6/12 BaileyUK dose advise please

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
After Baileys low nadir on 30th May of 1.4 (25) I dropped his dose from 4.25 units to 3.75 units.Over the past three days his numbers seem to be going up,so today I upped his dose to 4 units,His numbers today
AMPS. 291.
+6. 163
PMPS. 237
+6. 75
What I cannot get my head around is his two nadirs of today are so far apart,how do you decide if he needs a dose increase? and have I been wrong to up his dose today when it looks like we are heading for a low PM nadir on today's cycle?
Expert advise would be very much appreciated,as much as I try I still cannot understand this tricky illness ,that has so many contradictions!! Many many thanks Diane
 
I don't know if I would have increased when she got that 52 just recently on the 3.75 dose. And I would have tested again in a half hour to make sure she didn't go even lower. Whenever I get a number below 60, I test every half hour.
I think I would have stayed with the 3.75 dose a while longer.
 
More night time tests would be helpful too as cats tend to go lower at night than in the day.
 
Thanks Dyana,I increased his dose this morning (am in UK )so the +4 52 was after his PM shot of 4 units this evening.would it be wise to take it back to 3.75 in the morning?
 
it might be helpful if, when you're considering increasing his dose, you look at the previous 6-10 cycles. Make a list of the nadirs for each of those cycles, and then look at the guidelines below. i color-coded them for you.

If most of your nadirs are in one color range, that will help you to see those are the directions you want to follow. If they are all over the place or in a bounce, go by the LOWEST numbers you are seeing to decide on the dose.

And it's always ok to ask here if you want help deciding on whether or not to increase. I know you have trouble getting the night cycle tests in, but that's probably the reason that it seems so mysterious to you. You're missing 50% of the data that you need in order to make a decision. Perhaps you could make an extra effort for 3 days to test both am & pm cycles when you're thinking you want to increase, so that you have enough data to decide. that might make things a little clearer and easier.

"General" Guidelines:
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.


when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.

I think Dyana's talking about June 7 - the 52 was at am+6 that day. tonight's +4 is 76. With tonight's 76, i'd get another test in 30 minutes and see if he's still headed down.
 
Thanks Julie,I have just AMPS tested and he was 15.6 (280) I think last nights +4 could have been a false reading,as I took it again at +6 and it was 11.1 (199). So this morning I went with my instinct and kept him to 4 units,as looking at the link you sent me (thanks for that) his nadirs over the past 5 day time numbers look high.many thanks have taken on board your suggestions for future increases. Many thanks to you both for you support,as always it is much appreciated. Diane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top