6/13 Lucy PMPS=121;+2=121

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning!

Yesterday's

Good morning!!
First, I'd like to thank you so much for your support and well wishes yesterday.
I am very happy to tell you that Lucy is feeling much better!!!

Although I was disappointed I had to skip the PM shot last night, Lucy and I had a wonderful cuddly night without worrying about the next test time or poking (me) or being poked (Lucy), just like the old time before FD.
We lay down together on the sofa, and I stroked Lucy and she purred for a long time.

This morning, she woke me up asking for food!
Since I decided to split-feed her at PS, +1 and +2 starting today as suggested yesterday, she got only 1/3 of her normal amount so far, and she seems a bit confused.
She gets nervous when something changes, but hopefully she will like this system eventually....
Her AMPS is high but it was expected since no shot last night.....

I hope you all have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 6/13 Lucy AMPS=223

Liz, Marje, Amy,
Thank you very much for checking on Lucy.
She just ate the 2nd third of her food well!
 
Re: 6/13 Lucy AMPS=223

Good job, Mariko and Lucy!!!! Glad you got snuggles and glad to hear she's eating (even if she is a little confused by not getting it all at once! :-D ) Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 6/13 Lucy AMPS=223;+2=189

Thank you, Deborah, for checking on us!

Yay, she is back in BLUE!
Her +2 is 189, and she ate the last portion of her breakfast well!

I think it's safe for me to go to work now, but I'll stay another hour to check +3....just to satisfy me....
And a carpenter is coming in an hour to work on the kitchen cabinet renovation of my apartment (I don't want it but the landlord wants to do it, probably another excuse to increase rent), and I want the cats to see that I am inviting him in, not just a stranger breaking in when I'm not around...
 
Re: 6/13 Lucy AMPS=223;+2=189

I don't blame you for wanting to be home when the carpenter there. Never mind my "stuff", I don't trust strangers around my cats!

Lookin' good in blue, Lucy!
 
Re: 6/13 Lucy AMPS=223;+2=189;+3=142

Hi, Mariko :-D
You had quite a night last night! (I was up late and eavesdropping.) Scary ~ but you were in great hands.
I want to share an idea on the Pepcid, but didn't want to 'interrupt' last night...

I give Ripley a "Pepcid Treat" twice a day; she doesn't like the taste of pill pockets, and doesn't like to be 'pilled.'
So I crush her portion of Pepcid into a powder (I have a handy pill crusher for that), then use a tiny bit of pill pocket (duck/pea flavor) to fold and mush the powder into. Then I roll that into a favorite treat of hers (either tuna flakes or crushed-up freeze-dried treats). She eats it happily ~ doesn't even know she's eating Pepcid and a pill pocket! :-D

I am soooo glad Lucy is feeling better today!
You're such a good mama!
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/13 Lucy PMPS=121

Hi!
Lucy's PMPS is 121.
I think she is getting back on track nicely from yesterday's skipped PMPS!
But I'm thinking she may keep me up tonight.....

I planned to give her the PM shot at 7:10pm, but I was late by 20 min due to Lucy's acupuncture appointment.
I'll do tomorrow morning's shot at 7:30am too....which means.... I'll be late for work AGAIN in order to feed her +2 portion.
I was so rushing to shoot her, not wanting to delay any more, I drop the Lantus cartridge from the kitchen counter :shock:
I really hope I didn't damage it.......
Lantus is sensitive to impact, doesn't it?

I talked to the vet about Lucy's stomach acid problem, and possible med.
She said try Pepcid first, and said she uses it all the time for her patients.
So, I'll try that first. Josie's trick may work IF I can find her favorite treat....
Thank you all for your thoughts and well wishes!

Lucy continues to feel good.
She's looking for the rest of her food right now, not used to split feeding yet.
 
Re: 6/13 Lucy PMPS=121

Nicely done tonight, Lucy. Try not to keep your mama up too late. She needs her sleep to make up for last night. How did the kitties do with the presence of the carpenter? Hope you get some rest tonight.
 
Re: 6/13 Lucy PMPS=121

I dropped my lantus vial more than 3 times back when we were on it.... one time it was twice in a row from a standing position. And mine
did fine.
I think it can handle a little mishap. You'll know if numbers start climbing all the time...


Shadow doesn't have any diagnosed stomach problems but I give her Pepcid ac when she won't eat and oddly enough, she eats 30 minutes later.
I think it makes a big difference for them.
 
Re: 6/13 Lucy PMPS=121

Deborah,
The cats did OK with the carpenter. They didn't act any differently when I came home from work.
I think it helped that I let him in and had some chat with him before I left for work.
It also helps that Eric the carpenter is a really nice guy, not one of those loud type, fortunately.
I talked to him about Lucy falling off the bathtub edge (she likes to sit there and watch me take a bath, but recently her legs are getting a bit weaker), and he said he can build something to make it wider and even attach a step to it!
I think he may have a cat himself. He is careful about closing the door and keeping the chemical away from them.
He even didn't paint the lower cabinet. I was wondering why he only did the half job when I first saw it, but I bet he was concerned about the cats getting paint. What a nice guy, even I didn't think about that.

Rhiannon,
Thank you for the info about dropping Lantus.
I think mine will be OK if yours was OK after being dropped 3 times :lol:
And thank you very much for your comment about Pepcid.
My concern was that she doesn't vomit tummy acid all the time, but how would I know when she needs it, and what if I give it to her when she doesn't.
After reading your comment, I'm more excited about trying it on Lucy!

Lucy is still looking for the rest of her food.
She can tell the portion is way small....
I hope she can count too.... THREE dinners Lucy, you are getting a good deal.
 
Re: 6/13 Lucy PMPS=121

If you want to shoot at 7:10 in the morning, you are fine, Mariko, you won't see much, if any impact in numbers, if you are shooting within 30 minutes.

Glad her numbers are better and she's eating :-D
 
Thank you, Marje.

I think split-feeding is working!!
She is surfing!!!
Exactly the same number at +2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top