? 6/13, Ivy very low PM cycle &AM Amps 148 Contour, 75 +4, 177 +6 (Libre)

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ps-98-contour-131-1-5-186-2-173-4-233.278487/
Ivy had been very low this past entire PM overnight cycle.
I’ve never seen her entire cycle so low!

IS IT SAFE TO SHOOT IN 1 hour??
upload_2023-6-13_5-12-27.png


She dropped over 100 points before last night pmps. Down to 41 on Libre. Tested on contour meter and it was 98.
I gave a slight reduced dose of 3.25 as I think her dose of 3.5 is too high due to her 6% carb recipe being too low.
I also added some *med carb to her meal last night to try to raise her up so she didn’t have another deep dive this am.
she didn’t dive since she was already so low. Never seen this very low cycle before!
I gave no snacks this past cycle.

**is it safe to shoot if she’s above 50 on contour meter having been so low all night long???

I don’t know who is up now! It’s 5 am east coast is now.
@Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Angela & Cleo @Christie & Maverick
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-13_5-12-27.png
    upload_2023-6-13_5-12-27.png
    78.8 KB · Views: 165
  • upload_2023-6-13_5-17-17.png
    upload_2023-6-13_5-17-17.png
    78.8 KB · Views: 93
Last edited:
When did she last eat and what? She is 55 on the Libre at +11? Were you able to get a test with the meter?
Last ate 11 hours ago.
I haven’t hand tested her yet on the contour because every time I do, it’s high enough to shoot when the libre says 55 range.
I will test her before I shoot on the contour to be sure however, it never shows under 50 on contour. it’s just a overnight cycle was so low and never went any higher, which is completely out for her.
I’m just worried about anything like insulin shock or something.
 
Right she did not get any snacks. Is it safe to give her a shot this morning since she has had no food overnight?
I have been giving her between three and six snacks per cycle And it seems like too much. literally all I was doing was feeding her.
I couldn’t leave the house. It seems like maybe just higher carbs would help, but maybe I made things worse by not giving any snacks overnight.
Not sure what to do right now.
 
Can you monitor if you shoot? If yes, I would feed her some LC now to stop her from dropping too low to shoot. With TR, you can shoot any number over 50 - especially if you can monitor. But you do have to feed snacks as needed in active cycles.
 
Can you monitor if you shoot? If yes, I would feed her some LC now to stop her from dropping too low to shoot. With TR, you can shoot any number over 50 - especially if you can monitor. But you do have to feed snacks as needed in active cycles.
Yes I can’t leave the house because she keeps doing these dives, bounce, breaking, etc.. I don’t know what to do. I’m at my wits end. i’m literally up all night 24 seven.
 
Yes I can’t leave the house because she keeps doing these dives, bounce, breaking, etc.. I don’t know what to do. I’m at my wits end. i’m literally up all night 24 seven.
Are you saying I should feed her something right now before it’s time to feed her in 45 minutes?
 
And her low-carb food is definitely not sustaining her with the insulin so that’s why I tried to add some medium card to bump up the carbs in her food last night.
 
And her low-carb food is definitely not sustaining her with the insulin so that’s why I tried to add some medium card to bump up the carbs in her food last night.
I’m thinking I may need to go to SLGS with TR it’s just too much for me to handle.
 
I think the bigger issue is the Libre which is the Libre which is giving your heart attacks with erroneous readings!


Yes, please feed her some LC.
And then what do I do when it’s time to shoot in a half hour I’m usually feeding her and 15 minutes
 
She’s 148 on contour meter.
I fed her now can I give a full dose? I understand this number is safe to shoot. My concern is how low she was overnight.
 
Last edited:
148 is very safe to shoot. I would verify Libre lows with a meter when you can. You've seen that the Libre can read 45 and a regular meter reads 100 points higher.
 
