BJM
Member Since 2010
from http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=72914&p=791412#p790827
"...what's your impression of Chip's Lantus spreadsheet"
"...what's your impression of Chip's Lantus spreadsheet"
BJM said:...Well, step one is to get you started with your own condos for Chip, otherwise it will be difficult for folks to give you feedback and for the condo reader to keep track of whose feedback pertains to what poster.
So, I've (very presumptuously) posted your question here
Dale 'n' Chip said:BJM said:...I think it may be helpful to discuss with your vet about the use of a small amount of supplemental Humulin R for when the basal Lantus dose isn't enough, yet increasing the Lantus is going to be too high or unsafe for the long term. Use of Humulin R can be very tricky - the amounts given generally are quite small - barely over the 0 line at first, until you know how it works for Max. You are willing to do enough testing that you may be able to work out a plan here and/or with your vet to use R in a safe manner to help manage Max's spikes.
I had very similar issues with Spitzer the last few months he was alive due to intermittent vomiting and inappetance from pancreatitis and IBD; I resorted to using some R to knock down the highs, as I couldn't increase the Lantus without being sure he would eat and keep the food down. And ProZinc didn't last long enough for him or I would have kept with that..
I'm mildly temped to try something like that for Chip. I get the idea about the microscopic drops used. nailbite_smile
I'm not totally comfortable putting the hammer down on the Lantus to overpower Chip's bounce to get the needed liver training. And then having to spend 16 hours a day poking Chip twice an hour to surf those tight greens. For years on end. Then it creates even more recalcitrant bouncing.
BJM said:...So right now, your first objective is to have and to HOLD a stable dose long enough to follow the protocol for dosing Lantus. And note that treating an infection may lower the insulin requirement, so until you're done with the Clavamox, just hang in there, grit your teeth, and wait that out.
Well here we are, what do you think BJM?BJM said:I see you've gone with 1.2; lets see how he does with that for at least 3 days, while checking for ketones and snagging what-ever mid-cycles you can. I only mentioned the R because you'd asked in the other thread.
What's the difference between high nadirs and perpetual flat bounce from too much insulin? Is there any practical difference? I can do a curve but it doesn't tell much when it's just flat red or pink. I'll keep tabs on where it's heading. It apparently won't kill him to hold 1.2U for another day, or 1.5U for 3 as long as he keeps eating. I wouldn't think there would be ketones with this much insulin since he's probably not acro or imunocompromised. And as long as he is not losing weight.BJM said:If you have the time to do a curve this weekend, I'd hold and do that first, then follow the standard Lantus protocol for dose adjustments.
Otherwise, I'm thinking you could take it up to 1.5 and again hold it for at least 3 days (6 cycles/shots). If he tends to have major reactions to dose increases, making them smaller than 0.25 (which this will be) may cut down on the bouncing, but make it necessary to increase at 3 days if the dose is still giving you high nadirs. (aka "rinse and repeat!")
I think I will hold this for now, the bounce cleared black fast. And really I'm falling back on his clinical presentation here. He's feeling great today and eating well. I suspect his weight is up and his coat is better than it was before we started. More plush and he just smells clean and healthy, overly groomed. Yesterday he was lethargic and mopey after being active the day before. Since he's not falling suddenly too low, I'm inclined to try 1.5U tomorrow like Mel suggested. A good time to curve would be when he heads back into yellow.BJM said:...You hold the syringe; if you want to test 0.5 again, you certainly can do that if you will religiously test for ketones and are ready to return to the higher dose if you see them. It will take roughly 3 days for the shed to drain down to that dose, plus another 3 at that dose to stabilize so you won't be able to tell until perhaps next Wednesday or Thursday if you drop back to 0.5.
Mel (Momma of Muse) previously suggested you increase and she has more actual experience using Lantus than I do. If she says go higher, I'd follow that.
