation, but she has a lesion on her jaw behind her teeth. Our vet said the stomatitis is auto immune so ABs wouldn't help except for a possible secondary infection. She doesn't have plaque buildup on her teeth, but may just be allergic to it. or some other allergy. We can't brush her teeth as her gums start to bleed, but we give her MAXI/GUARD® Oral Cleansing Gel. The first time we gave her prednisolone the lesion cleared up really quickly, but it came back and every time we've tried it again the pred was a little less effective. :sad: We give her lysine every day still. We've also tried immune system supplements w/ Reshi mushroom, omega-3 fish oil, 1-TDC™ Dual Action PERIODONTAL & JOINT HEALTH (another omega-3). Now we are trying Transfer Factor and a single unique protein diet. @-) If this starts to help I may try the pred again to knock things down and see if the TF and special diet can keep it under control.

Poor thing, she is such a little sweetheart about all we put her through. Unfortunately neither of the other cats want to play w/ her. Tess is warming up a little, but Izzy is just mean and attacks her.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204, +2.5 174

Wow! You are way ahead of me in the stomatitis game. Poor Caroline will drool and it breaks my heart. Even with her mouth hurting she has been a wonderful Momma to her kittens and is always happy and purring. The vet I took her to to have her tested for FIV recommended I put her down when she came up positive. We ran out of there as fast as we could and never went back. I hate how so many vets recommend that for FIV+ kitties when they can live long normal lives.
I have a friend that took in a kitten last year and she called me crying the other day because she found out it has FIV and the vet recommended to pts. Thank goodness she didn't! I told her she would have to keep the kitty indoors so it wouldn't infect other cats but other than that the kitty deserves a chance at life. Then I said GET A NEW VET!
I can't wait until I can do more to help Caroline. The kittens are almost ready to start weening. Woohoo!
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204, +2.5 174

Wow Julie! What an exciting night you had!! You'll be a pro at throwing PJ parties soon! ~O)

Good that you can go to an alternate class and that they understood your position...so many have that awful opinion 'it's just a cat" :evil:

What a difference for Peyton on the Lantus too! I'm so glad you were able to get your vet to let you use Lantus instead of continuing with the Humulin

As hard as it is to believe right now, you will get to the point where you'll shoot anything over 50! As long as you have the supplies you need, you're always pretty well in control (which is why we're so adament about home testing)

Even with China (who's been dancing the sugardance over a year now), last night I had to take my mom to the ER right at shot time, so I had to shoot a 69 and just leave her in the hands of God. First time I've shot that low when I couldn't test the next couple of hours nailbite_smile Of course, all that worry was for nothing...she did great! I did chicken out just a little though and lightened up her dose a bit :oops:

You're doing great..and so is Peyton! To only bounce to the low 200's after the lows last night is wonderful!
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204, +2.5 174, +6 68

Thank you Chris! Peyton is amazing! I can't see any of my other cats sitting still for any of this.

WOW! You shot 69! I would be a nervous wreck. Lol
Peyton just got a reading of 68 at +6 and my heart just sank. One day I will look back and laugh at how silly I was. I will recheck him in 30 mins to see if he's going up. I'm supposed to take my niece to a movie in an hour. Hope we can go!
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204, +2.5 174, +6 68

a 68 at +6 is no cause for worry. It is either his nadir or darn close to it. I'm going to ask Max to look at Peyton's ss as our +6 was 103!! I don't know how you do it with 13 cats. I had 2 but am sadly down to one. I would have gotten him a playmate but then he got pancreatitis which appeared to be stress induced so I couldn't mess with his sheltered life, LOL.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204, +2.5 174, +6 68

Max, let's not have a pj party tonight! These Momma's are tired :)
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204, +2.5 174, +6 68

It's a deal as far as I am concerned, Julie. I got to bed a couple hours before you but then couldn't fall asleep, LOL. This plays havoc with the body clock!!
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204, +2.5 174, +6 68

I'm amazed I haven't been tired today. I could barely get my feet on the floor when I first woke up but then some sort of second wind hit me. I'm going to check Peyton again before I leave for the movie.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204,+2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55 OH DEAR!

