6/12 Peyton+2 137,+3.5 91,+5.5 75, +6 70, +6.5 67,+7 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcc1531

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120139

Happy to see a number below 400 in the morning. After pretty high numbers yesterday he got down to 228 at +6.5 last night. Hoping for some good numbers today :)
I got in vitamin B12 to help with his neuropathy and Tumil K (potassium gluconate) for his low normal potassium level. Less wobbly days are on the way! :-D
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton +6.5 228, AMPS 319, +3 182

We are in the BLUE at +3! Woohoo! Goodbye bouncing! :razz:
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton AMPS 319, +3 182, +6.5 ???? Monitor glitch?

Not sure what just happened but maybe some of you have experienced this. I checked Peyton +6.5 level and read 89. I wanted to double check and there was enough blood for another test so I put in another strip. The second test said 124. Strange!!! Now I don't know what to believe. How can they be so different from the same drop of blood? Now I have let him eat so I can't retest or another 2 hours :(
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton AMPS 319, +3 182, +6.5 ???? Monitor glitch?

The only time you need to wait the two hours is before giving insulin. You can test again after he eats. It will take at least 20 minutes for any food spike. The meter can be off by 20% and that can be high or low. So both of your tests make sense and are within meter limits. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton AMPS 319, +3 182, +6.5 ???? Monitor glitch?

Ah ha! That makes sense. I guess two differnt test strips can give you different readings but within the same range. Since it has been past 20 minutes since he ate I will just assume he is between 89-128 (20%). Glad to know the two hours only applies to when you are giving the insulin. Thank you!!
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton AMPS 319, +3 182, +6.5 ???? Monitor glitch?

Good. Jill just posted on JD's condo that the 2 hour thing isn't a rule but a suggestion. It's to prevent shooting too low a number if a food spike is responsible. So what you did, feeding Peyton I think it was yesterday with a number I believe in the 300's was not a mistake. Being new to this I would be reluctant to feed within the 2 hour time period if he is say, under 200. Again that is not a rule, just me thinking out loud. Others will chime in with their opinion I am sure. Have a nice afternoon.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton ???double checking???

I'm double checking from my question yesterday because I am a worry wart and am scared I will do something wrong. Peyton was eating the Wellness Brand food very well but he goes in cycles and has decided he's not ecstatic about it anymore. He may be back on it tomorrow but not today. I know the foods need to remain below 10% carbs. I want to make sure that if he will not eat the Wellness Brand tonight that is 4% carbs that it will be ok for me to feed him Friskies pate that is 8% carbs? Or should I try 1/2 and 1/2?
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton ???double checking???

As long as Peyton eats some low carb food, that's the most important thing. You might want to investigate some other foods in the 3-5% range as it's easier to figure out their cycles if their food is roughly equivalent carbs. Just put a note in your SS if you have to give slightly higher carbs to get him to eat.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton ???double checking???

Wendy, I went back and read your post from yesterday. If he doesn't eat well tonight I may do 50/50 his regular amount. At least that would cut down on the carbs a little.
We are about to get out PMPS level and he seems a little pewny :(
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton ???double checking???

there are a lot of tricks to entice a kitty to eat. i wonder if he's not feeling good, if that's why he's not eating the Wellness that he liked before.

here's a few -

warm up the food so it's a little smellier
give rotisserie chicken, lunchmeat, tuna (make sure no onions, garlic in broth ingredients)
sprinkle on parmesan cheese, oregano (related to catnip) or catnip
sprinkle on fortiflora (probiotic available from vets or Amazon.com)
pulverize freeze dried meat or dry cat food and sprinkle a little on top of the low carb canned

sometimes "priming the pump" by putting some food in his mouth with your finger will help him remember that it's good and get him started.

pancreatitis episodes can be relatively common among our diabetic kitties - feeling yucky and not wanting to eat might be a sign of it. Marje has a post on pancreatitis (on the New to the Group? sticky at the bottom with the single-topic links) that you could read and see if it sounds like what you're seeing with Peyton.

speaking generally, it's very important for diabetic cats to eat. if he won't eat the regular low carb food, it's ok to go to a higher carb or whatever it takes to get him to eat.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton ???double checking???

