6/13 - Oliver - PMPS=155, Question about Prednisolone

Status
Not open for further replies.

FluffBunny

Member Since 2014
6/12 Oliver

I had quite a scare this morning. I got up several times during the night to check Oliver's BG. It was consistently above 100 and rising (as I expected from the pred. dose.) Then I woke up this morning to the sound of Oliver throwing up. When I tested him, his BG registered LO! However, I tested again immediately and it was 189. It did scare me, though.

I gave him .5U this morning. I must be getting better about this, beause a few days ago, I would have skipped his shot at 136. :-D
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114 Dropping too fast?

Okay. I'll confess. I gave Oliver some high carb food about 1/2 hour ago to try to stop the plunge. He has never been this low so early in his cycle - except when I have skipped his shot. This is going to be a nervous day. He is not amused by all the ear sticks.
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114 Dropping too fast?

I don't think that's too big of a drop. Definitely not something you need to intervene with HC for..yet. These are normal numbers. That's what you want!

What kind of meter are you using? That's a big difference in back to back tests. I might suggest getting a new meter to compare.
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114 Dropping too fast?

LOL. I have bought 4 meters since Oliver was diagnosed. I have a True Result, a Relion Prime, a Relion Micro, and an Alpha Trak 2. My posted results are from the Relion Micro.
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114 Dropping too fast?

Yikes! That's a lot of meters. Your numbers from the AT will be higher in comparison to the others. The Prime takes a larger blood sample. I know nothing about the True. And the micro is supposed to be a small version of the Confirm, which is what I use. I might switch to the Prime and see what readings you get. The strips for the Prine are cheaper as well.
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114 Dropping too fast?

The True is a piece of junk. The Prime is good but requires a larger drop of blood. For the last few days, when I get a questionable reading, I test with the Alppha Trak. The readings are higher, but I have used it often enough now to know what are comparable readings. I might test with both the Micro and the Prime next time.

I think my problem with low numbers, and plunges, is that I am not yet confident that I can stop the plunge if it gets too low. I have high carb food and Karo syrup, but I think I am afraid it will not work fast enough.
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114 Dropping too fast?

I understand! The karo should work well, if he gets too low. 114 is a good number...and might not even really be a big drop. That 114 could be as high as 136 or as low as 92, given meter variance.

So the 182 on the retest was with the AT?
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114 Dropping too fast?

No. If you are referring to the 189 I got early this morning on a retest, I just re-tested using the Micro again. I think the LO reading I got was because I didn't have enough blood on the strip.

Oliver actually did pretty well over night. I give him his prednisolone the the early evening and his BG spikes over night. Last night, I gave him his injection even though his PMPS was only 113. That is the first time I have shot low. It looks like his BG still spiked over night, but the spike wasn't as high as usual. He stayed in blue numbers all night. This morning is the first time I have "shot low" during the day - when I am not expecting a spike due to the pred. I don't know what to expect today.
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114, +2=90 Dropping too fas

A few nights ago, my mind is mush so I can't say exactly when, I tested with my Micro and got a LO reading. It started a chain of events I think for nothing!! In retrospect, I didn't have enough blood on the strip. I now know if it happens again to test immediately with another strip. I gave HC and had a mini reduction for nothing. Otherwise this meter has been right on!! Just my two cents worth.
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114, +2=90 ,+3=95, +6+123

It looks like I messed up a pretty curve for Oliver today by giving him HC food this morning. I am such a fraidy cat.
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114, +2=90 ,+3=95, +6+123

Why do you say that? He looks good to me.
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114, +2=90 ,+3=95, +6+123

I would have liked him to be below 100 for a longer time.
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - AMPS=136, +1=114, +2=90 ,+3=95, +6+123

You'll get used to it. ;-) And the HC will wear off, it is only a cycle and it didn't take him up that much. Oliver is still in the normal range, don't beat yourself up over it.

Not enough blood on the strip can give a Lo or error reading, just test again, Even if the blood drop was a good size the strip may not have drawn enough up. Don't panic, just retest. I agree on the True meters! :evil:
 
Re: 6/13 - Oliver - +6=123 Question about Prednisolone

Anyone else here have a kitty on prednisolone?

It is clear from my tracking that the pred. causes Oliver's BG to spike several hours after I give it to him. I am trying to figure out when to give it to try to mitigate the spike with his insulin shot. Yesterday and today, I gave it to him at 4 PM with his insulin at 8 PM. I give the insulin in the scruff which seems to slow down absorption a bit. Has anyone else figured out the best timing for pred?

Oliver is now on 1.25 mg. once a day. Once I get his insulin regulated a little better, I'd like to try the pred. every other day. I have grdually reduced his dose over the last two months and he seems to be doing fine on the lower doses.
 
Both Melissa/Tarragon and Mariko/Lucy take pred. Tarragon gets it for his asthma and Lucy for her IBD. You could look at their SS to see how it impacts them. Mariko did some experimenting with pred times and ended up giving it in the morning. It does raise Lucy's numbers, but that makes it safer for Mariko to go to work during the day.
 
Thanks. I'll check out their spreadsheets. It's funny. I am giving Oliver his pred at night so I can sleep. I am at home during the day and can monitor him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top