Well Peyton has officially decided...no movie for me :)
+6 68
+6.5 fed low carb food
+7.5 55

This child is going to give me a heart attack! Lol
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204,+2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55 OH DEAR!

Maybe a tsp or two more of LC food to see if we can stop this drop? Peyton is doing really well! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204,+2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55 OH DEAR!

And I'd test again 1/2 hour after that 55. TIme to surf it Peyton!
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204,+2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55 OH DEAR!

Food is down the hatch :)
It's been 25 mins since I tested him. How long should I wait to test after this food?
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204,+2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55 OH DEAR!

Oh my! I left for awhile and look at Peyton. Slow down. Boy was I wrong! I thought he had bottomed out.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204,+2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55,+8 64

Elise, i thought so too! Just checked after food and it has gone up a little. Had I not given him food we may have made it below 50 again. What do you do in this situation in terms of dosing? Should I have waited a little longer to see if it went below 50 before feeding? I know the only way he will get a reduction is if he hits below 50 again but it seems as though I stopped that with food. This is where things get confusing to me :)
It's been 15 mins since his last test. I'll wait another 15 and test again
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70

Looks like he's surfing or heading slightly up. I'm already nervous about tonight!
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton AMPS 204,+2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55,+8 64

That is a very good question that one of the experts will need to answer. Max keeps bouncing and fails every reduction so I am trying to get him to avoid one until he is used to green and stops bouncing. In fact we were just discussing fattening his dose to see if he will level out. That isn't something anyone else should do though. Peyton, on the other hand seems to be doing well with his reduction. I do know that you want him under 120 and over 50 for as much time as possible for his pancreas to heal. I'm guessing you want to avoid the need for a reduction so soon. Let's see what Marje, Wendy, or Julie have to say about this.

Sorry about the movie. What were you going to see?
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70

I'd stick with the .75 dose for now Julie

We really do want them to "earn" those reductions, but there is another way to do that other than dropping below 50....if Peyton were to stay in normal numbers for a week (50-120 with the majority of the time in green), he'd earn a reduction that way too

Keep in mind...all this time he's spending in lower numbers, his pancreas is healing! Hopefully it'll sputter back to life soon and then he'll earn those reductions regularly..down to OTJ!
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70

Oh my goodness!! That brings tears to my eyes! I would be so happy for my boy if that were to happen :)
We will definitely stick to 0.75 then
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70

He was supposed to go to the vet Thursday for a recheck but I canceled. I didn't want to stress him out and ruin everything we have done.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70

Look at all that healing green today! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I too would recommend sticking to the same dose unless he goes under 50. I wouldn't worry about the low carb food preventing him from going under 50. Generally if cats really want a reduction, they'll let you know in spite of an LC snack.

Do you know for sure that Peyton gets stressed at the vet? It probably would be just a temporary rise in numbers even if he does. My Neko doesn't seem to change her numbers at all from going to the vet. If there is a good reason Peyton should be going to the vet, I wouldn't cancel it.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70

They were just going to monitor his glucose to make sure he was doing okay but we have that covered...thanks to you all :)
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +2.5 174,+6 68,+7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70

when he gets into green numbers, i'd make a practice of routinely giving him a couple of teaspoons of low carb. that can help cats "surf" and stay in green numbers for long stretches - which is what you want.

way to handle everything great last night and today! you're going to be a pro before long!

i wouldn't decrease the dose until he goes below 50. this dose is great for now - ideally he's going to be solid green, or at least all under 120. Decreasing in advance would slow down your efforts to do that.

thanks so much to Ann & Elise for helping you last night. i'd already fallen asleep on the sofa and had reached that "i've gotta sleep no matter what" stage.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70 PMPS 132

About to shoot 0.75u. I feel a pj party coming on. Max, you ready?
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70 PMPS 132

maybe peyton's in the mood to surf tonight! fingers crossed for you!

i think i'd give a couple of teaspoons of lc at +1 and +2 to try to keep the numbers flatter.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70 PMPS 132

Our PMPS is about the same as yours so perhaps a pj party.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70 PMPS 132

He barely nibbled his food! Do I still shoot???

