6/11 - Shakes PMPS is 171!

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
ok so here is what I have learned the last couple of days....hopefully it is right

He is at 171 at 4:30, that is kind of too low to shoot, so what I am going to do
is wait 20 minutes and test again (I can afford to this time because I wouldnt mind his
shooting time to be 5pm and am.

so this way I can also see is he is still rising or holding his own...
I will make a decision at 5pm whether to shoot and what to shoot

Be back at 5pm! I know that no one is online right now, but maybe they will at 5
see you soon

nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
I am not much help-- but, I am here!

You have got the protocol correct-- wait 20 mins. And retest. DO NOT feed during this 20 mins!
 
ok I know I have to breathe, I am going to take a quick shower,
not feed him and retest in 20 minutes
be right back....
 
I went back and read your thread last night-- go back and look at the advice Joanna gave you. It looks line she covered this exact situation. From reading her comments it looks like you are looking at 2.8 to 3.15.

But, Robin said this am that she thought the 3.15 was a tad too much because it is leaving you with uncomfortable or no shoot numbers at +12.

Retest and post the number.
 
And do that breathing thing while you shower. :mrgreen: He was 110 at +9, right? So we know he is headed up. And he is in that 150 - 170 range we talked about. He is close to 180 and I think we decided if you are willing to be a little agressive, you could give 3 units. As long as you will be around for a couple hours and can check in with him. Are you okay with that dose? His long surf suggests your dose this am was a little high, but very close. And 110 is still a very safe number.

Don't forget that these are nice problems to have.
 
You were doing fine! Remember if there is no one else around, you can brainstorm with the other poster. Go back to the last posts and review the brainstorming in those posts about dose.
 
ok thanks, I did go back to what Robin said today
I retested again and he was 220 so he is going up so I fed and gave 3 units
I figured since he is going up I should be safe with 3 units....

what do you think...I have to test at +4 and +6 to make sure, right

Do you think 3 units was too much??
 
I think it was a good choice. Even though you hit the low 100s today, you were still a long ways away from danger numbers. You could have gone lower and been fine. Yes, test tonight-- but, I think you are fine.

Good thing you didn't shower any longer-- he would have hit 300!

Go have some wine -- see you about 9:30!

GREAT day for Shakes!
 
I think 3 units will be fine. But they are cats, so we just plan to test to be sure. I think a +3 and +6 would be good data. He is finally responding to the insulin, which is great. It may be that he needs this dose, or even a little higher, to get into those regulated numbers. It is also possible - because anything is possible - that the ProZinc is doing its job, the stars are aligned and his dose will bring some nice blues and greens and you will need to adjust down at some point.

Remember how frustrated you were when NOTHING was happening. Now something is. Put on your dancing shoes!
 
Thank you so much for all your help!
I am going to dinner with my huusband tonight so I will have that glass of Chianti
and be back here around 9pm...I guess I have to stay up tonight!

thanks again for letting me stress on you!
 
Wow you guys did great. Enjoy your night out.

I'd test like Sue said at +3 & +6, that will show you how this dose works for him. Good info.
 
Enjoy your night and good on ya for these good numbers today. Sorry I left before it got exciting here!
 
Hi Everyone,
great dinner and 2 glasses of wine later,
Shakes +3.75 was 226....

I am thinking because I shot late as he was starting to rise fast, he kept rising for awhile
before the insulin kicked in....any advice on that would be great...

so I am thinking that if he is at about 180 it would be safe for me to shoot 3 units.
I am going to stay up and take his +6 to see where he is going tonight

I know there was some excitement here tonight while we were out to dinner...
a darn mouse got in the house ( we live in the country!)
and my 3 cats had a party with him..incliding Shakes cause when I got home Shakes had the poor thing
cornered. which is surprising cause Jesse ususally eats them right away...
but that is a great sign for Shakes...he is being more active...but poor mouse

anyway.. hope everyone is having a nice night and I will talk to you later

Denise and SHakes
 
I would think your bg continued to rise, plus you fed him which gave you an additional increase. It is my understanding it "normally" takes about 2 hours for the insulin to start working-- so, I don't think your + 3.5 is alarming.

I bet your next test will be pleasing to you. In fact, have another glass of wine and I will assure you the bg probably won't worry you!!

You and Shakes have had a Great Day! I am happy for you!

Poor mouse!
 
Thanks Kim,

We thought the same thing...
I am not too worried about the +6 now especially cause he is only at 226
BUT I do feel so much better...now I think I would feel happy shotting a 180 at 3 units
and not worry about him going to low.
I have a better understanding after today

you have been so supportive
Thank you for all your help today
an I am so sorry that Kitty is not feeling well
I really hope she feels better soon!
Hang in there and I will talk to you later

Denise and Shakes
 
Well actually I don't think I would shoot 3u into a 180.

Here is why. At 214, 3.15 was a bit too much and gave you a questionable next PS.

Tonight you shot 3u into a 224 but it was a late shot. A late shot = a dose decrease. So that 3u was probably more like 2.8 or 2.9u. And that makes tomorrows AMPS (if you stay on schedule) an early shot. An early shot = a dose increase. So if you got an AMPS of 180 and shot 3u it would be more like 3.1 or 3.2u and you probably wouldn't get a shootable next PS again.

I think on a 180 I might go with 2.8u or something in that range depending on if you will be home or not.

Sorry I don't want to burst your bubble but you are so close.
 
dmartini4 said:
which is surprising cause Jesse ususally eats them right away...

Ewwww....that is the only thing I dislike about cats! LOL!

Glad you're getting some good numbers!
 
dmartini4 said:
I am thinking because I shot late as he was starting to rise fast, he kept rising for awhile
before the insulin kicked in....any advice on that would be great...

You got it!!! Generally on late shots you get a little less oomph from the same dose on a +12, and that's exactly why. I typically used to add 0.1 to the dose for every hour it was late. So if shot at +13 I would raise the dose 0.1 from what I would have shot at +12, if I were looking to achieve the same results. It's just ballpark though.

Like Rob said, early shots are the opposite - more or less a 0.1 reduction per hour is in order (if you are getting good nadirs on your +12 dose). For +11 shots a lot of times it doesn't matter and you don't need to reduce, but if the PS is lower than usual then you probably would want to reduce a little.

Nice nadir tonight! I would have expected it to be higher, that's really pretty good for a late shot, yay!

You and kse did a great job tonight, way to go! I know it is nerve-wracking, but as Sue said... good problems to have. Right now you are just in a place of fine-tuning. You try what seems best to you, gather data, and then refine it for the next shot. The nice part is you know that you only want to vary the dose a little bit in either direction, and you haven't had any scary lows or anything, so there is room for experimenting and data-gathering on doses in this range.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top