6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +6 67 PMPS 97 +1 97 +2.5 77 +5 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bruce & Simon

Member Since 2011
G'Morning Everyone

Yesterday

DX Hyperthyroid <boo> :-x

Synopsis
AMPS 281 1.00 U
+2 221
+5 73
+6 73
+7 86
PMPS 272 1.00 U
+2 309
+4 243
AMPS 143

I've listed below some of the results of Simon's bloodwork. There's tons more, but as I got a print-out (not an email) I'm only typing the out of range ones. He's been put on 2.5mg Tapazole BID. He'll be retested "4 hours after the morning dose in 1 month" (not 2 weeks).
This is the Wellness Feline Geriatric Panel with T4, which also states "The New Reference Interval Is Based On Data From An Updated Clinical Study".

Result Low/High
Total T4 79.1 10/60
Alkaline Phosphatase 110 10/85
Alanine Transaminase 121 5/110
Urea 15.9* 5/13

*Creatine was well within parameters (result 101, high/low 50-177)


Have a great day everybody!
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 Bloodwork#s

The elevated alanine phosphatase level probably reflects Simon's hyper-T and/or diabetes. ALT levels are frequently elevated with hyper-T in cats, as well. As far as the urea, I think Linda's observations yesterday about hyper-T and kidney issues are well taken. Once Simon's thyroid values are under control, getting new labs and/or a renal panel, will let you know if the hyper-T is masking any kidney problem.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 Bloodwork#s

Thanks Sienne, that's how I read it too. I'm cautiously optimisitic.
If urea levels are high yet creatinine is normal or only a little elevated, it usually means that the cat is dehydrated, has gastro-intestinal bleeding, or is eating a high protein diet. (my italics)
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 Bloodwork# +3 71

I might have been inclined to start at 2.5 mg once daily for two weeks, to lessen the possibility of side effects occurring. Anyway, monitor him closely. The elevated urea may be insignificant, as Sienne mentioned, or may be a hint of some underlying renal issues. How is his potassium?

http://maxshouse.com/Hyperthyroidism_in_Cats.htm
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 Bloodwork# +3 71

Linda and Bear Man said:
I might have been inclined to start at 2.5 mg once daily for two weeks, to lessen the possibility of side effects occurring. Anyway, monitor him closely. The elevated urea may be insignificant, as Sienne mentioned, or may be a hint of some underlying renal issues. How is his potassium?

http://maxshouse.com/Hyperthyroidism_in_Cats.htm
Potassium was 5.2 high/low 3.7/5.8. Another reading in the results was Sodium/Potassium.... Result of 30 with a high/low of 25/40
I'll definitely be watching closely.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 Bloodwork# +3 71 +4 70

Any suggestions for a back-up meter? I use the One Touch Ultra, but I was considering one of the ones
that require less blood, like the Accu-Chek Aviva or Ascensia Contour, and keep the Ultra as b/u. I'm going
to need strips soon, so now would be a good time.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 Bloodwork# +3 71 +4 70 +6 67

i use the freestyle lite and really love it - tiny, tiny bit of blood for the sample, plus it gives you about a minute to get more on the strip if you don't have enough at first.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 Bloodwork# +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71

DO NOT get the Accu-Chek Aviva if you're looking for a meter that requires less blood. That's the one I use and I sometimes go through four strips trying to get enough of a blood drop for it to give me a reading. The ReliOn (Walmart brand) is my backup meter and the one I'm changing to on a permanent basis as soon as all the 300 strips I bought for the Aviva are used up. The ReliOn uses the tiniest bit of blood. I've never had to repoke Champ to try again with the ReliOn. Plus, Aviva strips are EXPENSIVE and the ReliOn strips are uber cheap, especially if you have a Sam's Club. You can buy from Sam's Club pharmacy even if you don't have a membership to Sam's Club. And the ReliOn meter is only $9.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 Bloodwork# +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71

Thanks folks. I found a "buy 100 strips get the meter free" coupon for the Freestyle but it expired Dec.31 :evil:
And unfortunately I'm pretty sure Walmart Canada don't have the Relion (I'll recheck) and they closed all
the Sam's clubs here in the Great White North.... and I'll avoid the Aviva.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84

Wow... Simon's been green all day - PMPS 84! I was a bit nervous shooting this AMPS 143!
I think I'll test again in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

That's fine, Bruce. Do you have plenty of test strips and HC food, and will you be able to monitor?

Often when you shoot a low PS, they will surf along without a big drop. You will see it said to "shoot low to stay low." I understand the lower PS making you nervous...you would never want to shoot such a low number with a harsher insulin! But if you look at Tinkles' SS, you'll see I shoot PSs like this (and lower) all the time. Granted, I know how my cat will react, but as long as you monitor and have HC food, this is a good opportunity to shoot lower and gather data.