by the way, i think the 89 you got earlier today is the test that says that he's cleared the bounce from the 45 the night of 6/9. that took him 5 cycles after the low number event. it's good to notice that, because as cats get used to green numbers, often the bounces will become shorter in duration and won't go as high. this bounce was pretty dramatic with the high of 557!

although that's not true of every cat (the lessening of intensity and duration), but it's something for you to notice in future bounces to see what Peyton does.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

I'm nervous to shoot after our low night a couple nights ago. We were up half the night.
I believe this is the lowest PM reading we have had so far. Last night PMPS 557, +6.5 228 (0.75u)
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

you would keep the same dose tonight unless he won't eat at all.

if you're unsure you can get him to eat, feed him first before you shoot, and as long as he eats at least 1/2 of his normal amount, you can probably go ahead with the regular dose.

try some of the tricks i put above and see if any will get him to eat.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

Ok. I will see if I can get one of the tricks to work. Think he is being picky because he will eat freeze dried chicken with gusto.
I'm so nervous!!! I've never shot below 200. I'll be back and let you know if he eats. Thank you Julie!
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

This was supposed to be the night I have him his injection at an earlier time because I have a meeting early in the morning. I have no clue how we will work this out tomorrow
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

i didn't see if you answered me the other day when you asked about the meeting - if it's not too long, you could shoot after the meeting. that puts you late in the evening shot then. kinda depends on how off-schedule you can stand to be.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

The meeting will probably last until noon or later. It's more of a class for work
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

HE ATE!!!! I opened a new can and added warm water :)
So I need to shoot the regular amount (0.75u)? I'm so scared it's going to drop him too low. Why am I so scared?!
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

it's possible he'll go into another bounce from the 80's today. Some cats will just touch green and then bounce right back up. If he's headed up from this afternoon to tomorrow morning, ie, no curve to the pm cycle that says it's a normal cycle, then you might be able to shoot at your regular time and leave him regular food out.

otherwise, you might want to skip in the morning since you won't be home to monitor. once you can predict his cycles somewhat, you might be able to shoot and leave, but at the beginning it's probably not the best idea.

one thing you can do to prepare (i'm assuming you don't have a timed feeder, do you?) is to mix his regular low carb with some water and freeze it in muffin tins or ice cube trays. the idea is that when it thaws, he'd have fresh food ready. usually you'd want to try doing that when you're home to make sure he'll actually eat it when it thaws. i have one cat who won't eat cold food.

i'd probably err on the side of caution tomorrow. if he's not clearly headed up in a bounce, i'd probably skip. it'd be better to have him high for a day than too low when no one is home to help him. if you have to skip, he'll get back on track in a few days.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

you're scared because you haven't done it before. but Lantus works great shooting low, and honestly, this isn't really low. Just get a +1 and a +2 to start with so you see where he's going.

i can grab you some spreadsheets to look at for shooting low to see what happens, but you probably should go ahead and shoot so you're not too late and he doesn't go up too high before you've shot.

actually, look at Juno's (OTJ party today) and Davidson's (OTJ update today). Notice where the preshots go under 100 and they keep shooting the same amount. see how the cycle flattens out into more of a line when they start with a low number.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

You are scared because you don't know how he will react. I am still scared to shoot lower numbers than I am used to shooting. Often when you do, they level out and don't drop too much. I still have trouble shooting under 100. Remember though you have karo and hc food to bring him up and keep him up. Time fir me to fest, feed,shoot.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

But right now go ahead and shoot 0.75u?
I'm getting out of this meeting some kind of way! I'm too nervous to skip or be gone if something happens
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, stalling, what to shoot???

Here we go....
I have my emergency cabinet FULL
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176

You were right! How will I ever learn all of this. You all are AWESOME :RAHCAT
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137

Little drop. I'm not going to my class tomorrow. I wouldn't be able to concentrate because I would worry about Peyton the entire time. Especially if I had to skip his shot. I don't want to mess up any of this hard work :smile:
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137

he's not bouncing - what it looks like is a "typical active" lantus cycle. His +2 is slightly lower than the pmps, so i'd probably keep testing once an hour. if he gets to 70, i'd test every 30 minutes til he starts coming up.

