Hi Marje. The vet visit went well. He said his gums look good and there are no broken teeth. He does think that his right canine is dead because of how dark it is, but he said as long as it stays in one piece and doesn't appear to cause him any problems that it should be left alone. The only thing that concerned the vet was Chase's weight. He said that if he lost a few pounds that it would greatly benefit his health. Chase has always been a big cat, but since his belly is big, I'm supposed to get him to lose weight. I'm not sure of the best way to do this. I took a urine sample in and they are going to send it out to be tested, although the vet didn't think it was terribly important to. But he also said that if it would ease my mind, since I wasn't sure why his BG was up, then it was certainly worth it. I'll find out in the next few days, the results.Lots of flat blue. Normally with TR, we'd give him ten cycles to see how low his nadirs can come. But also, normally, for a cat out of remission, if the CG could be home, I'd suggest they increase the dose a bit.
For safety, its best to let him go ten cycles, at least, to see if he gets more green. What are you thinking, Sandi?
How did the vet visit go?

Hi Marje. The vet visit went well. He said his gums look good and there are no broken teeth. He does think that his right canine is dead because of how dark it is, but he said as long as it stays in one piece and doesn't appear to cause him any problems that it should be left alone. The only thing that concerned the vet was Chase's weight. He said that if he lost a few pounds that it would greatly benefit his health. Chase has always been a big cat, but since his belly is big, I'm supposed to get him to lose weight. I'm not sure of the best way to do this. I took a urine sample in and they are going to send it out to be tested, although the vet didn't think it was terribly important to. But he also said that if it would ease my mind, since I wasn't sure why his BG was up, then it was certainly worth it. I'll find out in the next few days, the results.
Oh no! That is not very much time at all. They are asking you to move but aren't paying your moving expenses?I just found out today that I am going to have to transfer to Sierra Vista with my company in order to stay employed. And I only have 2 weeks to find a place, pack, move, and unpack. I have no help because I have no one here and so it's not going to be easy. I will have to pay someone to help me load my furniture into a moving truck when the time comes (that's going to be trick because I have to pay for my move and am not financially prepared, but I have no choice at this time). And with Chase on insulin this is going to be very tricky. AND very stressful on him. I'm not even sure where we will live, yet. I might have to rent a room from someone, temporarily. I will do the best I can to keep him on insulin continuously, but I can't guarantee it. It is my intention to continue with insulin, but there might be a hiccup, or 2. Chase's PMPS was 90, but I still gave him the drop dose. I'll be testing him up until at least +3 to be sure that he doesn't go too low. If he does go low, I know what to do.He didn't get his +9 snack this afternoon because I barely had enough time to get home from work and then get to the vet on time. Interesting that his PMPS was so low without a snack. Also, he missed one of his meals this morning. I found it still in the feeder. He's been doing that, sometimes. There's not much I can do if I'm at work and that happens.
Once we move to Sierra Vista I will not be allowed to alternate my work schedule at all, because I am going to be the receptionist. I can only hope and pray that Chase will do well.