I need to cut back on testing as soon as the dose settles because that's another $75/month in test strips that seems to go on forever with Lantus. If we could even survive the endless sleepless nights. I'm fearing this excursion into LaLaLantusland may prove less than productive. If I would have just gone with U40 BPC PZI and clavomox even 3 months ago I'm quite sure we'd still be OTJ now. And life would be quite different. How are we supposed to know these things, well as you said hindsight is always 20/20. :smile:max&emmasmommie said:...So, what I am saying is keep testing, keep posting, take whatever steps you can to find out if there are comorbidity issues, and if you get discouraged, try to keep it from affecting your actions.
Also, I highly recommend that you take BJ's advice and make extensive notes to the side of each day's readings. What didn't seem important that day may be really helpful to have noted when you are looking over the colors later on.
Hang in there!
Can't believe I never saw this before:BJM said:...If you will be there to monitor, and he is high in the last 3 hours of his cycle, and in the black number-wise, that might be the time to test a tiny bit of R (1 drop) if you were going to do it. Then you'd test hourly to see how that works for him over the 4-5 hours R lasts, still doing the pre-shot and Lantus at their regular time. If you found it took as much as 0.5 units of R to cover that, and his nadirs were above 150, I think that would suggest adding more Lantus and reducing or eliminating the R.
MommaOfMuse nailed what might be Chip's breakthough dose. How precise is that? :mrgreen:MommaOfMuse said:Personally looking at his spreadsheet I think if he was mine I would raise the Lantus dose to either 1.25 and exactly more likely 1.5 considering how high he is and hold a little longer than the standard 3 days to see if he needs a little longer to settle down on a dose. Unless of course he hands you something in the 40s - 50s of course.
with lantus & levemir, one dose builds upon the next.Dale 'n' Chip said:Tilly and the TR crew would have missed this one.
there's a relevant bullet point contained in the Suggestions for Advice Givers.Dale 'n' Chip said:Sorry is right. Shoulda coulda woulda. They plain and simply didn't.
Well it's official. After one month on Lantus he's lost half a pound. He actually weighs less now than recorded at any point during his DKA. This is on two scales at the new vet for which we have records going back almost a year.BJM said:If you review the secondary monitoring tools in my signature link, you'll see the 5 Ps mentioned.
When the 5 Ps are all good, the cat is usually doing OK.
They may not be very precise measures, but as you mention - its the whole clinical picture of how does the cat seem to feel.
BJM take a look at it now. Looks like he is doing it in blue for real this time, anti-jinx. After 12 days of holding the dose.Dale 'n' Chip said:...If he could do this in blue I strongly suspect he would be OTJ within weeks. That would sure solve numerous dire problems.
(Chip did you hear that?)
If I were to decide not to hold the dose, what would a good option be? What would the protocol dictate with these numbers?BJM said:...Since he becomes very erratic with dose changes, do you want to continue with this dose, or do you want to see if you can get him any lower, safely? (Don't you just love it when we throw it back in your lap?) With him it seems to require lots of checking since his levels go haywire for a while.
After 7 days he finally hit some perfect greens on that dose, but then stopped. :?BJM said:...With a tendancy to become erratic, doing the "fat" or "drop" increase may work better, if you can be consistent in measuring it. Also, he's made it down to the 80s at times on 1.5 units, so a 0.25 unit increase could get him into hypo territory.
To dose as consistently as possible using the drop method, take an empty syringe and fill to 0.5 units with water. Carefully squeeze out 1 drop at a time (try twisting the barrel of the syringe), until you can get the same number of drops consistently. Practice to literally "get the feel" of it and develop some muscle memory.
Look at that BJM, 12-14 days later another perfect green surf on the same dose out of nowhere.BJM said:...Also, he's made it down to the 80s at times on 1.5 units, so a 0.25 unit increase could get him into hypo territory.
We changed the L and started over. :smile:Dale 'n' Chip said:...Do you think such a pattern might suggest 1.5U is too high?
If I were to reduce the dose, would I want to take the elevator down to 1.0U, without stopping on any other floors first, and then hold for 7-14 days? :?