Re: 6/13/14 Max AMPS 230+1.5=318+3.75=200+6=103+6.5=83
:lol: :lol: :lol: Your link to yesterday's condo goes to a condo for a kitty named "Taz". No worries...I've done the same thing myself before. Here is the link to
Max's 6/12 Condo.
I'm glad you waited until the morning cycle of 6/12 to see if he would clear the bounce before deciding on whether to increase. I thought there might be some potential that the 428 on 6/11 was the high before the break. I went back and read the condo for later on 6/11 (sorry..I had a long work day and conked out early). You had a valid question in asking why I thought the 428 on p.m. 6/11 was th high before the break instead of the 484 on 6/10. It looked to me like he was just really winding up for the bounce on 6/10. He sort tried to clear but then went back up at night on 6/11....pretty high (maybe because of the big dive the previous night, too...who knows). Because he had tried to clear to blue on the a.m. cycle of 6/11 but then went way back up, I just had a crystal ball moment that the 428 might be a high before the break. I wish I could give you a scientific answer :lol: :lol:
Because you test ALOT and you can manage lower numbers, I almost wonder (
please note this advice is only for Elise and Max and does not apply to any other cats), if you just put a tiny bit of fat on the dose (even with his nadirs in the high 60s) and caught the drops to flatten him out before he gets low, if you could minimize the bounce. It really takes staying on top of the numbers for a few cycles until you get them flatter and you might have to feed a little extra higher carb (maybe not HC).
As an example, look at Gracie's SS on 5/29. I had decreased her dose from .5u to 0.45u on 5/27 because she was getting into the 40s and staying there. I decided it was a failed reduction and took her back up to .5u on 5/29. She started diving/bouncing and was getting into the 40s. I knew if I took her down again, she'd stall. So I left the dose as it was and on the night of 5/31, I was more aggressive at catching and stopping the drop. It kept her a little higher but it flattened her out and her bounces, while they haven't stopped, have been more in blue. It's aggressive and I would not suggest this to anyone else unless they had a ton of experience with low numbers, feeding, etc. I'm suggesting it for you because I do think he was getting a little more insulin with the Monojects and he had stopped bouncing. I think you could try it with Max and see if it works. However, having said that, I also think if you want to leave him where he is and see if he will just stop bouncing, you could. Either way might work or not and just leaving him where he is would be less aggressive and would not require you to work at it.
Or, wait a few cycles and see how he does and then decide.