6/12 Tessa AMPS 286 +5 205 +8 186

tessa's mom

Active Member
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...pmps-315-dental-and-lymph-node-update.290830/

TR says "when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing." I suspect she got a high green on 6/9 but I cannot be 100% sure, I tried to catch the nadir but I think I was too late. No sign of greens since then though. Does a single drop under 100 mean I should hold the dose or does it have to be multiple nadirs under 100?

She just got cycle #8's shot this morning. I can't decide whether it would make more sense to increase tonight or give her 2 more cycles at this dose. Any thoughts?

Also, the last 2 days she has big jumps at the end of her AM cycle, any idea what causes this? She is not getting any food after +4. She gets a Purina Fancy Feast Purely Hand-Flaked treat after tests that occur after +4 but they're 100% meat so should have 0 carbs and I tear them into 2-3 pieces and just give her 1 piece per test so she doesn't even get a full treat. The packets say 3.3 calories each so she's getting 1-1.65 calories per test so that shouldn't affect anything, right?
 
I think you're good for an increase tonight. She's still spending too much time in higher numbers.

Thanks! That's what I was thinking but wanted to double check.

I hope eventually her body stops panicking at numbers below 200. Her highs aren't as high this time around but everything else is far more annoying.
 
Not uncommon for kitties to be a lot more bouncy second time around on insulin. :rolleyes:. Getting her to greens you see will help.
 
Not uncommon for kitties to be a lot more bouncy second time around on insulin. :rolleyes:. Getting her to greens you see will help.

I also think her mouth is still bothering her. We are getting her scheduled to see a veterinary dentist and booking a surgery slot for full mouth extractions. It's possible that the dentist will say we don't need them but I would be surprised. She got her teeth cleaned a little over month ago and her gingivitis is back in full force already. I don't think we'll fully get things under control until these teeth are gone. Luckily the closest veterinary dentist (2.5 hours away) has a slot for next month. We just have to get the referral from our normal vet and see if my husband can take time off work. If he can't then I can go by myself but I am not that comfortable driving in big cities so I'll be pretty nervous about that on top of all the surgery stuff. Hopefully he can get the time off approved.
 
Did she get dental x-rays when she got her teeth cleaned a month ago? The specialist is a good way to go, they are used to more complicated animals.
 
Did she get dental x-rays when she got her teeth cleaned a month ago? The specialist is a good way to go, they are used to more complicated animals.

Yes, she got x-rays on April 25th and on April 30th (before and after the extractions). I have copies of the ones from April 25th but not from April 30th: https://imgur.com/a/aVqK9Sp

I am not 100% sure which teeth they pulled but the dental chart my vet gave me said that they were concerned about 104, 108, 107, 407, 408, and 307. The vet that did the extractions only extracted 5 teeth. I know that she extracted 104 (upper right canine) and I believe she extracted 407 and 408 but I am not sure which other teeth she extracted. Our bill just listed the type of teeth, not the number.

Tooth 108 has had work done in the past, my record from 2021 says "closed extraction with division of 108" which I assume means they took part but not all of the tooth. Maybe a crown amputation?
 
Back
Top