6/12 Simon not eating well, no shot tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bruce & Simon

Member Since 2011
Good Morning All

Yesterday

Great day & evening for Simon yesterday, lots of green!

He seems off this am though, didn't eat much at all.... maybe the Tapazole, he's had
four 2.5mg doses so far. I'm kinda worried, if his appetite doesn't improve I'll
discontinue the TPZ and talk to the vet tomorrow about Tapazole transdermal cream or Carbimazole. I don't think
surgery or the radioactive options are viable for him. I'll check him closely today, him not eating
is very unusual.

Synopsis 6/11
AMPS 143 1.00 U
+3 71
+4 70
+6 67
+9 71
+12 83
PMPS 97 1.00 U (one hour late)
+2.5 77
+5 86
+11 114
AMPS 103


Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 6/12/11 Simon AMPS 103 +1 98

Simon just vomited up the little he ate this PMPS, when he also had his Tapazole.
I hope most of that came up too, because he's vomited noticeably more since starting it,
and he's only had 4 doses :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 103 +1 98 +4 64

Poor little dude!!! I hope you've been able to get some food into him since his numbers are on the low side. It's amazing how well he's done since starting Lantus such a short while ago. Bad luck on the hyper-T diagnosis, though. I hope one of the other meds work for him better since the Tapazole seems to upset his stomach. It has to be difficult trying to deal with two illnesses at once...FD is difficult on its own thankyouverymuch.

Good luck with everything. Hope you have a lovely Sunday!! :-D
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 103 +1 98 +4 64

Hi Bruce, sorry to hear about the vomiting. I haven't used it personally, but some people use Pepcid AC to help with nausea...hopefully someone can suggest dose. Can you add something to your header about vomiting? That will catch attention...
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 103 +1 98 +4 64

Thanks Patty & Laurie, Sime's feeling better, has "grazed" a few times and relaxing in his usual spots now.
I almost gave him some hc at 64, buy he scarfed up some lc, so I'll leave it a bit. i'm kind of obsessing @-)
I want that HT under control, but not at the expense of his appetite etc. I've re-read the "Dear Mom/Dad" letter :smile:
Of course I could be totaaly wrong about the TPZ causing the nausea, could be just the HT, or the fact that
he's no stranger to barfing...
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 103, nausea +1 98 +4 64

It's good to be a bit obsessive about food when they are in lower numbers! Low numbers and vomiting are not a good combo, food is important to balance out the insulin....I'm sure you know that. I'm glad he ate some, and I don't blame you for considering the HC....don't hesitate to use it if you think you need to.

I think I would hold the TZ until you can talk to the vet, that seems like a prudent idea to me. Even if it isn't directly causing the vomiting, it is a known side effect and it can't be helping...KWIM?
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 103, nausea +1 98 +4 64

You could consider giving 1/4 of a 10 mg Pepcid AC tablet twice daily to help with stomach acid. His urea was also a bit high, and that could also make him feel a bit sick. The Tapazole is less likely to cause side effects if introduced very gradually (if your vet approves you could drop back to 2.5 mg once daily for two weeks, or even go down to 1.25 mg once or twice daily). The transdermal may cause fewer side effects, but it also needs to be started at a low dose. I wouldn't give up on it entirely, as most cats do well on it, but Simon may need to work up slowly to the therapeutic dose.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 103, nausea +1 98 +4 64 +5 56

Thanks folks, my wife's picking up some pepcid. He's at 56 now, ate a bit more lc with a few hc treats -
"Luvs" with corn & wheat gluten, etc.

I have to take Chloe to the vet tomorrow to get her neutering stitches out, so I'll discuss the TZ issue then.
I'll skip tonight's dose for sure. and probably tomorrow am too
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 103, nausea +1 98 +4 64 +5 56 +6 59

My senior civvie, Mario, is on transdermal tapazole. We've gotten his thyroid regulated using the transdermal, and since it bypasses the digestive tract, he has not had any digestive issues.

In my searches, Drs Fosters and Smith seems to have the best price on the transdermal tapazole.

Feel better, Simon!!
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 103, nausea +1 98 +4 64 +5 56 +6 59 +9 1

Thanks again, I won't be giving him any more TZ until I talk to the vet. He's back up to 148, all he'll
eat at the moment is a few HC treats and maybe a bite or two of food. Not happy having to feed him crap,
but surfing the mid-greens and not eating too scary for me.
He seems more comfortable than this a.m., purrs, licks hands, the usual. No more vomiting either.
I'll see how he's doing PMPS, pretty sure he's OK for now, got my eye on him.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 103, nausea +1 98 +4 64 +5 56 +6 59 +9 1

no advice or experience on this but just wanted to lend a little moral support to you. i hope simon keeps feeling better and you can get the dosage figured out!
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 103, nausea +1 98 +4 64 +5 56 +6 59 +9 1

Thanks Julie (and everyone), I really appreciate the support. What's unfortunate is that Simon
is doing really well on the 1u, as if his starting dose hit the bullseye first try. And as I mentioned,
Simon not eating is a sure sign all is not right.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 103, nausea +1 98 +4 64 +5 56 +6 59 +9 1

So sorry to hear that your boy Simon is not feeling that well today. My Simon seems to throw up alot (mostly hairballs due to the hot weather) and the 1/4 tab of Pepcid really works well for him. I put it in a Greenies allergy free pill pocket which he scarfs down.

I hope you can get things figured out with the nausea because Lantus is definitely agreeing with Simon. What great green numbers.
 
I hate this, but I've decided to skip his PM shot. He feels better, no vomiting (1/4 pepsid probably helped) but
took literally only a few bites PS. I've discontinued the Tapazole until I can speak to the vet tomorrow .I'll see how he
is in the a.m. (at least I can move his time earlier) and and if he's OK and eats a decent breakfast we'll
get back on schedule. Thanks for all your help and concern everyone, have a great night.
 
Bruce:

I don't know if you had a chance to download the link I copied for you earlier about side effects and treatment. It's from one of the veterinary message/info boards. It may be something to print out and bring with you to your vet.
 
I hope Simon is feeling better and eating better, tomorrow. I hope the Pepsid AC really his tummy to feel better(((Simon))).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top