6/12 Lucy PMBG=176 // SKIPPING, SICK&NOT EATING

Status
Not open for further replies.
Lucy is not interested in pill pockets at all.
I tried ALL flavor.
I hide prednisolone in a small ball of her regular food, so that's probably what I will do with Papcid, but if it has some taste, then she will spit it and start suspecting everything a feed her with or without pill.
And this system does not work when she is not eating, so worst is the appetite stimulant...
I hope Pepcid doesn't have much taste or smell....
 
Mariko....

I'm going to hang out and let Sienne and Amy get some rest.

Amy gave you the correct Pepcid. Be sure it is the Pepcid AC and only 10mg. You don't want Pepcid Complete. The pill pockets a also a good idea but just use a tiny piece because they will raise BG.

I just want to tell you again how great we all think you are doing. You have been a wonderful addition to our LL family and are learning very fast. Don't be so hard on yourself because we all have alot of respect for you.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Thank you, Marje.
Don't worry, I won't keep you long either since I skipped the shot :lol:

Lucy doesn't like ANY flavor of pill pocket, so what I'll do is I'll hide the Pepcid in a small ball of her regular food.
I'll get the exact one in your e-mail.
I asked another question about feeding in reply to Sienne's suggestion re: splitting food since Lucy may not be handling extra food.

mariko said:
For the food, I will first feed her half or 2/3 of her meal.
And check her +2 and feed the rest if her number is good, or bits by bits if she is low and needs food support.
Does this sound OK?

And thank you for saying such nice things.
You are making my eyes water.....
 
Don't worry...I'm here as long as you need support, ok?

Pepcid has a very bitter taste so it's best to disguise it as best you can.

What would you think about splitting her food three ways ...PS, +1 and +2? That might help her a little more.
 
If I split the food in 3 ways, doesn't that mean that the +2 test will be affected by the food fed after +1?
In order to fit into my work schedule, unless it's important for me to stay like today, I plan to leave home right after AM+2.
If I feed her at +1, don't you think the +2 test will not really tell me if it's safe for me to leave?
I don't want the AM+2 test to be affected by the food because that where I will decide whether I can go to work or not...
I can do 3 ways for PM cycle though.....
What do you think?

Too bad Pepcid is bitter....
I will try but I may not be able to continue it.
I will ask the vet tomorrow if there is something equivalent for veterinary use.
I also hard that there is an injectable kind.....
 
Hi Mariko, I just wanted to stop by and say hello and tell you that you're doing an awesome job! I can't tell you how many times this year that I thought about packing up Shasta and hauling her into work with me! :shock: :lol: I sure hope that Lucy starts feeling better. Sending feel better vines for Lucy and soothing vines for you! :YMHUG: Keep being the wonderful mama bean that you're being! Hope you get some sleep tonight.
 
Mariko

Yes...you can get injectible Pepcid AC (famotidine). Check with your vet. You might also want to see if you can get some ondansetron (zofran). It can be divided into a small pill.

Because onset is usually at +2, if she is going to come down, she will even with food on board. Usually you will see the effects of food on the BG within 30-45 minutes. Many members feed at PS, +1, +2, +3 to slow down the insulin a bit so you don't get a fast drop like you have recently.
 
Ohhhh it makes sense, now I like the 3 ways idea much better.
Maybe she will not make a huge drop at +2 like yesterday's and this morning, if I do the 3 ways!
If I do only 2 ways, she will get less food before the +2 test, so she may drop even more ... oh no I don't want that.

Yes Marje, I can do 3-ways!
Thank you for the explanation!!

I will first try the oral med for stomach acid....
If it stresses her too much, then I will consider the injectible one as long as it's safe.
I heard oral meds are safer than the injection in some cases....
Have you hard of any dangerous side effects by injectible Pepcid??
 
Thank you, Deborah, for visiting and kind words....
I think she is starting to improve a bit already....
I'll try to get her to eat some in a bit....
 
I don't know of any side effects or problems with the injectible but please discuss with your vet.

When you feed mini meals early in the cycle, we call it front loading to help with dives and early drops. I used it with Gracie on Lantus and it helped alot. I also give her three mini meals before she onsets at +4 (she is now on levemir) and then again before she nadirs because she likes to drop low then.

Use food to your benefit.

Manage the curve with food------->Flatten the curve-------->Adjust the dose (if necessary)

Sometimes it takes a bit of time to see the results but stick with it.

How is she acting?
 
Marje! I'm so happy.
She just ate about 2 tsp!!!
She doesn't want any more now, but I'll keep trying bit by bit!

She came out to the living room and lying on her favorite spot on her side now, looks comfortable, not painful.

I think it was stomach problem because she is farting a lot since I got home.
I will keep offering food as long as she is interested, but I'd probably better give her a bit less than usual today?
 
Yay!!! :-D flip_cat flip_cat

I'd go very light on the food tonight. Small amounts spaced out...I wouldn't worry if she doesn't eat very much...she had alot earlier.
 
Sorry, false alarm....
She just moved from one end of the sofa to the other end, and she couldn't walk and fell twice on her side, and I got super super scared, but I think it was because she was walking on the soft and uneven surface (old sofa) and she is a bit weak today from not feeling well.
I just put her on the floor, and she walked fine.
I got her upset by picking her up.......
 
Oh, and I forgot to mention...
I also checked her BG, and it is 214... YELLOW....
Is she going to be OK?
 
Thank you, Marje, for everything.
I will:
1) not feed her much tonight.
2) split her meal 3-ways.
3) talk to the vet about the Pepcid.

I just realized that I haven't eaten anything all day today... :shock:
I'm going to the pharmacy to get the peepee testing kit now before they close, and then feed myself....
 
Mariko, I'm still up for a while. Sorry to hear about Lucy not feeling well. Sometimes we have to skip a shot, and sometimes we do I fur shot like I did last night. :oops: They get over it.

I've seen the Pepcid equivalent as a liquid from the vet, if that's any easier to give Lucy.

Take care of yourself too! Sleep well.
 
Hi!

Just here to say hi and say that you are doing a super great job. :RAHCAT

This is a tough disease to handle. I'm still fairly new (almost two months on it) and it does become easier and more of a rhythm to it. You are getting a lot of great data to refer back to later.

I hope Lucy feels better and that you get something to eat. Feel better to both of ya!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top