6/11 Shiloh ~ AMPS 124, +1.75 156, +9 116, PMPS 95, +2 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shiloh & Rhonda (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Got the t/f/s a little early today so that I can try to get a +2. On the advice I got last night, I gave her 1u this morning. We will see how that does her.
 
Last edited:
Anybody's guess. The fact that her PMPS number is green and she has gone up from the skipped shots to me makes me think she was getting way too much insulin for her. I think her pancreas is working as well. I've never seen this happen since I'e been here. I'm sure it's happened but I haven't seen it. I'm glad DH got a test under his belt. Congrats to him for that.
 
I've seen this happen with other cats. You have to go up in dose until you hit that sweet spot that finally helps get control of their blood sugar. Then the cat stays in normal numbers and the pancreas begins to heal and put out a bit of insulin as well.

Then the injected dose is too big! The way a cat comes down the dosing scale is very individual. Some work their way down a quarter unit at a time. Some go down in leaps and bounds - even with skipped shots to reduce the depot. Looks like Shiloh may be the second kind. Just keep an eye out at any point if it looks like the numbers are trending up, it may signify the reductions were too large or too close together. For now, as long as she stays green like this, I'd keep the 1.0u until she goes below 50.

I read through the rest of last night's post - I wouldn't assume that a cat couldn't go into low numbers after a skipped shot. Not at all. There is the whole depot to remember - the 2.5u you shot yesterday morning will continue to influence and help control her blood sugar for as many as 6 cycles after that shot. So if you see low numbers like you did last night, I would assume you need to continue monitoring until she is stable and you are confident she won't go back under 50.

I would not just leave food and go to bed on a 51 after the previous test was in the 40's. That's just me, but i don't think that sounds safe. Cats can wobble back down after the food carbs wear off. If you absolutely HAD to leave her, I'd leave a large amount of high carb food out, but the ideal situation would be to keep monitoring until she hadn't had food for at least a couple of hours and she was still over 55 or so, even after you were sure the carbs would've worn off.
 
Julie, do you mean as long as she hits a green at some point during the day on this dose?

ETA: And I didn't ignore the rest of what you said. I just felt bad for leaving her, that I didn't know what to say.
 
I also have seen kitties take great leaps down after spending some good time in green. Sometimes it's a bit like racing in front of a speeding train and bigger reductions work. Sometimes it's too much of a decrease and you have to go up a little. I think as long as you are seeing green on the dose, I'd hold for the moment. As Julie said, that 2.5 unit dose will be influencing things for a while.

Many congrats to DH! Welcoming him to the vampire club. :cool:
 
If a cat is completely off of insulin, then no worries about them becoming hypoglycemic. We did have one member here who had a cat with a rare medical condition who became hypoglycemic even though it wasn't getting insulin. But that's unusual. If Shiloh goes off of insulin and becomes diet-controlled, then it's true you wouldn't have to worry with a 40 or 50's test. She wouldn't go hypo.

But when a cat is still on insulin, I'd assume the possibility did exist for a hypo, even after skipping a shot. When Scooter went off of insulin (5.5u) because the dry food in the house all went away, Linda had to test Scooter every half hour or so for a full day and a half before he came up over 50 and stayed up - so the last shot he had continued to push his blood sugar under 50 for a good 30 hours or more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top