6.13.17 Chase AMPS:164, +1:143, +2:121, +9:79, PMPS/12.5:90, +1.25:96, +2.25:73, +3.25:89

Status
Not open for further replies.
Lots of flat blue. Normally with TR, we'd give him ten cycles to see how low his nadirs can come. But also, normally, for a cat out of remission, if the CG could be home, I'd suggest they increase the dose a bit.

For safety, its best to let him go ten cycles, at least, to see if he gets more green. What are you thinking, Sandi?

How did the vet visit go?
 
Lots of flat blue. Normally with TR, we'd give him ten cycles to see how low his nadirs can come. But also, normally, for a cat out of remission, if the CG could be home, I'd suggest they increase the dose a bit.

For safety, its best to let him go ten cycles, at least, to see if he gets more green. What are you thinking, Sandi?

How did the vet visit go?
Hi Marje. The vet visit went well. He said his gums look good and there are no broken teeth. He does think that his right canine is dead because of how dark it is, but he said as long as it stays in one piece and doesn't appear to cause him any problems that it should be left alone. The only thing that concerned the vet was Chase's weight. He said that if he lost a few pounds that it would greatly benefit his health. Chase has always been a big cat, but since his belly is big, I'm supposed to get him to lose weight. I'm not sure of the best way to do this. I took a urine sample in and they are going to send it out to be tested, although the vet didn't think it was terribly important to. But he also said that if it would ease my mind, since I wasn't sure why his BG was up, then it was certainly worth it. I'll find out in the next few days, the results.

I just found out today that I am going to have to transfer to Sierra Vista with my company in order to stay employed. And I only have 2 weeks to find a place, pack, move, and unpack. I have no help because I have no one here and so it's not going to be easy. I will have to pay someone to help me load my furniture into a moving truck when the time comes (that's going to be trick because I have to pay for my move and am not financially prepared, but I have no choice at this time). And with Chase on insulin this is going to be very tricky. AND very stressful on him. I'm not even sure where we will live, yet. I might have to rent a room from someone, temporarily. I will do the best I can to keep him on insulin continuously, but I can't guarantee it. It is my intention to continue with insulin, but there might be a hiccup, or 2. Chase's PMPS was 90, but I still gave him the drop dose. I'll be testing him up until at least +3 to be sure that he doesn't go too low. If he does go low, I know what to do. :) He didn't get his +9 snack this afternoon because I barely had enough time to get home from work and then get to the vet on time. Interesting that his PMPS was so low without a snack. Also, he missed one of his meals this morning. I found it still in the feeder. He's been doing that, sometimes. There's not much I can do if I'm at work and that happens.

Once we move to Sierra Vista I will not be allowed to alternate my work schedule at all, because I am going to be the receptionist. I can only hope and pray that Chase will do well.
 
Last edited:
Down 23 points in one hour and at 73. This next hour will be a little nerve racking, with Chase's history of the dreaded "nose dive". I hope someone is here for moral support, should he do that. :bookworm:
 
I'm glad Chase didn't dive last night. I'm glad the vetty visit went well, but it is frustrating to not get an answer as to why his numbers are creeping up. How crazy your company only gave you two weeks to move. I hope everything will fall into place for you. Sending prayers.
 
Hi Marje. The vet visit went well. He said his gums look good and there are no broken teeth. He does think that his right canine is dead because of how dark it is, but he said as long as it stays in one piece and doesn't appear to cause him any problems that it should be left alone. The only thing that concerned the vet was Chase's weight. He said that if he lost a few pounds that it would greatly benefit his health. Chase has always been a big cat, but since his belly is big, I'm supposed to get him to lose weight. I'm not sure of the best way to do this. I took a urine sample in and they are going to send it out to be tested, although the vet didn't think it was terribly important to. But he also said that if it would ease my mind, since I wasn't sure why his BG was up, then it was certainly worth it. I'll find out in the next few days, the results.

I'm glad the vet visit went well but something caused him to come out of remission. Has he gained that much weight since he went OTJ? I'm just not sure I would agree that it's weight alone unless he's really gained and his belly has gotten significantly larger.

I just found out today that I am going to have to transfer to Sierra Vista with my company in order to stay employed. And I only have 2 weeks to find a place, pack, move, and unpack. I have no help because I have no one here and so it's not going to be easy. I will have to pay someone to help me load my furniture into a moving truck when the time comes (that's going to be trick because I have to pay for my move and am not financially prepared, but I have no choice at this time). And with Chase on insulin this is going to be very tricky. AND very stressful on him. I'm not even sure where we will live, yet. I might have to rent a room from someone, temporarily. I will do the best I can to keep him on insulin continuously, but I can't guarantee it. It is my intention to continue with insulin, but there might be a hiccup, or 2. Chase's PMPS was 90, but I still gave him the drop dose. I'll be testing him up until at least +3 to be sure that he doesn't go too low. If he does go low, I know what to do. :) He didn't get his +9 snack this afternoon because I barely had enough time to get home from work and then get to the vet on time. Interesting that his PMPS was so low without a snack. Also, he missed one of his meals this morning. I found it still in the feeder. He's been doing that, sometimes. There's not much I can do if I'm at work and that happens.

Once we move to Sierra Vista I will not be allowed to alternate my work schedule at all, because I am going to be the receptionist. I can only hope and pray that Chase will do well.
Oh no! That is not very much time at all. They are asking you to move but aren't paying your moving expenses?

You can only do what you can and I knowmyou will do your best. Please call me and let me know how I can help you with the move. After 21 years of being a military spouse, I'm an expert at moving :). I have a large SUV and we can load it up with small boxes and I can drive it to SV. That will save you $$ if the movers dont have to move it.
 
Wow @Marje and Gracie for such a kind offer. This forum never ceases to amaze me with the love and help that is giving freely on a daily basis. I am blubbering over here. :rolleyes:

Sandy , I am so sorry that this move is being thrown on your lap with not much time to organize yourself. I will keep good thoughts for it to all go smoothly.

About the vet appointment , a dark tooth indicates that the nerve has died. When that happens bacteria sets up shop in the pulp of the tooth and an abscess will form. They can be painful. Forrest lost a canine due to fracture and then it abcessed. The X-ray showed the abscess. So when you get settled you might have them take one. If it is abscessed , that would take him out of remission.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top