6/12 Jack the Cat AMPS 317

Jack the Cat

Member Since 2019
So yesterday's good numbers are a sweet memory.

I had hoped Jack would be much lower than he is this morning.
 
Jack is not in a hurry, he wants to do it at his own pace, like all kities... :rolleyes: You might have some blues today :cool::cool:
Was wondering which protocol you are following, TR or SLGS?
Have a great day!
 
It looks like you are seeing a bounce from the 119 yesterday morning and the skipped shot. Why did you increase the dose this morning? It's not a good idea to jump around in dose. You need to give the depot time to settle. Also, dosing is based on the nadir (lowest number in the cycle) not the pre-shot numbers.
 
So Jack has been on Lantis since April 21, 2019. Initially, 2U x 2 daily, then down to 1U x 2 daily, then back up to 2U x 2 daily per vet's instructions.

I started home monitoring and joined this group a week ago and have learned a lot.

But I do have some questions on the two methods.

Can I start Jack on Tight Regulation even though he has been on Lantis for 6 weeks now?

Am thinking that the SLGS method might be more appropriate.

But my question on that is it calls for a starting does of .5U (Jack's been on wet food and have eliminated any dry)?

That would be a drop from the recent doses of 1U I have been giving him since his bad low numbers.

Your guidance most appreciated.
 
Hi there! I agree with Carla. It looks like Jack clears bounces quickly so be a bit vigilant in testing in case he clears the bounce today and you have a dose increase.

We want to give a dose 6 cycles for the depot to fill in before increasing. After a skipped shot, the count starts over. I would go back to the 1 unit and let's see how this dose does for him after 4 more cycles.

I just saw your post above. If you decide to do SLGS, you won't change the dose from 1 unit since he's been on Lantus for 6 weeks. Disregard the starting dose for the SLGS method as that is for cats just starting on Lantus.
 
Here is the explanation of what bouncing means. It is taken from the first stickie at the top of this forum "New to the Group, Start Here"

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Just curious as why you want to switch to SLGS. You test enough for TR and with TR you would be able to have Jack spend more time in safe green numbers before you would have to reduce.
 
Thank you for the bounce explanation. There is so much to read here so I appreciate the direct information. Hopefully someday I will be as knowledgeable as your are and can pay it forward to another person who is as new and scared as I am.

The switch to SLGS is that I have to leave town next week for a week, so don't have resources to be testing every 4 hours or so. My petsitter is a vet tech, she will come in twice a day, and I am asking her to test and log for me Jack's AMPS and PMPS numbers so I can continue to track.

I just didn't want to get him on a routine of 4 meals a day then having to stop that for a week and maybe have his system react badly when I am not here.

So just took his AMPS + 4 and its 33, so I feel really bad. He's got some HC food in him as well as corn syrup so will check again in an hour.
 
When you see numbers that low it's best to keep checking every 20 to 30 minutes until they come up over 50. Then you'll need to keep checking every hour so you can make sure the numbers don't come back down after the food and corn syrup wears off.
 
Just test and he is at 53. Will test again in an hour. Unfortunately, I have an appointment this afternoon so won't be able test until I get home. Am going to feed him a bit of HC food in an hour.
 
Back
Top