How would a number around 100 sound?
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

Thanks Laurie.
Supplies are OK. Lots of strips, just 1-5.5oz can of hc (with gravy) food. HC treats, and honey.
Meter readings PMPS 6:11pm 84
6:44pm 83
The rascal's still surfing, he must be enjoying it ;-)
And typical, he's picked now to be obstinate about the pokes, as he's expecting dinner (which I've withheld).
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

Actually....rethinking a bit, he's still within the first 5 days....it's probably better to wait until he's higher, closer to 120. The shed may not be full yet.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

:razz: Oh, he really likes Lantus. He isn't going to let you ease into shooting low! :lol:

Will stalling make a mess of your schedule? How long can you hold off and be able to shoot 12 hours from then?
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

I see what you mean, not a lot of data to go on. Must admit I'd be more comfortable with 120.
I understand the reasoning, and the whole point of this switch was to get him in the comfort
zone for as many hours of the day as possible. I'll test again soon.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

Oops, messages crossed :-D
It's not the 12 hours from whenever I shoot I'm worried about :lol:
It's the twelve hours between... which are of course overnight. But I don't want to miss a shot,
and from what I've read, he's doing real well on this dose, so reducing it wouldn't be advised?
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

There's a trade off between stalling and shooting what we refer to as a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. Both have an impact on the shed. When you shoot late, depending on how late, it functions like a dose reduction. However, you make it up in that you are still shooting your regular amount of insulin. If you reduce the dose, you are definitely effecting the shed.

With a BCS dose, I'm lining up with Laurie in that you don't really have that much data yet to shoot this low. I'd probably be a little less conservative and suggest shooting anything over 100 but you need to do what you're comfortable with.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

He hasn't earned a reduction, so no, I wouldn't reduce. However, there is the option of shooting a reduced dose just for tonight if you would be more comfortable doing that. That is not a guarantee that he will not go low though, because of the shed....sometimes the shed "makes up" for the missing insulin so it's more like a full dose than a reduced dose....just something to keep in mind.

What do you think?
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

If he might go low anyway, I'll wait. I'll test him again now, BRB
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

You are at +13? I would shoot....I think the full dose is fine if you are comfortable with it. If you want to keep stalling, I would test in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

Gave him his full shot @ 7:40. I fed him, but he didn't eat too much (.5oz) but he's a grazer, he'll go back.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

Sounds good....I wish I could let mine graze, I have one piggie civie who would eat ALL the food....immediately....and then pukus. :roll:

Please start out with a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +4 70 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 84 Advi

Simon's always had a good appetite. In his younger days on that dry "weight control" food,
he weighed 22 pounds and would cry if he could see the bottom of the bowl through the food.

I'll get those early reads, bribing with some cooked chicken. He's had it with me :lol:
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 97 +1 97

8:42 +1 97 No change from PMPS
He apparently wants to stay green :smile:
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 97 +1 97 +2.5

Did he eat again? I know he grazes...we usually encourage small frequent feedings to encourage surfing.

No worries, looking good....just wondering.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 97 +1 97 +2.5

He's been in the kitchen a few times, but I didn't actually see him eat, and there's still some left
from what I put out for the gang of them at shot time. I think I'll put out some fresh, a different flavour.
Get some more food into him before he heads to bed.

What I'm hoping is the AM dose is gone, and the PM is taking over smoothly. I know, that's what's
supposed to happen, it's just hard to fathom for an old caninsulin hound like me :oops:

Green for 12+ hours - awesome when you see it for the first time. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +6 67 +9 71 PMPS 97 +1 97 +2.5

This dose is working great for him! It's nice to see him doing this well so quickly. :mrgreen: This is exactly what you want to see.
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +6 67 PMPS 97 +1 97 +2.5 77 +5

12:43am +5 86 Cruise control. Hardly woke up for the test :smile:
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +6 67 PMPS 97 +1 97 +2.5 77 +5

Very pretty surf! They don't get much better than this. I'm off to take a nap....looks like Simon is going to let you get some sleep. :-D
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +6 67 PMPS 97 +1 97 +2.5 77 +5

Thank you so much Laurie!
I think I may grab a +6 and if all is well, get to bed.
At least I can sleep in now that AM shot is pushed ahead :lol:
 
Re: 6/11 Simon AMPS 143 +3 71 +6 67 PMPS 97 +1 97 +2.5 77 +5

I'm happy to help, Bruce. I'm just paying it forward for all the help I've gotten here. :-D Have a good night! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top