6.12 Chase-AMPS 128, +1:169, +2:157, +5.25:118, PMPS:188

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi & Chase in AZ

Member Since 2017
Good morning all,

I think Chase's little pancreas is "trying" to work. When I got home last night it was too late to give him a shot and he did miss one of his earlier timed feedings (probably slept through it), but I tested him for 3 consecutive hours (once before he ate and 2 hours afterward) and he stayed in the 90's. He had (what we've been calling) a +9 snack at in early hours of this morning, and his AMPS aren't too bad, all things considered, but.... his number went up a lot after his insulin and eating this morning. No doubt due to him not having insulin last night. I didn't plan yesterday very well and that won't happen again.

I will hold him at the dose, per Marje's suggestion about NADIR scores, and see how it goes. I still need to figure out how to do raw food. This guy just can't get rid of these welts on the back of his neck that itch him so badly. I treat it with spray and put a t-shirt on him, which keeps him from scratching. I think it's time to leave a t-shirt on him all day. This stuff has NEVER healed up completely.... for many months, now. I know that steroids are a big no-no with diabetic cats, but does that mean he can NEVER get a shot... even if it will clear this up completely?

He has his check up tomorrow. I'm going to take some urine in so they can test it and have his teeth looked at. I can't any blood work so that will have to do, for now. Should I take his blood work in from January when he was first diagnosed. He had what's called the "senior panel" (he's 11 years old). Can someone tell me their opinion... when I weigh the side effects of a steroid shot with the fact that he has had these welts/sores for months. Since it would just be one shot (and he hasn't had one of those in years), would it be better to get that treated? I don't want to cause him more harm but this stuff on him is terrible. :(

I'm about to leave for work. One more test and then I'll have to take an early lunch to get back here and do a +3. Happy Monday, everyone. :cat:
 
Last edited:
I think that I would go down the route of making homemade raw, I've read on the board of kitties with similar problems that were resolved by going to a raw diet and eliminating allergens. I would worry about giving a steroid shot because of the negative effect on BG's so before I went down the steroid route I would exhaust other avenues.
 
I think that I would go down the route of making homemade raw, I've read on the board of kitties with similar problems that were resolved by going to a raw diet and eliminating allergens. I would worry about giving a steroid shot because of the negative effect on BG's so before I went down the steroid route I would exhaust other avenues.
Thank you.
 
The depot will need to refill from the shipped shot. I hope things go well at the vet tomorrow. If it was me, steroids would be a last resort. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top