148 is very safe to shoot. I would verify Libre lows with a meter when you can. You've seen that the Libre can read 45 and a regular meter reads 100 points higher.
I gave her 3.25 units.
I do verify bgs regularly if I see a very low Libre #, (so the libre is not the problem for me), because I am happy to verify with a contour meter, even though it is very difficult as she is very fractious.

My concern was how low the entire cycle was overnight. I have never seen it that flat and low. Why would that have happened?

I didn’t give her snacks during the p.m. cycle since they don’t seem to do anything to stop her downward spiral. Once she dives fast, usually more than 100 points within one hour, she just dives anyway when breaking a bounce, which, as you know, is constant.

In reviewing her data of the past several months, it seems like Ivy was doing better, and that she was not having these bounce braking cycles constantly, twice a day, every day.
I was not literally chained to the house to give her a snack, every hour to two hours, 24 hours a day. When we switched to TR over a month ago that’s when things started to become out of control in my household. I understand her numbers are getting better, but these deep dives that she’s doing in the past few weeks aren’t sustainable for her or me.

I think I need to do SLGS and maybe things take a little longer but maybe we won’t have this extreme 24 seven cycle going on.

I literally have no life and I’m completely exhausted. It’s interfering with my work and everything else. I think it’s more intense on her and she’s miserable.

So my question is, how do I transition to SLGS? How do I stop having to intervene every hour to two hours with her? I don’t want to be poking her constantly feeding her constantly and stressing because she’s deep diving practically every cycle.

I’m so sorry to be such a pain in the butt and I really appreciate your time and effort and patience with me.
 
I think you need to switch to SLGS too. Lantus is at its best when you see a flat green cycle. That’s a good thing. However at this point it’s not working for you. She needs snacks to do TR. You need to get used to seeing bg between 50-100. You need to get enough sleep or you won’t be doing her any favors. I strongly suggest you switch to SLGS for now. You will have to get used to seeing higher bg though. You can switch back to TR at any point. I don’t recall if it’s been suggested that you get an auto feeder so she gets snacks while you are asleep or away from home but it would help you. Just my two cents fwiw.
 
I think you need to switch to SLGS too. Lantus is at its best when you see a flat green cycle. That’s a good thing. However at this point it’s not working for you. She needs snacks to do TR. You need to get used to seeing bg between 50-100. You need to get enough sleep or you won’t be doing her any favors. I strongly suggest you switch to SLGS for now. You will have to get used to seeing higher bg though. You can switch back to TR at any point. I don’t recall if it’s been suggested that you get an auto feeder so she gets snacks while you are asleep or away from home but it would help you. Just my two cents fwiw.
Hi Elise, I agree with you and your opinion is valued.

Btw, I really hope your kitty is doing better since the emergency the other day. Sending you huge hugs and prayers :bighug:

ever since we switched to TR I think it completely threw everything out of whack for her. Yes, the numbers were coming down however.
But, I think the insulin levels going up and her low carb 6% (homemade diet food) is not enough to combat the strength of the increase in the insulin.

It’s possible that once I get a reformulated higher carb LC food, maybe TR will work better for her.
But that’s going to take a little time until I can get it reformulated get the recipe in my hands and cook it. It’s probably at least 10 days or more out. My nutritionist is out of town this week so there’s that delay.

What do I need to do to switch over to SLGS at this point?
Would @Bandit's Mom need to switch my SS over to SLGS format?

I just reduced her dose to 3.25 Lantus last night. I’m hoping a little less juice will reduce some of the huge swings.
If I still see these steep drops and bounces, would I need to reduce it more until higher carb food is introduced.
(she’s been on this 6% lc recipe since the beginning of her diabetes journey, and I never had these crazy bounces going on all the time when she was a Lower doses of insulin)

I also added about 1.5 teaspoon medium carb 12/13% food into her low-carb food, just to try to raise it a little bit.

