6/12 - Oliver - PMPS - 114, +1-149, +2 -133. +5 -197

Status
Not open for further replies.

FluffBunny

Member Since 2014
6/11 Oliver

Shot .5 U. It is clear to me that the prednisolone causes Oliver's BG to spike. I have to take my other cat to the vet this morning and I will be gone for about 3 hours. I hope Oliver will be okay while I'm gone. Will test just before I leave.
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - AMPS - 277, +4 - 111, +7 - 81

I suspect I am going to have another shoot low decision to make today.
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - New Question

I have seen several people refer to "Bupe." What is this?

It is becoming increasingly clear to me that Oliver's diabetes is prednisone induced. When I give him his pred, his BG spikes. When I skip his dose, his readings are near normal. Two vets have mentioned an alternate medication (Budesonide) that targets the intestinal tract. Is that the "Bupe" mentioned. If so, is it effective? I briefly discussed this with my regular vet and she is not a fan of this medication. She said that, in her experience, it doesn't work. If some of you have used it successfully, I might try it with Oliver.
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - New Question

Bupe is short for Buprenex and all I know is that is a pain medication. Others will be along with more info. I'm sure.
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - New Question

I don't know anything about budesonide either, but here is a link to MarVista Vet. Their Pharmacy Center has a lot of great info on meds.

You might go to your first post and replace "New Question" w/ "Budisonide?" in the subject line and click the question mark button to get more of a response. You have to edit the subject in the first post for it to show the change on the board list.
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - New Question - Budisonide?

Bupe is short for buprenorphine, also called buprenex is a narcotic pain relief. Neko gets bupe for arthritic pain.

Anne/Zener is now taking budesonide for his GI issues and it also raises his blood sugar levels.
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - PMPS - 104 Shoot low tonight????

I just took Oliver's PMPS. I took it twice. First time it was 84. 2nd reading was 104. (2nd test was immediate.) I would like to give him his injection tonight. I gave him his prednisolone 3 hours ago and, if his pattern holds, his BG will go up dramatically tonight if I skip his shot. Should I shoot .5U?

Please stand by for some hand-holding. If I do this, it will be my first time of shooting low.

I was talking to my kitty cardiologist today and I told him about my struggles with regulating Oliver. He told me that a .5U dose is so low, it probably wouldn't hurt even a heathy cat with a normal BG. That makes me feel a little better about shooting low tonight.

I am going to stall an hour to make sure his BG is still going up. And I want to get him back to an 8AM/8PM schedule.
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - PMPS - 104 Shoot low tonight????

Sounds like a good plan, but be sure not to feed him if you are stalling. Test again before it is time to shoot so you have time to get more advice if needed. We're watching you! ;-)
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - PMPS - 104 Shoot low tonight????

He just ate. BG was 113, so it is going up. I think I'll dhoot. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - PMPS - 104 Shoot low tonight????

Good luck shooting low - try not to worry too much. If I'm not sure what Pixie is doing, I test at +1 and +2, just to be sure. This helps give you an idea if the numbers are falling fast. If they are, don't panic just be sure to update your title line so people can watch what's happening and help if needed.

Anne
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - PMPS - 104 Shoot low tonight????

Looks like you shot? Way to go. :-D Normal procedure if you are faced with a low number at PS the first time is to wait, without feeding, for 20-30 minutes to see if they are rising. If you wait too long, sometimes their numbers will drop because they are hungry and it becomes more difficult to shoot.

Since you've shot (I think) could you take the 911 off? We like to reserve that for medical emergencies. As Anne says, just keep the subject line update with the current numbers and we'll keep an eye on how things are going tonight.
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - PMPS - 104 Shoot low tonight????

Ann & Tess asked me to stop in and say hi to you and Oliver. Zener is on Budesonide now. Our vet was reluctant to go with the prednisolone because of his diabetes, though the Budesonide will cause BGs to go up too. It is supposed to be much more targeted to the GI system and we've read cats with IBD can be managed well on Budesonide, even ones with FD. We had to go up about double his insulin dose over time. We would hold for 6 cycles, then increase until the numbers got better. We were able to get it compounded locally in a sugar free liquid and it was about 25USD for 30mL.

It helped him quite a bit for several months, and recently we had to increase to see if it would be helpful. It is possible he has lymphoma now, so in that case, the Budesonide may not be as effective.

Anne
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - PMPS - 104 Shoot low tonight????

Thanks for the information, Anne. I hope it hasn't changed into lymphoma.
 
Re: 6/12 - Oliver - PMPS - 114 Shot low. +1-149.

your kitty cardiologist might be a super cardiologist, but he may not know as much about diabetes. it's possible for a cat to get into low numbers even on a low dose, if the cat needs less than that amount.

as long as you're monitoring, you'll be able to keep Oliver safe.

as you get new BG tests in, keep your subject line updated so we can see easily if you need help tonight. Many people scan the main page of the Lantus/Lev TR page to watch updates and see if someone needs help.

I see the +1/149, Oliver's looking good so far!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top