6/12 Lucian +4/129,+5/105,+6/117,+7/131,+10/191,+11/356

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/12 Lucian AMPS 269

Hi Debbie! So how have you been? How is Lucian??? His AMPS is great in light of all the black numbers I remember Lucian having "back in the day" :-D
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AMPS 269,+3.5/219

Hey Kat, it's still a struggle trying to get him stable.

Congrats on Gobbles OTJ party! Hope it stays that way. :thumbup
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AMPS 269,+3.5/219,+6/235

Looks to be fairly flat, I'm off to run errands while I can.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AMPS 269,+3.5/219,+6/235

Lucian gave me a chuckle. :-D When I got home, all the furbabies wanted to eat, so I fed them while putting away groceries. After all was done, Lucian walked over to the footstool where he gets his treat after his test and sat down and meowed at me, TWICE, when I ignored him the first time. He's willing to deal with a test to get the treat now, I guess. Seeing as we had such a hard time with testing for the 1st 6 weeks, this really 'tickled' me. :-D I vividly remember having to 'burrito' him for the 1st 6 weeks because he fought me in a BIG way. Amazing what they can get used to with time. Now he just sits in my lap with that 'OK get it over with" look on his face, he never budges. :-D He literally sits there limp, with his front legs hanging in his lap. It is so funny to see and I laugh at him quite often. A Lot of changes in 6 months. :o

Now if I could just get him stable..........
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AMPS 269,+3.5/219,+6/235,+10/189

All my babies are grey/silver or a combo of grey in some sort. My feral, Shadow, is a grey tabby and Patches is a grey calico, according to the vet. She's grey, white and butterscotch. And of course Lucian has been accused of being a British Blue, he's quite silver.

That 189 @ +10 is certainly odd. I do doubt he'll need R this evening, but you never know, he's been known to jump over 200 pts in an hour, so I'll test again at +11, to be safe.

Since I found that Lucian loves cooked turkey, I was going to buy a leg or thigh and cook it for him. All I could find was necks and wings and 2 wings was over $8!! I could almost get a whole turkey for that! :o I had a can of turkey, carb free, with no veggie broth added, that I tried when I ran out of fresh cooked and he liked it just as well. I can get that for $1 a can at Dollar Tree. To heck with cooking turkey! :lol: I like giving the carb free meat during the last couple hrs of his cycle if he's hungry, so as not to spike him even worse as the Lantus is waning. I've also used canned tuna, without a problem, but prefer to use turkey, since I know it's said that too much fish isn't good for cats. He gets fishy cat food several times a week, there is a limit to what he'll eat, so I prefer the turkey for the treat. He still won't eat chicken, fresh cooked or otherwise. :roll:

Thanks to all for the compliments. :YMHUG: Don't know how well I'm doing, but I am trying and doing the best I can. I have no fantasy of Lucian ever going OTJ, but as long as he's stable, regulated, healthy and happy, I'm good with that. :thumbup If I can accomplish that, he has several more years and that's what I want. cat_pet_icon He's gained back the lost weight, his fur looks good, he's the handsome boy he was before he got sick. Now if I can just get his BG's to stay in acceptable range, I'm happy. :-D
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AMPS 269,+3.5/219,+6/235,+10/189,+11/168

Thanks to all for the compliments. :YMHUG: Don't know how well I'm doing, but I am trying and doing the best I can. I have no fantasy of Lucian ever going OTJ, but as long as he's stable, regulated, healthy and happy, I'm good with that. :thumbup If I can accomplish that, he has several more years and that's what I want. cat_pet_icon He's gained back the lost weight, his fur looks good, he's the handsome boy he was before he got sick. Now if I can just get his BG's to stay in acceptable range, I'm happy. :-D

Lucian says he love you for saying he is handsome boy. Lucian says he is felling so much better these days. And he is always happy as long as he is with you.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AMPS 269,+3.5/219,+6/235,+10/189,+11/168

Thanks Deb :YMHUG:

Any thoughts as to why his BG's have been dropping since +6, instead of increasing, which would be the norm? Besides him secretly planning to keep me up all night? :o
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AM 269,+3.5/219,+6/235,+10/189,+11/168,PMPS

He came up a little for PMPS, but ate 1/8 can (snack) of LC @ +11. Guess I'll have to keep an eye on him tonight. Sure won't be the THIRD time I've set the clock every 45 minutes! :lol:
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AMPS 269,+3.5/219,+6/235,+10/189,+11/168

Any thoughts as to why his BG's have been dropping since +6, instead of increasing, which would be the norm?
sorry, no idea.

He does seem to be trying hard for a dose reduction over the last 6-7 days. Not there yet, but maybe soon.

I'm thinking he may have a longer duration with each shot then most kitties. This would give him more hours of overlap between the two shots. Most kitties might only have 2-6 hours of overlap on the doses. He may be getting 6-12 hours.

And because of this extended overlap, we get steeper drops and a lot more bouncing then in other kitties.

I don't have enough experience to be sure of any of this. Just a theory.