She never even bumped up last night from her food at all. No spike.
I know she still had a good amount of juice in her Depot from the higher dose of 3.5 but I was shocked at how low she rode all night long, and then started dropping again this morning in the hour, leading up to her AMPS.
Many thanks! :)
 
What do I need to do to switch over to SLGS at this point?
Would @Bandit's Mom need to switch my SS over to SLGS format?
Hi Staci all you need to do is put in your signature SLGS as of and the date
Then on your spreadsheet up top where it asks you what method just do the same

Do you know how to put a blank line on your SS above the date you will switch to SLGS ,just type in the blank line Switched to SLGS and highlight it
@Staci & Ivy
 
My concern was how low the entire cycle was overnight. I have never seen it that flat and low. Why would that have happened?
Last night was a lovely Lantus cycle. When you shoot low, the cycle stays low and flat. No diving at all. That's why I loved shooting lower numbers, no diving. You ask what could have happened. Well, often kitties will hit what we call a break through dose, then flatten right out into good healing numbers. And/or you broke through some glucose toxicity. In other words, it could be she's started to get regulated.

Now you have to decide whether you want to follow that road towards regulation, or whether those Libre numbers that artificially show low numbers are too much for you, and you want to avoid them. I get it, seeing those lower numbers than you are used to are scary at first. We have all felt that. Over time, those greens will become addictive. If you are going to follow SLGS, make sure you double check numbers under 90 with the Contour. You only want to reduce if she goes under 90 on a human meter.

Given the wide difference between the Contour and the Libre in lower numbers, I don't think she's really been spending a lot of time in scary numbers. What will also be interesting is what you see when you get the next Libre installed. I remember one member who could tell when the Libre was getting to end of life because it would start getting out of place lower numbers. Now that was the old Libre 2, so not saying it's what you will see on the Libre 3. I'm just curious to see what does happen with a new device.
 
Last night was a lovely Lantus cycle. When you shoot low, the cycle stays low and flat. No diving at all. That's why I loved shooting lower numbers, no diving. You ask what could have happened. Well, often kitties will hit what we call a break through dose, then flatten right out into good healing numbers. And/or you broke through some glucose toxicity. In other words, it could be she's started to get regulated.

Now you have to decide whether you want to follow that road towards regulation, or whether those Libre numbers that artificially show low numbers are too much for you, and you want to avoid them. I get it, seeing those lower numbers than you are used to are scary at first. We have all felt that. Over time, those greens will become addictive. If you are going to follow SLGS, make sure you double check numbers under 90 with the Contour. You only want to reduce if she goes under 90 on a human meter.

Given the wide difference between the Contour and the Libre in lower numbers, I don't think she's really been spending a lot of time in scary numbers. What will also be interesting is what you see when you get the next Libre installed. I remember one member who could tell when the Libre was getting to end of life because it would start getting out of place lower numbers. Now that was the old Libre 2, so not saying it's what you will see on the Libre 3. I'm just curious to see what does happen with a new device.
Thanks for that explanation, Wendy. I wasn't sure why she stayed low all night last night. I've never seen a cycle like that. I got concerned because she never rose at all.
However, I do think she needs a higher carb diet to combat the lantus doses. I will have her food reformatted slightly higher and see if that helps "absorb" some of the higher dosing. (Since when I feed her LC food she doesn't even/barely gets a bump in numbers)

I've been awake 24/7 for about 10 days with her deep dives, poking her constantly, feeding 12 meals/snacks a day/night. I can't exist like this nor can she.
I literally haven't left my house.
I feel like we need to do SLGS till I see what the higher LC food might do to help her out. Sadly, I just feel TR isn't working for us right now with my current food.
I really rely on the Libre for what is going on as a trend. If it appears she goes very low I can poke her. But with her I really can't poke on a daily basis 4-6x. She's a very difficult kittie. So the Libre gives me a heads up when she's diving. Then if I must I can poke her.
I can't exist with the constant huge bounces and dives. Maybe once a new food will work better and we can then switch back to TR?

We shall see about the new Libre which will be applied this weekend.
I don't want to set her back from regulation, but what's been going on is just too much to sustain. :(

Thank you so much for the guidance!!
 
Back
Top