6/13 James PMPS 165; +1 233; +2 258

Status
Not open for further replies.

kateliz

Member Since 2012
AMPS: 296
+3: 199

I upped James’ insulin to 1.25U this morning now that I can measure that dose on my new syringes. His +3 number seems to show that it’s working!
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199

The +3 is a very good sign....you know the insulin is working, but not yanking his numbers down too fast. Awesome!!

Hope you're having a good day!!
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +6 139

Sorry, Sienne, didn't see your post til just now!

Got a 139 for +6 so looks like he won't fall too much further today! I'll test him more frequently tomorrow to see exactly how he's reacting to this new dose.
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +6 139; +8 112; +12 146

Maybe this dose increase worked too well!
+8: 112
+10: 144
+12: 146

Numbers haven't budged much since +6 so I guess I'll stall for a while...
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +6 139; +8 112; +12 146

If you're going to stall, remember not to feed, and whenever you do shoot, your next shot will be 12 hours from that time.
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +6 139; +8 112; +12 146

Thanks Dyana. I'll be waiting for the cable guy in the morning so adjusting the shot time shouldn't be a problem. The hardest will be relying on James' patience while he waits for his dinner!
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +6 139; +8 112; +12 146

I'd test in another 15 minutes, if that will be +12.5. If he's starting to rise, you should be able to shoot.
Post the number first, and see what others say, okay?
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +6 139; +8 112; +12 146

Yes, my +12.5 will be in 15 minutes and I will do that!
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

+12.5: 134

Looks like James is stalling too! No increase here...
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +6 139; +8 112; +12 146

Kate --

See what your +12.5 is. If it's still around the 146, then James is surfing. I would consider shooting. Remember, when you shoot, you're feeding which will raise numbers. In addition, it takes 1 - 2 hours for Lantus onset to begin. There's no guarantee that numbers won't go down, so you want to be sure to have strips and HC in the house just in case. On the other hand, I wouldn't be nervous about shooting a number that's around 150.
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

I'm trying to get a few more eyes on the shooting question.
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

Kate:

This is your call. The 134 is within meter variance. If you want to re-test in 30 min., that's fine if it will work for your schedule to be an hour off your usual shot time.

Here's Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shots. It's very helpful reading.
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

I can deal with shifting his time tomorrow, so I'll stall another 10 minutes and get a +13.

Then I'll definitely have to do something because James is staring longingly at where his food bowl should be.

Would it be possible to give a reduced dose if his numbers haven't moved much?
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

+13 165

Not much progress, but still the right direction!
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

The late shot already acts like a dose reduction, so we don't generally recommend that you do both. Let's see what his +13 is.
Others will be along to help you. I am going to have to be hitting the hay here. Read the link Sienne provided and see what you think, and feel comfortable with.
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

We cross posted.

That 165 is a good increase. I would shoot, but it's up to you.
You'll need to test a couple times before going to bed. Do you have HC and strips, just in case?
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

Don't forget the food he eats is going to help him rise, too.

I hope you two have a good and uneventful night ;-)
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

I did shoot the 1.25U! You're right about the food bringing him up and he's so hungry I know he'll eat plenty. I'll keep a close eye on him and try to get some numbers tonight to see how this goes over.

Thanks for all your help, Dyana! Goodnight!
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

Very nice day for James, and an exciting start to the evening!!

Surf safely, James!!!
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

Nice shooting!! Please get a +1 and a +2.

I'm going to refer you back to Libby's post re. stalling and shooting a reduced dose. First, remember that when you delay a shot, it acts like a dose reduction because you are losing some of the benefit of the overlap between doses. If you then shoot a reduced amount of insulin, it's a double whammy on the insulin depot. You may (or may not) see the effect during the current cycle but within a cycle or two, you're going to see the effects.
 
Re: 6/13 James AMPS 296; +3 199; +8 112; +12 146; +12.5 134

PM +1: 233

I feel bad to see a number like that after such a pretty blue day, but relieved too!

Sienne, the shed concept has definitely been the hardest for me to grasp. I forget that I need to think long term over multiple cycles , and not just about the next 12 hours!
 
Re: 6/13 James PMPS 165; +1 233

You scared the crap out of me!!!! The rainbow icon is reserved for a cat that has passed away!!!! Woo boy!!! I'm relieved to see that's not the case. Go ahead and take that icon down and maybe put up the little yellow guy with the blush!!!!
 
Re: 6/13 James PMPS 165; +1 233

Sorry for the scare, Patty!

I didn't mean to post the rainbow and didn't notice until after I had hit submit. I'm posting from my phone til the internet gets reconnected and I have clumsy thumbs! :oops: :oops: :oops:
 
Re: 6/13 James PMPS 165; +1 233

No worries!!! Just glad it was a false alarm. I was like, "I'm just getting to know James and NOW THIS?!!!" So glad it was just a slip-up.
 
Re: 6/13 James PMPS 165; +1 233

Just checking in....I told Dyana I would. Looks like you won't be needing me for low numbers tonight ;-) I'll be around, though. I still think it's a good idea to go ahead and get a +2.

Nice shooting, Kate!!!
 
Re: 6/13 James PMPS 165; +1 233

Well, that could be a food spike or James is starting a bounce. Given that James hasn't spent that much time in blue numbers, a bounce wouldn't be unexpected.
 
PM +2: 258

Thanks for your support everyone! I would not have been brave enough to shoot tonight without you all!

I'll either get a +3 or a +4 to see if it is a food spike or if he's bouncing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top