Also, what if Lucian is one of those kitties that have a normal blood glucose higher than the standard 40-120. What if for him normal is more like 90-170 range. So where a hypo for a normal cat may be below 50, for Lucian a hypo is any number below 90. ECID. There is another member in Australia, Bebe Kaye and Milo. He has physical symptoms of hypo below 90, trembling and seizures. Not always, but sometimes.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AM 269,+3.5/219,+6/235,+10/189,+11/168,PMPS

Sure won't be the THIRD time I've set the clock every 45 minutes! :lol:
Aren't you glad BJM taught you that a normal sleep cycle is every 45 minutes? :o :shock: :o
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AM 269,+3.5/219,+6/235,+10/189,+11/168,PMPS

Dunno, but Lucian has been down as far as 38 and showed no clinical signs at all. I would have never known had I not tested him.

As for the extended overlap, don't know there either, since he will give me that extreme check mark instead of a curve, know what I mean? Seems like that might point more to the insulin not working as long as it should, rather than working too long. But, again, I have no clue. @-) Your guess is as good as mine, lady! :lol:
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AM 269,+3.5/219,+6/235,+10/189,+11/168,PMPS

:lol: No kidding, I'm starting to think 4 hrs is a full night! :lol:
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian AMPS 269,+3.5/219,+6/235,+10/189,+11/168

nckitties3 said:
Any thoughts as to why his BG's have been dropping since +6, instead of increasing, which would be the norm?
actually, what he's doing isn't unusual at all. he's simply clearing the bounce. :mrgreen:

nckitties3 said:
Dunno, but Lucian has been down as far as 38 and showed no clinical signs at all. I would have never known had I not tested him.
this is pretty typical of a kitty who is being fed a wet/canned low carb diet. it's why a wet/canned low carb diet is one of the requisites of the TR Protocol.

nckitties3 said:
As for the extended overlap, don't know there either, since he will give me that extreme check mark instead of a curve, know what I mean? Seems like that might point more to the insulin not working as long as it should, rather than working too long. But, again, I have no clue. @-)
debbie, you're selling yourself short. that's exactly right. lucian is not getting enough duration from the lantus dose.. he's also a bouncy kitty. currently, there isn't enough wiggle room to increase the lantus (basal) dose. this could change, but for right now the 2u lantus dose is all we can give him without sending him too low.

Deb & Wink said:
He does seem to be trying hard for a dose reduction over the last 6-7 days. Not there yet, but maybe soon.
you're not giving consideration to the bolus. using R as a bolus is helping things along here. while R is generally in and out of the system in 4 - 5 hours, the R is disrupting the normal course of events by shortening the bounces and sometimes leaving lucian with a lower preshot number. this means the R can disrupt and rewrite the normal course of events over the next few cycles. lantus and levemir both are known to "work better" on a lower preshot number. take away the R here and you'd see the lantus dose is inadequate. that's why we aren't looking for a lantus reduction. if all goes as planned, we're looking to do away with the R first. make sense?

Deb & Wink said:
Also, what if Lucian is one of those kitties that have a normal blood glucose higher than the standard 40-120. What if for him normal is more like 90-170 range.
i have to say, every lantus/lev kitty i've seen since joining the FDMB whose caregivers concluded their kitty's "normal" blood glucose range was higher than 40 - 120 when going OTJ ended up back on insulin sooner than later. more often than not, they've regretted not trying to pull their kitties range down further. just sayin'...

nckitties3 said:
:lol: No kidding, I'm starting to think 4 hrs is a full night! :lol:
it's not??? :lol: :lol: :lol:



can't wait to see what lucian has in store for you tonight...
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian +6/235,+10/189,+11/168, PMPS 196, +1.75/154

You're great Jill! :thumbup Thank you! :YMHUG:

As for tonight? I have a sneaky suspicion that he's gonna keep me up till 4 AM, with his +1.75 @ 154, since the Lantus probably hasn't even kicked in yet. :o

Sooooooooo, I got 6 cans of MC and 4 cans of HC plus karo. Bought 2 more vials of strips today and just opened one yesterday, so we're set. :thumbup There is nothing I might need that I don't have an abundance of. But that's just me, I'm anal like that or so my son tells me. :lol: I went back to bed this morning after his 8 AM shot and slept till 11:30, so I got some much needed extra sleep.

OK Lucian, bring it on!! I'm ready for ya!! :lol:
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian +6/235,+10/189,+11/168, PMPS 196, +1.75/154

you must have been a Girl Scout because you're certainly prepared! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian +6/235,+10/189,+11/168, PMPS 196, +1.75/154

I'm a preparation freak. :lol: Growing up in south Florida, living in the S.E. almost all my life, I've always had to be prepped for hurricanes and such.

There are some things that I just refused to get low on. With Lucian, as soon as I open the last vial of strips, I buy 2 more. Always 2 at a time. Halfway thru a box of syringes, I buy another box. Down to 4-5 cans of food, I buy more. That's just me, I absolutely hate to run too low/out of something that I must have. I prefer to be stocked up, less stress for me that way.

