6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239 +6 180 PMPS 234

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous condo

Ok so the vet just called and Tiggys IGF-1 was 104. Normal range is 12-92. Although its slightly high, the lab felt that this was not acromegaly because it can be slightly high with cats with diabetes anyway. The lab (although they didnt do an IAA test) also felt that given his BG results he also isnt IAA..

thoughts??

Wendy
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104

Hi guys .. No advice from me on the test results .. interesting how it can be slightly higher just because of the diabetes .. I hope others with more knowledge chime in soon ...
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104

I'm a bit more concrete when it comes to data. If Tiggy were my cat, I wouldn't completely rule out IAA without the test.
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

Great news the lab doesn't think it's acromegaly.

He's never been the typical high dose cat... whatever that would be. ;-)

I wonder if IAA is even important once broken?
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

Tiggy really does like to live on the edge. In the acromegaly forum, there are people who've had cats with IGF-1 results of 116 and 120 and been confirmed acro. That IGF-1 of 104 really doesn't help explain why Tiggy needs higher doses of insulin. So frustrating.
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

I know I am so frustrated . I spent $700 and am no further forward except he is a pretty healthy kitty... no infections, good bloodwork and possibly acro although its very minor if he is.

I dont honestly have the cash right now for IAA (with the $700 on this and then 3k+ on Bonnie over the last few months) and I dont know if I want another inconclusive test - the acro test made sense to me as if it was positive I knew I had to be careful with his heart. But now I dont have a confirmed diagnosis unless I want to get his brain scanned like the vet said at a cost of $1600. But we will keep an eye on him for future heart issues and be careful during ops anyway.

Even if IAA was positive all it would be telling me is I need to increase the dose. Which I do anyway. And the lab said my BG results didnt look like insulin resistance was there.

The vet actually thinks I missed the good dose earlier on when I increased and/or Tiggy is a high dose cat.

Wendy
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

That's a lot of money to spend to find out nothing. Rather than spend money on a CT scan to see if there is a tumor, I'd save money and get an echocardiogram of his heart when you can afford it. Even if that found nothing wrong, it would at least give you a baseline. And it's good to know he's otherwise healthy.
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

I like Wendy's suggestion. The issue with IAA is that once the resistance is broken, it's a non-issue. If Tiggy want's a big gulp of insulin, he gets a big gulp until he tells us he wants a sip.
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

I suppose it's impossible to conclusively determine any cat is not acro without the CT scan.

If there is a tumor wouldn't he need SRT?
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

I dont think we can afford to do SRT. at least not quite yet with Bonnie and her issues etc.
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

Ok so my plan-

1. continue the LC food for a few weeks to see if he comes down any more
2. assume acro and move to levemir and/or bolus dosing if the dose keeps going up.
3. ecg when I can afford it

Wendy
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

Yikes acromegaly dx 6/12/2013??

Why assume acro? Did the lab suggest repeating the test periodically?

What does the acro group think?

Does the IGF-1 result account the the current dose, or does it suggest it might be something else?

Might be a good time to switch both boys to Levemir but I'd want to discuss the dosing for each with Jill and Libby. You could probably switch Tiggy to Levemir first and keep Baily on Lantus until the current supply of Solostar pens are toasty.
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

The acro group are divided. Although acro is up to 92, Tiggy is only 104. Some acro cats that gayle has seen are 112 or 125 but most are a lot higher ie mid 200+. To me i think he could be within statistical error too! Nobody on facebook commented on the labs take that "diabetic cats tend to read high on igf-1 anyway".

The lab and vet said not acromegaly and never suggested repeating the test. If anything they are thinking either I skipped past his ideal dose or he is just a high dose cat.

I put it in my signature since I am advising a lot of newbies I don't want them thinking 9 units is normal ;) but I am not sure that's what Tiggy has anyway.. Or if he does its still very minor.
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

I'd like to know the dose for the cats under 125, no IAA.

And I wonder what is the lowest IGF-1 to get a CT scan or SRT.

If the lab says no, surely they have the most experience with those numbers?
 
Re: 6/12 Tiggys IGF-1 results -104 AMPS 239

I just mean the correlation between the IGF-1 result and the max dose of Lantus or Levemir required at the time.

For instance Klinger had an IGF-1 of 116 (no IAA) and was getting green on about 2.75U of Levemir give or take.

If there is any correlation. :?:

Tiggy's dose seems perhaps high compared to his IGF-1?
 
Neko tested IGF-1 of 440, first saw green on 3.75 units and maxed out at 8.75 units. Many acrocats with lower IGF-1 have required higher doses of insulin. I don't think there's any correlation. According the the folks at CSU who have done the studies of acromegalic cats, there is no correlation between the IGF-1 number, size of tumor, or expected life span. Neko had a highish IGF-1 and what the radiation oncologist called a "tiny" tumor. The folks at CSU have done SRT with success on cats whose CT scans and MRIs showed no visible tumor. There's still a lot to be learned about this condition.

Several acro cats have stayed with Lantus even at much higher doses. Dose alone is not a reason to switch to Lev.
 
And Neko also had IAA which almost certainly plays into the resistance and dose.

That brings up another question: do they still test positive for IAA once it's broken?

So if no visible tumor and normal IGF-1 readings are not necessarily indications a cat is not acro, it would be seemingly impossible to demonstrate Tiggy, Chip (or any cat for that matter) is not acro.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top