6/12 Zeus AMBG 46 +4 120 PMPS 326 Lab results

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
6/11 Condo

Morning all,

Holy cow, I got up 30 min early and there was vomit in the living room so I tested and got 49. Cleaned it up, found more in the spare bedroom, a lot more. Tested again and 46. He doesn't want to eat. Looks like I will have to skip his shot again. I think he is telling me that he wants a reduction.
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46

Morning Kathie ~O) ~O) ~O)

:shock: on that 46! Guess somebody does want a reduction. :-D Surf well today Zeus. Hope Zeus feels better too.

Have a good one today.
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46

I wonder if Zeus is having an acid tummy overnight. Maybe some Pepsid would help.

Usually, an unshootable numbers means a reduction. It's your call.
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46

Hi Kathie ~O) I see Zeus has been quite the colorful boy lately :mrgreen: I agree that he's telling mom that maybe he wants a decrease :-D

I hope his appy returns; have you tried pixie dust sprinkled on his food???
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46

Very interesting #s, and good call on skipping this morning. Hoping that he feels better, and continues this wonderful street of :mrgreen: #s. Have a great day!
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46

Hi guys .. aww poor zeus! Sorry to hear his tummy was so upset .. Hope it's settled down now .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46 +4 120 at Vet's Office

Hi Everyone, thanks for visiting today. I so appreciate all the kind words and the support. I took Zeus to the Vet today, we were there for almost 2 and 1/2 hours. His BG was only 120 at the Vet's (with no shot this morning). They took a urine sample, no sugar in his urine, no ketones, but he did have a lot of red blood cells. The tech thought it was an infection? The Vet said he didn't think so. His teeth were fine, a little tartar but not bad. Temperature was a little low. The Vet said that there is no mistaking that Zeus has a heart murmur. He felt him all over, checked everything, and said he couldn't find anything wrong, but wanted to take XRays. They didn't show anything either. He looked at the results of the blood test from a couple of weeks ago, confirmed that it all looked good. He did say that Zeus was a little dehydrated and gave him fluids while I was there. The Tech said she thought they were going to send me home with the stuff and I'd have to give fluids at home, but they didn't. And then the Vet came back in the exam room kind of scratching his head. He said he was concerned. He wants to do an abdominal ultrasound because something is going on, he just doesn't know what. Unfortunately, the doctor that does the ultrasounds only comes on certain days but he couldn't really say when (sounds like a traveling specialist or something), so he called her and left a message. I was hoping that by some miracle she would call right back to say that she was in the area.... but no such luck. Not yet anyway. So... I wait. I don't know anything and I'm all worried because the Vet is concerned, but they did send us home. Zeus ate some chicken while I was at home and then I had to come back to work. I feel so badly for him. Poor little guy.

I have to get back to work. I hope to hear something this afternoon and I will update then. Thanks again for your support.

Kathie
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46 +4 120 at Vet's Office

There are some vets that do ultrasounds on the road. If there's a referral or specialty clinic near you, they may have someone who is there who does ultrasounds.

What does the vet think is going on and on what is he basing his concern?
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46 +4 120 at Vet's Office

Piling on some more healing vines for Zeus's tummy. I hope you come back home to a hungry kitty. Cyber hugs going out to you Kathie. What a stressful morning.

An ultrasound is a good idea. My Buster (GA) had a heart murmur and the x-rays showed nothing but the ultrasound showed a slight thickening of the heart wall. When a heart murmur was found in Neko, I went straight to ultrasound. Nothing major found but at least we have a baseline now. Ultrasound specialists can be either the traveling kind or those at a specialty vet office. If it's going to take a while to see the traveling ultrasound specialist (I had to wait 2 weeks), you could ask your vet if there is a specialty office he deals with.
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46 +4 120 at Vet's Office

Mega healing vines for Zeus. Hope you are able to get the U/S quickly, and get good results. Feel better Zeus!
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46 +4 120 at Vet's Office

I hope you can get the ultrasound scheduled soon. I hope it is nothing serious and Zeus starts feeling and eating better soon.
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46 +4 120 at Vet's Office

HI Kathie - I hope all is well with Zeus. I hope you will be able to get in soon for the U/S, to relieve some of your worry. Wishing you guys much luck. Feel better Zeus.
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46 +4 120 at Vet's Office

Hi Kathie cat_pet_icon Hang in there, sweetie. It really does sound like Zeus is in very good hands :-D I hope the ultrasound tech calls back and gets Zeus in for the test real soon. I just did some praying for you, Zeus and the ultrasound tech. You have a very thorough vet who obviously genuinely cares about you and Zeus.
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46 +4 120 at Vet's Office

Gardens of vines for dear sweet Zeus! I hope you guys get some answers soon. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46 +4 120 at Vet's Office

Hi ((((Kathie,))))
Sending lots of prayers and vines for Zeus. I hope the ultrasound can happen quickly and shows that all is well. Feel better Zeus, sweetie. And lots of vines and prayers for you, Kathie.
Zeus, my buddy... all us kittehs will be coming for KTSS. Don't worry, chicken soup will make your tummy better. see you in a sec. - oliver
 
Re: 6/12 Zeus AMBG 46 +4 120 at Vet's Office

(((Kathie))) sending more healing vines and prayers for Zeus, and I hope they can make the u/s happen soon.
 
Thanks again for visiting today, I appreciate it. The Vet sent me a copy of Zeus' chart with the latest results. I think I have attached it to my signature and published it for anyone that may want to peek at it.

The Vet called this afternoon to tell me that the first ultrasound appt that he could get at his office would be a week from this Friday, or this coming Monday at a different office. Then he mentioned an animal hospital an hour and a half away, I called and they can get us in tomorrow night, so that's what I chose to do. The Vet said that he is concerned about Zeus and that he's not doing well. I'm not sure what he is basing it on or what he thinks might be wrong. I have to agree with him though, Zeus is not acting right, he isn't eating well, has been losing weight, and I've been wondering/concerned about the vomitting for a long time... hence the reason for our visit a couple of weeks ago and again today.

As for Mr. Zeus, he was 326 tonight. Not too bad considering... and not any worse than some of the tests I get during a cycle that he received a full shot. He looked like he was hungry, kept looking for his dish. I would say that between then and now he has probably eaten 3/4 of a can of FF. He's sitting on the arm of the chair now just staring off into space.

I suppose I am getting ahead of myself, but I'm not sure what to do about Zeus' shot tomorrow night. We'll have to leave here by +10.5. With traffic we may be on the road still at PMPS, I don't know if we'll be able to test, feed and shoot before the ultrasound. I did put some stuff together for the ride... a disposable litter box, his harness and leash, a can of food, bowls, bottled water etc. Just have to put his meter and supplies together and the insulin.

Fingers crossed that we get some answers by tomorrow night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top