By the same token, I pay all my bills ahead of time. By the 10th-12th of the month, that month's bills are paid even if they aren't due till the 27th. In my brain, I'd rather have them paid asap/early, in the event that something would happen to prevent it. Yeah I know, I'm OCD! :lol: I'm a professional worrier!! :lol: What if...............? Always thinking about the 'what if'. What if I ran out of X and couldn't get to the store? What if............? That's just the way my brain functions. :lol:

I was never a girl scout, but I was a brownie, lost interest after a year though. :lol:

I'd probably be a doomsday prepper if I could afford it and had the room to stock supplies. But since neither of those are possible, I guess I'll be SOL when the zombie apocalypse happens! haha_smiley haha_smiley
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian +6/235,+10/189,+11/168, PMPS 196, +1.75/154

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

oooooooooooh, we have so much in common! i never have less than 200 strips, buy a month's worth of cat food at a time, always have an extra box of syringes on hand, have extra bottles of alex's meds & supplements, and bills are paid on the 1st of the month no matter when they're due!

crazy, huh!


ps --- several years ago a girlfriend said she wanted to be with me if a catastrophe struck! :lol:
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian +10/189,+11/168, PMPS 196, +1.75/154,+3/116

You must be my sister by another mother! :lol: The only reason I am not more prepared than I am, is cause I can't afford to! :lol:

Soooooo +3 @ 116, means time to break out the MC. :thumbup

Yup, I see a long night ahead. :shock:
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian +10/189,+11/168, PMPS 196, +1.75/154,+3/116

Too early to be at 116, so got to keep him up for a while. Will test again in 15 min. If he's higher than 116, will give MC, if he's dropped lower, will give smaller amount of HC.

Unfortunately, with him dropping this early, I expect him to spike later on in the cycle.

You don't think I should let him earn a reduction, right? Keep him stable until he doesn't need the R anymore? Want to make sure I know what I'm doing. :o
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian +10/189,+11/168, PMPS 196, +1.75/154,+3/116

this one has to be a judgment call on your part. if it's too hard to keep him up let him have the reduction. if you can keep him up rather easily let him surf without earning a reduction. play it by ear. whatever you decide will be fine.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian PMPS 196, +1.75/154,+3/116,+4/129

OK, I gotcha. Doubt it will be a problem keeping him up though, hasn't been in the past anyway.

Gave MC, so far so good. I do cut back after the first time, don't want to carb load him, especially when it get close to mid cycle. At +1.75, I gave him 2T, this time I gave him 1T. And I use a measuring spoon, not silverware, so I have an accurate measure. There's that OCD again! :lol:

Just wanted to make sure I understood exactly what we're trying to do, so I didn't mess up. :-D
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian PMPS 196, +1.75/154,+3/116,+4/129,+5/105

Rather than open a can of HC for a teaspoon or 2, I added 1 drop of karo to his MC. I don't even like giving the HC to the non-diabetic kitties, the MC is ok for them, so there is no waste.

I can hardly keep my eyes open. :sad: I had a large cup of coffee and don't want to have more 'cause I'll never get to sleep when I can. :o

Need a sugar rush...... Peanut Butter Cap't Crunch!! There we go! :-D My favorite sweet treat! At least it has some vitamins added, instead of eating candy or cookies. :thumbup And it's very low fat.
Gonna get me a bowl, maybe that will wake me up for a little longer.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian PMPS 196, +1.75/154,+3/116,+4/129,+5/105

if you find yourself fading it's ok to use a couple drops of karo in his MC.
it's really up to you.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian PMPS 196, +1.75/154,+3/116,+4/129,+5/105

time for me to feed kitties. i'll be up for a bit yet in case you have any questions.
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian PMPS 196, +1.75/154,+3/116,+4/129,+5/105,+6

So far, so good. Same as last time, 1T MC w/1 drop karo.

Hoping I can quit 'steering' after the next test , have to get up for his +10 check. Then an hour and 45 mins later for his Lantus. But I'll go BTB after that for a couple more hrs. Sleeping in 'pieces' is hard, but I'll be able to catch a couple naps tomorrow, have nothing planned.

Whew! What a night! :o
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian PMPS 196, +1.75/154,+3/116,+4/129,+5/105,+6

looking good!
if continues to rise can you leave some food out for him before you go to bed?
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian +1.75/154,+3/116,+4/129,+5/105,+6/117,+7/13

At 131, we're done with carbs. Gave some CF Tuna for his treat and I'm going to bed for 3 hrs until time for his R, which I'm sure he'll need.

I appreciate you being around tonight, hard to stay awake when you're by yourself.

Thanks Hon! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian +1.75/154,+3/116,+4/129,+5/105,+6/117,+7/13

i know what you mean. get some sleep!
i have to work again tomorrow, but will pop in to see what he's up to. :mrgreen:
g'nite!
 
Re: 6/12 Lucian +3/116,+4/129,+5/105,+6/117,+7/131,+10/191

Looks like he might not need the R, will check again at +11.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top