6/13 Momo, AMPS 77 (no insulin given), +1 108

MomoAndRobin

Member Since 2023
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-11-momo-amps-113-1-116-2-123-6-107-11-109.278464/

Hi everyone,

Momo's sugar has been in a much better range lately, but we're struggling with when/how much to dose with low pre-shot numbers. We administered .25u last night and she was at 77 for her AMPS, earning a reduction down to .1u. Still, with a PS value that low and the fact that my partner and I both have packed schedules this morning, we opted to skip the dose. I should be able to get at least a +4 or +6 in addition to the +1.

My questions are:
  1. Should we be comfortable shooting lower numbers with such a small dose (assuming we can monitor and test regularly afterwards)?
  2. If Momo drops below 90 on .1u, does that mean we stop administering insulin and continue monitoring her BG for two weeks?
We are grateful she's staying in a more normal range but it's certainly scary to give insulin at relatively low numbers!
 
Last edited:
Sorry no one got to you before now. But it looks like you did the right thing skipping this morning (too low to shoot under SLGS) and took the reduction.

As to your questions:
1. If you can monitor and test, you should be able to shoot a preshot of 90 and above. SLGS suggests not shooting any lower, though people who follow TR do shoot lower numbers, even on larger doses. Low preshots typically give you low and flat cycles.
2. If she drops below 90 again, post here for guidance. There is a yet smaller dose we call a drop. To get that, push hard on the syringe plunger, put into the pen/vial/cartridge, release the plunger pressure and it'll vacuum up a drop. Not all cats go to a drop before trying and OTJ trial, some do need it.
 
Back
Top