When you have more data on his cycles, it will be easier to predict (i hope) what he's going to do and you hopefully, won't feel like you need to skip shots. I went back to work after punkin had been diabetic for about 10 months. it was a little nerve-wracking, but i got a timed feeder (i liked the PetSafe 5 compartment feeder a lot!) and we managed.

you could decide in the morning what you want to do.

i'll keep looking in on you for the next couple of hours.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137

I should have read your response right after I checked him. He was asking for food and hasn't eaten much today so I fed him. Should I set my alarm for a couple hours and check him or go ahead now?
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137

i'll check back with you at 11 (40 minutes from now) and see if you've got another test in yet.

if you're exhausted (i can't remember what time zone you're in), often people snooze in between tests. i set my cell phone alarm and slept on the living room sofa with the light on to help me wake up.

If Peyton goes below 50, you're going to want to pop open a can of high carb gravy cat food, put the lid back on and squeeze out the gravy. Give Peyton a teaspoon of the gravy, then post here. You're going to wait about 20 minutes for the carbs to get in his system, and then retest.

see you in 40 minutes.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137

He ate at +3 and tested 91 at +3.5. I'm in central time zone. It's 12:30 here. Should I retest at +4 or +4.5?
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137, +3.5 91 (ate at +3

You can probably go an hour. That food at +3 may help him surf here.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137, +3.5 91 (ate at +3

Hi Julie,

I'm not seeing you and wondering if you might have fallen asleep. it does happen!! :lol:

here are the directions for how to handle low numbers, just in case you need them. Low numbers mean under 50. Non-diabetic cats can run in the 40's, so don't freak if you see a number under 50 - you have time to take action.

If you do catch a number under 50, post here and on the Main Health forum if no one is online here. You can hit the 911 if you're scared, but basically all you're doing is giving a little high carb gravy or karo, waiting 20ish minutes for it to get in the bloodstream, then retesting. if he's still under 50, repeat.

if he's over 50, give him a couple of teaspoons of regular low carb food, and retest again in 20ish minutes. repeat until you're seeing that he's past his nadir (low point) and rising.

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137, +3.5 91 (ate at +3

Ann is up with Tess tonight and she'll be checking in to see if you need help.

i'm off to bed. see you tomorrow!
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137, +3.5 91 (ate at +3

Hi Julie, the other Julie asked me to stop by. Tess seems to think tonight will be a good night for a PJ party. W'll be around for a couple more hours and keep an eye on Peyton and you.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137, +3.5 91 (ate at +3

+5.5 75
Should I wait 30 minutes and retest?
Thank you so much!
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137, (+3.5 91 (ate at +

Hi Julie. I'm up with Max too. Yes, I would test again in 30 minutes. That should be close to his Nadir. Ann will likely stop by to check on you soon. Oh, don't feed him.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137,(+3 ate)+3.5 91,+5.

Thank goodness he woke me up! I fell asleep sitting up. Lol
He wanted food so I have him a few pieces of PureBites dried chicken to satisfy him for a bit. I was told that would be ok since they have no carbs. Our babies like to do this at the same time don't they?
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137,(+3 ate)+3.5 91,+5.

yes, what you gave him is fine. You just don't want him to have any carbs to influence his BG. You want to make sure he has hit nadir and on his way back up and then you can sleep. You must be exhausted. I'm on the west coast so it's only 12:30. What is it, 2:30 where you are? I dosed off too by the way. It happens.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137,(+3 ate)+3.5 91,+5.

That's right, 2:30 here. Gone are the days of a good nights sleep :)
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137,(+3 ate)+3.5 91,+5.

I know. I'm lucky that I'm not working. I don't know how you do it and work too. Is your ss not automatically filling in the colors? Tonight the two under 100 should be green instead of blue. We like it when Mr. Greenie shows up. It would just be nicer if it were during the daytime.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137,(+3 ate)+3.5 91,+5.

Oops! Human error :) I'm doing it from my phone app and I have to color it. Guess I'm putting in what color I wish it would be. Ha
He went down a little to 70
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155, +1 176, +2 137,(+3 ate)+3.5 91,+5.

Peyton looks like he is doing well. He hasn't had food since +3. We like to see 2 rising tests to be sure that it isn't just an odd number but is a real rise.
 
Re: 6/12 Peyton PMPS 155,+1 176,+2 137,+3.5 91,+5.5 75, +6 7

Cross posted. Lets get another test in half an hour to be safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top