6/13/14 Max+6=103+6.5=83+8.25=74PMPS127+1=209+3=267+5.5=285

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S #S
AMPS 406
+2=326
+5=169
+6=93
PMPS=86
+1=110
+2=117
+3.75=87
+4.5=66
+5.5=76
+6=85
+7=94
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120185

And of course we bounce!! I sure hope it's a mini one. This bouncing is a real letdown. Vines to all in need.
 
Re: 6/13/14 Max AMPS 230

Yo Max,
Bounce yourself right over to the Full Strawberry Moon Party tonight! Come early and help pick strawberries!

~ Rusty
 
Re: 6/13/14 Max AMPS 230

I don't think this cat will ever stop bouncing or get used to normal numbers.
 
Re: 6/13/14 Max AMPS 230+1.5=318+3.75=200

It looks like he is recovering quickly though. That might be a step in the right direction.
 
Re: 6/13/14 Max AMPS 230+1.5=318+3.75=200+6=103

Well, we ALMOST got to green. So close. Maybe tonight without dipping so low please!!

Update: He went down to 83. Now I'm content.
 
Re: 6/13/14 Max AMPS 230+1.5=318+3.75=200+6=103+6.5=83

:lol: :lol: :lol: Your link to yesterday's condo goes to a condo for a kitty named "Taz". No worries...I've done the same thing myself before. Here is the link to Max's 6/12 Condo.

I'm glad you waited until the morning cycle of 6/12 to see if he would clear the bounce before deciding on whether to increase. I thought there might be some potential that the 428 on 6/11 was the high before the break. I went back and read the condo for later on 6/11 (sorry..I had a long work day and conked out early). You had a valid question in asking why I thought the 428 on p.m. 6/11 was th high before the break instead of the 484 on 6/10. It looked to me like he was just really winding up for the bounce on 6/10. He sort tried to clear but then went back up at night on 6/11....pretty high (maybe because of the big dive the previous night, too...who knows). Because he had tried to clear to blue on the a.m. cycle of 6/11 but then went way back up, I just had a crystal ball moment that the 428 might be a high before the break. I wish I could give you a scientific answer :lol: :lol:

Because you test ALOT and you can manage lower numbers, I almost wonder (please note this advice is only for Elise and Max and does not apply to any other cats), if you just put a tiny bit of fat on the dose (even with his nadirs in the high 60s) and caught the drops to flatten him out before he gets low, if you could minimize the bounce. It really takes staying on top of the numbers for a few cycles until you get them flatter and you might have to feed a little extra higher carb (maybe not HC).

As an example, look at Gracie's SS on 5/29. I had decreased her dose from .5u to 0.45u on 5/27 because she was getting into the 40s and staying there. I decided it was a failed reduction and took her back up to .5u on 5/29. She started diving/bouncing and was getting into the 40s. I knew if I took her down again, she'd stall. So I left the dose as it was and on the night of 5/31, I was more aggressive at catching and stopping the drop. It kept her a little higher but it flattened her out and her bounces, while they haven't stopped, have been more in blue. It's aggressive and I would not suggest this to anyone else unless they had a ton of experience with low numbers, feeding, etc. I'm suggesting it for you because I do think he was getting a little more insulin with the Monojects and he had stopped bouncing. I think you could try it with Max and see if it works. However, having said that, I also think if you want to leave him where he is and see if he will just stop bouncing, you could. Either way might work or not and just leaving him where he is would be less aggressive and would not require you to work at it.

Or, wait a few cycles and see how he does and then decide.
 
Re: 6/13/14 Max AMPS230+1.5=318+3.75=200+6=103+6.5=83+8.25=7

Hi Marje,

I'm willing to try almost anything to stop this annoying bouncing. It drives me crazy and I don't think Max feels too well from it. Either that or I still wonder about whether his BP is too low at home. I reread the comments from that vet and he said if Max is that fearful, no matter what dose he was on his BP could be sky high. I know he's an elderly guy but he sleeps way too much. Can diabetes cause that? He seems to perk up around 4:30 a.m. and is awake until late morning and then crashes. It seems his BP med might be decreasing at that point but I don't know. I need to find a way to get an accurate reading soon.

But I digress. Tomorrow I have things I need to do and then go to my mom's so I can't try the experiment then. Monday I have an appointment at Costco to get new tires put on my car. How many cycles do you think this might take? I'm thinking I won't be able to leave him much while doing this. Saturday night to Monday early afternoon might not be enough time, right? I need to leave by 1:30 for the tires. I picked that time thinking it would be safe to leave him then. I guess I should wait and try this Tuesday. What do you think? We so appreciate all you are doing to help us. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Now how did I manage to get another person's condo attached to mine? I fixed it in the first post. :lol: :roll:
 
Re: 6/13/14 Max +6=103+6.5=83+8.25=74PMPS127+1=209

Bouncing already. Will he come down like today or keep going up?
 
Re: 6/13/14 Max +6=103+6.5=83+8.25=74PMPS127+1=209+3=267

Sorry to just get back to you! Elise. I had to deal with some issues with my mother.

Cats do generally sleep a good portion of the day. Especially an older cat. As we've discussed before, the only way to know is to have a vet come in to your home and check it. If it's low on BP meds, then you could stop the meds and then have the vet recheck at your home after a week. I would suggest you discuss with your vet again.

You can wait until Tuesday; that gives you time to see how he does at the current dose. It only took a cycle or so for me to flatten Gracie out quite a bit. But then as she flattened out in green, I had less opportunity to get out. A lot of times, when the kitty does flatten out, there is more ability to get out but Gracie can be dramatic and drop low even after surfing in gorgeous numbers for hours so I don't trust her ;-) OTOH some cats flatten out in green and it allows their CG to get out more because they know they won't take a huge dive.

Waiting until Tues also allows you to look at his SS and perhaps Gracies and get some ideas.
 
Re: 6/13/14 Max +6=103+6.5=83+8.25=74PMPS127+1=209+3=267

Hi Elise, the bouncing is really frustrating. Sending prayers for him to flatten out and for you to figure out what is bothering him. Can a vet tech come to your house or is the blood pressure machine to big? or will Max get nervous anyway
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top