Re: 6/13 Loki amps 290
mimi4neeyah and Loki said:
Wow thanks so much for taking the time and doing this, makes me feel much better. I am not kidding myself that Loki will ever be OTJ but regulated is awesome, because at 16 I feel he deserves to be confortable (which he is). I will print this out and study it closely. I am not scared to shoot low just not confident with how much depending on his BG's of course.
Thanks so very much again.
HUGS
You're very welcome Michelle--I'm so glad to read it helps you to feel better. it helps me as well when I pour over someone's SS; FD is a continuous learning experience for everyone. Even though Gobbles is OTJ, I'm not going anywhere
OTJ is possible for Loki;; I note that you joined on February 27, 2012; the same day that Loki was at the vet's and diagnosed. So it has been about 16 months since Loki's diagnosis. OTJ is possible for a cat at any age, and at just 16 months of insulin, Loki certainly has a chance at being OTJ. I honestly think that by you starting Loki on Lantus and in addition to that--by you following the Tight Regulation Protocol--is the best decision you've made since your FD journey has started and gives Loki the best chance of going OTJ.
Just keep on keepin' on! Look at all the progress both of you have made! I don't think you give yourself enough credit for all you've accomplished, and you should flip_cat
And just think of how more comfortable you've made him feel~you are really a loving mommy to him and I'm sure he knows how much you care for him. I honestly believe that FD strengthens the bond we have with our kitties.
Back to shooting low: when not sure how much to shoot, depending on your circumstances, just ask for help if you're unsure and someone will help you. There are times when there are no Advisors on board (we have just a handful of them) and I know it is sometimes hard to wait (I have a HUGE problem with patience :lol: ) but someone will be there soon. It especially helps to add something like "dosing advice" or "help shooting low" to your subject line (in your first, original post of your daily condo) and to click the "?" icon. It took me a while to learn that and I'm not sure if you do that or not (sorry for not knowing--I haven't looked too far back on your posts in Tight Regulation), but it brings attention to your post when it shows up on the board. At times, I've seen someone asking for dosing advice and try to locate an Advisor. I hope I'm making sense? or being confusing? I have a habit of that, as well as being impatient!
Keep up the good work, Michelle. I'm real proud of you :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: