6/12 Lucy PMBG=176 // SKIPPING, SICK&NOT EATING

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning!!!

Yesterday's

I forgot to let you know yesterday what happened to the food I left out for Lucy.
Well, I left out 3 dishes at different locations, so Ginger would not eat all.
When I came home, two were clean and one was untouched.
And I could tell exactly who ate the two!


So.... maybe leaving food out won't work so well for Lucy.
Or maybe Lucy didn't go too low, so she didn't feel the need to eat the food...

Lucy vomited some mucusy liquid, it's not new, but quite a bit this morning.
Maybe the HC food she ate yesterday made her tummy feel differently, I'm not sure, but otherwise she is doing good.
Her appetite this morning was not great but OK.
I am going to test her +2 soon, and hope she'll be at the safe number!
 

Attachments

  • gingerbackguilty.JPG
    gingerbackguilty.JPG
    16.4 KB · Views: 1,118
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131

Hi guys .. ahhahaa on the photo!! I hope that lucy just surfed nicely while you were out yesterday and didn't feel the need to eat all the fuddies .. Sorry about the throw up this morning .. hope her tummy is settled down now .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131; +2=70 / OMG She's doing it again!

She is dropping fast at +2 AGAIN!
I have to be late for work AGAIN!!!
I'm stressed out!
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131; +2=70 / OMG She's doing it again!

But, but, but.....Lucy liked having you home yesterday! (Please explain to your cat that if she keeps doing this, you won't have a job and you won't have any money to buy her food.)

I'd give her some LC. She seems to like to surf in this range.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131; +2=70 / OMG She's doing it again!

Thanks Sienne.
I explained it to her.
She doesn't understand the concept of "job".

I'm trying to give her 2tsp LC.
Her appetite is not so good, so harder to feed today.

Should I test +2.5 or can I wait till +3?
She is getting irritated about being poked so many times....
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131; +2=70 / OMG She's doing it again!

OK, I called my office to let them know I'll be very late, so I'll give her until +3...

Lucy says "But we have shelves full of food."
Ginger says "Remind me again, where do you go every day?"
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131; +2=70 / OMG She's doing it again!

Really nice numbers for Lucy :-D Bahahaa on Ginger's photo!! Hope Lucy surfs safely for you today - it is a shame that our work has to get in the way of our life!
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131; +2=70; +3=74 / OMG She's doing it ag

Thanks Jane & Cleo!
Don't drop any more Lucy!
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131; +2=70; +3=74 / OMG She's doing it ag

Lucy is looking great....surf it, girl, so MamaBean can "bring home the bacon"!

LOL on Ginger....silly girl!
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131; +2=70; +3=74 / OMG She's doing it ag

Surf nicely now, Lucy
smiley-sport007.gif


Cleo & Jane said:
it is a shame that our work has to get in the way of our life!
:lol:
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58 // OH NO!

OH NOOOO!
SHE IS DROPPING.
I'M GETTING SCARED!
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58 // OH NO!

Sorry to put up the 911 again!!
I am starting to be nervous.
Is she still in the same range??
+4 = 58 <--- LOWEST NUMBER EVER FOR LUCY.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58 // OH NO!

She is still going down, but her pace has slowed a bit , and she is still in safe numbers. Do you have any HC food on hand? I would give her about a TBSP and test again in half an hour. How's your work situation?
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58 // OH NO!

Thank you, Amy.
I'll give her a bit of HC food.....

I am trying to work from home....
I can't do as much, but I can get some of the work done from home, thanks to the Cloud technology....
I may have to go to the office at night to catch up if she doesn't go up till safe during the day :cry: :cry: :cry:
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58 // OH NO!

I know...it can be tricky juggling an FD kitty and work, but it DOES get easier, I promise! Once you learn more about how Lucy responds to food and insulin, you'll start feeling more comfortable.

When you feed the HC, you don't want to feed too much at once. You need her to stay hungry, in case she needs another round of food. The trick is to give her just enough to slow the drop/bring about a surf, without launching her into the stratosphere.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58 // OH NO!

She doesn't want to eat any more....
But I'm trying to get her to lick the gravy from the HC food.
She ate a tsp of LC right after +4.
I'll test her in 20 min.... that will be +5.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58 // OH NO!

Sounds like a plan. FWIW, I don't feed Trixie gravy until she drops below 50. Right now, Lucy is at her record low, but it is still a safe number.

I'm at work myself, so I may have to pop in and out, but I'll keep my eyes peeled. (I co-own a retail store, so I have a lot of wiggle room...except when customers interrupt ;-) !)
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58 // OH NO!

Thank you Amy.
I have to re-boot my computer.
I'll be back!
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58 // OH NO!

Sorry my computer crushed, out of all other times it can crush.
Phewwww. She has come up.
+5 is 79

I think I'm going to see what she'll do at +6 without food....
I'll take down the 911 now...
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79

Excellent - great work, Mariko!!! Yep, you can take the 911 down, and keep us posted about +6!
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79

Mariko

Glad Amy was there for you. She is spot on that she does not give Trix HC in the 50s and she didn't know we were hoping to just feed LC and see what Lucy would do.

Remember that while you are home, we just want to try low carb because if she wants a reduction, it's working against her to give her HC. That's because her depot is just getting fuller and fuller and when you don't let her earn the reduction, it could get ahead of you. it's ok to let her earn the reduction which means she will likely go below 40. :shock: but she might not...the LC might work and bring her right back up...then you know she's not quite ready yet for the reduction.

Scary, I know....but you know she responds well to HC so if you give LC and she still drops below 40, then you can use HC to bring her up.

You're doing fine. You have testing and you have food so you are in control :-D

Does my thought process make sense? ;-)
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79

Yes, thank you Marje.
So it's probably a good thing she really didn't want any of the HC food.
She licked just a bit of gravy, maybe like 1/8 tsp, and 2 bits of flakes....
I'll test her at +6, and post.

My my computer suddenly keeps shutting down on me.
Google does not open, so cannot update the SS right now.
I'm trying to fix it so I'll be on/off line from FDMB, but I'm not gone!!!

I am scared because she is looking super sleepy, didn't even wake up when I approached her until I talked to her, but she is a bit better now.....
Her body is probably scared too.
I just hope she does this during the night cycle....
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79

You are doing find. Have confidence in what you have learned. You've come a long way :-D
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79

OH MY GOD! She is back down again!
+6 is 65...

I gave her just a tsp of LC....
I'm resisting the HC food...
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79;+6=65

Believe it or not, with meter variance, that 65 and 79 are almost the same number. She's surfing - no need for HC! Heck, since she's at the halfway point in her cycle, you might even be able to go easy on the LC, and just monitor her. You are doing AWESOME!!! You're gathering tons of useful data, and you're steering Lucy in safe numbers.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79;+6=65

Thank you, Amy.
I gave her just a tsp after +6, but I'll stop.
I still wanted to go to work after +7 test if it's safe to leave her, but looks like I can't.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79;+6=65

This is where holding back on feeding can give you some good information. The 65 is a nice, safe number. If you don't feed and retest in an hour, and she's going up or staying the same, you know her numbers are not food influenced. When you feed, her numbers in an hour are likely food-influenced, and then they could possible wobble around as the food wears off. It's more of a data-gathering tool, to help you start piecing together the puzzle of Lucy's personal sugar dance. I hope that makes sense...I know Marje or Sienne could definitley explain it better than I just did.

At the same time, you have to do what you are comfortable with. All of this definitely takes some getting used to, but you are well on your way.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79;+6=65

Thank you Amy.
Your explanation makes sense perfectly. Thank you.

+7 is 85, she is coming up.
I can tell she is not feeling very well right now, not used to low numbers....
Poor Lucy....
I think I'll do another test at +8, and if she is up again, leave for work... although I can only work for 3 hrs before I need to come back for the PM shot...

This is really hard....
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79;+6=65

It does get easier...for both you and Lucy. In the meantime, we're all here to help you out whenever and however you need it.

I hope Lucy starts feeling better soon! I'm glad she's coming up...looking good!
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79;+6=65;+7=85;+

+8 is 95!
I think she is finally saying I'm good to go!
I'm going to work now, and come back in 4 hrs for per PMPS!

Thank you so much for all you supports.
Amy, thank you very much for staying with me all day since morning!!!
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy AMPS=131;+2=70;+3=74;+4=58;+5=79;+6=65;+7=85;+

Hi Mariko, what a day for you and Lucy. You had some great help from Amy today. Hope Lucy is feeling okay and you both get some well deserved rest tonight.
Thanks for the info on the acupuncture yesterday. Glad it is helping Lucy.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy PMPS=176 // SICK, NOT EATING

When I checked her +8, she was purring and seemed OK, so I left for work.
I just came back home to splutters of vomit, lots of water and some food I fed during the AM cycle.
Now she seems really sick, and she does not want to eat at all.
PMPS is 176, not sure if I should shoot or not if she does not eat.
I am going to give her some sub-Q fluid now, hoping it may make her feel a bit better.
I am so sad, I try very hard, and still making her sick.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy PMPS=176 // SICK, NOT EATING

Hang tight, Mariko...I'm not comfortable making suggestions either way considering Lucy isn't feeling well and is vomiting, but I messaged a some of our more experienced eyes, letting them know you're looking for advice. I'm sure someone will be along shortly.

How's Lucy feeling now?
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy PMPS=176 // SICK, NOT EATING

Thank you, Amy.
I just finished giving her about 150mL sub-Q fluid.
She looks just tired and sleepy....
That how she's been all morning though while she was green until +8.
I don't know if I can get her to eat anything tonight.
I don't want to syringe-feed her, that's too much stress for her. She is a senior.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy PMPS=176 // SICK, NOT EATING

How much food do you think you gave Lucy this morning? She may have had more food than she could handle and as a result, she may have thrown up. It's sometimes hard to figure out how much to feed when you're trying to steer the numbers.

I would keep an eye on Lucy. Given that she has a history of pancreatitis and gall bladder issues, there could be something brewing.

Are you comfortable with shooting, even if it's a reduced dose?
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy PMPS=176 // SICK, NOT EATING

She ate normal breakfast which is half a can.
During the AM cycle, she probably ate about 5 - 6 tsps.....
She was purring and still interested in food when I left her +8....

I don't know if I can get her to eat anything tonight.
It is not new that she refuses to eat, and when that happens, I usually manage to get her to eat about 1/3 to 1/2 of her regular portion, but this usually takes like 4 hours.
Today, right now, she is refusing to even sniff it, so I don't know if I can get her to eat ANYTHING.
I will not syringe feed her unless she goes without food for over 24 hours.
It will just make her sicker... she is very sensitive and doesn't deal with stress very well.

If I shoot her tonight, and she doesn't eat at all, she can go hypo, correct?
If so, I probably can't handle it........
I want to shoot, and do not want to mess up what we achieved so far, but I don't want to risk her getting sicker....
If I skip, is it going to be very bad?

I'm seeing the vet tomorrow evening as she has an acupuncture appointment.
If she is not eating by then, I will ask her to do some check-up too.
I think it's my fault...
I think my stress got transferred to her.
I've been trying not to show it to her, but you know cats have sixth sense....
It's so hard to see her like this.....
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy PMPS=176 // SICK, NOT EATING

Lucy vomited some mucusy liquid, it's not new, but quite a bit this morning.

This concerns me. This indicates an acid tummy which makes me wonder if she is getting some pancreatitis again. Her kidney values are normal?

I might think about a reduced dose for her so you get some insulin in her. She went up pretty fast. Unfortunately, none of us know if she will continue up or she will come back down. I'm not concerned about you skipping if she just has an upset tummy from overeating. But if she is developing some kind of infection, it would worry me for you to skip her shot. Have you checked her ketones today?

Mariko....this is NOT your fault. You are the absolute BEST mom. It sounds to me more like she is sick.

Unfortunately, we can't tell you what to do. If you feel she would not eat at all if you needed her to, then you will have to decide if you want to shoot a reduced dose and use karo on her gums if she comes down OR skip her shot. We support you either way.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucy PMPS=176 // SICK, NOT EATING

I have a copy of her last blood work report, but I don't know where to look for kidney.
It was done on 4/1, and the vet said "very early stage of kidney disease", and about the same as her previous test which was done around early March, so vet thinks it's progressing very slowly and not the most of our concern.

May be pancreatitis flair-up, but she has always been high, spec fPL over 50 the last 3 tests or so, so we cannot tell which way it's going.

I haven't even got the ketones testing strip, I though her numbers were low enough that I didn't have to worry about that.

I am going to skip tonight's shot.
I don't think I can deal with it if she goes too low, and I don't think she can either.
I'll just let her be tonight, without worrying about me poking her.
I feel like such a failure....
 
You are not a failure and I'm sorry that you feel that way. Feline diabetes is a tough, tough disease. You are a great bean for Lucy.
Liz
 
Skipping tonight sounds like it will give you both a chance to breath a bit.

You are so NOT a failure. FD is tricky to learn as it is, and you're juggling multiple issues beautifully.

Get some rest tonight, and remember that you've got all of LantusLand behind you.
 
Thank you, Liz....
I'll try to cheer up a bit. I don't want Lucy to worry...
She watches over me as much as I watch over her, so how I am affects her.
I need to be clam and in a better mood!!! And quickly too!

You all helped me greatly over the past few days staying with me for hours to keep her in good numbers, and we were doing kind of good, and I'm so disappointed to have to skip tonight's PM shot......
OK, have to think positive, have to think positive, have to think positive, have to think positive...

I forgot to mention in my last post that even though she is refusing to eat, she is not hiding and she is not in the meatloaf position either.
So I don't think she is in pain, at least not in great pain....
 
You are NOT a failure. Unless you have a crystal ball that's working (mine is permanently broken) or can mind read/understand cat, there is no way you can know exactly what's going on. You're learning about Lucy and how to manage her needs. Sometimes it goes flawlessly and sometimes it doesn't.

I would definitely make sure you give Lucy her Pepsid at least 30 min. before a meal.

Lucy may not be able to handle the extra food. If her usual meal is 1/2 a can, you may have given her close to that in the 5-6 extra teaspoons of food. One way to deal with a cat who's tummy is easily filled or upset is to spread out her meals over several hours.

I would get a pack of Ketostix. While it is more likely that ketones can develop when a cat is in high numbers, that's not always the case. Infection + not eating + not enough insulin is the formula for ketones. A box of ketostix is inexpensive in light of the degree of prevention it will provide.
 
I will go to the pharmacy after posting this to get a box of Ketostix.

I thought about Pepsid before because she sometimes vomits yellow stomach acid when she's hungry, but pilling her is a nightmare so I didn't pursue it, but I'm going to now.
My question is, do I just give her human pepcid?
If so, which one and how much?
I'll get it together with Ketostix.

For the food, I will first feed her half or 2/3 of her meal.
And check her +2 and feed the rest if her number is good, or bits by bits if she is low and needs food support.
Does this sound OK?
 
For the Pepcid (aka "Famotidine"), you want to give her 1/4 of a 10mg tablet. You want the basic Pepcid AC, again, 10mg. Have you tried pill pockets with Lucy, since she's tough to pill? With my GA Mario, pill pockets were a Godsend...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top