I put several differnt things in it and he doesn't want it
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70 PMPS 132 WON'T EAT!

has he eaten earlier today?

you probably want him to have at least 1/2 of his regular dinner. you could wait until he's eaten that much and then shoot . . .
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70 PMPS 132 WON'T EAT!

He has barely eaten since 5:00. I don't know what else to put in it to get him to eat it
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70 PMPS 132 WON'T EAT!

Do you have any baby food to try? Finger feed? I haven't encountered that yet.Change your top post and ask.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton +7.5 55,+8 64,+8.5 70 PMPS 132 WON'T EAT!

He probably ended up eating half. What kind of baby food?
I didn't try the fancy feast because it is 8% carbs and Wellness is 4% carbs. I probably should have stuck with Friskies in the very beginning for variety. With him being in kidney failure he's very finicky
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton NEED HELP WITH FOOD..WON'T EAT!

He probably had half so we shot. I just want to cry! I know it will be fine but in the moment it is so hard
I need more food options than just the Wellness. Most of the foods on the list are not sold here that are around 4% carb
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton Shot time...WON'T EAT! Help with food

I ran to the store in a panic. There is a new can food Purina Beyond Grain Free that I thought may be low in carbs. How do you calculate the carbs is it's not on Dr. Piersons list?
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton Shot time...WON'T EAT! Help with food

You need the As Fed or Dry Matter Basis nutritional analysis. Very few have that on the can, it's usually just the Guaranteed Analysis which is a range of values and not accurate. Some have it on the web site, but mostly you have to contact the manufacturer and get the As-Fed values - if they've had them analyzed. It's OK to feed a few points higher than the Wellness if you need to get him to eat.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton Shot time...WON'T EAT! Help with food

it's not easy to do, julie, and you can't do it at the store. you have to contact the manufacturer and ask for "as fed" values. some will provide the info, some won't.

any baby food that is only meat and broth is ok. there are quite a few low phos, low carb foods on the catinfo.org lists. i printed it out and circled everything that was under 200 mg phos and also less than 6% carbs, then went to about 4 stores around me. i wrote on the list which stores had which foods, and i bought one of each kind to try out with punkin.

that's not much help for you right now in the store, however. i think i'd give him what he wants, including the fancy feast even though it's high in phos, then tomorrow when you're not in a rush go through the process to figure out what foods are on the list and ok for him. one night of higher phos won't make much difference in the overall picture.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton Shot time...WON'T EAT! Help with food

I'm wondering of he's constipated. I usually keep up with that really well but haven't over the last couple days. Don't think he has had a BM today. 9 Lives has low carbs and ok phosphorus so I bought several cans of those. I also bought 2 different kinds of baby food: Gerber 2nds chicken (2g carb for entire jar) but it says it has cornstarch. Is that's still ok? I also bought Beach Nut Brand baby food (ingredients: finely ground chicken, chicken broth) zero carbs. Ever heard of that one?
I freaked when he wouldn't eat because I was tryin to back his Tim up by 10 mins tonight and then 10 mins in the morning. I have to leave for work at 8:30 but that may not be happening.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton Shot time...WON'T EAT! Help with food

I give Max Gerber's all meat, stage 2 chicken, ham, turkey, or beef. I use it to chase his gelcap. When he doesn't feel well he often will eat the baby food.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton Shot time...WON'T EAT! Help with food

The Beechnut babyfood is fine. Several people here use the chicken or turkey versions.
 
Re: 6/13 Peyton Shot time...WON'T EAT! Help with food

Thank you Wendy and Elise!
Elise, the Gerber 2nds says "chicken and chicken gravy". Yours says "all meat" on the label?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top