6/11- Shakes Mini Curve-interetsing

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
Hi Everyone! Hope all is well out there in PZI land!

we are doing well here, and have an interesting curve
Here are the numbers:

AMPS-342 (yucky)
but
+3.5 - 197
he at at +4.5
+5.5- 143
now the interesting part is at +9 he is 101

Not sure I understand except maybe he went very low at maybe +4??
Could he be going to low which is why he got the 342 this moring
and he was 303 last night preshot

Not really sure, I cant wait until 4:30 to see what he is going to throw me!

Thank you all so much for all the advice last night. It is so helpful..
and thanks for the offer of a phone number to call but I could never call anyone at 4:30am

Denise and Shakes
 
I wish I could help you, because I am an early riser-- but, I would be little help.

Today looks great to me! I am betting Robin and Joanna will think this is a little liver training with the higher preshots. It seems like +4 would be a quick nadir. And, once you see their response-- you will probably see why you don't need to call me!

I hope today continues to be good!
 
Thanks, but what do you mean by little liver training
Have not heard that expression yet...
or if I have probably forgot
Too much for me to remember everything....getting old!
 
Well, let me give it my best attempt!

The liver produces gluc... Something-- that raises bgs. When a cat gets in lower bg numbers than they are used to having, the liver panics and releases this chemical. The cat is no where near hypo-- but, the Glucose levels are so much lower than what they have been-- that the liver reacts to protect the cat. This could happen with a cat that has been in the 300s that suddenly is in the 100s.

Okay, I feel like I just tried to bs my way through a high school biology test-- but, I hope you follow the concept.

Someone else will explain it better.

It might not be what is happening-- but, it appears possible.
 
LOL!!
thank you and that was a great explanation!
I understand fully, which is surprising for me!
 
Kim, you're not bs'ing your way through, that's exactly how it works.

Denise, It looks like the bounce from the other day has cleared and you are going to have a similar day. Your PMPS will probably be lowish so you will reduce the dose. You don't want to skip any shots at this point. You could keep testing for a rising shootable # but then you get off schedule which you can deal with on a weekend but you get the drift.

I'm going to stick with my original thought that the 3.15u is a tich to much insulin, I'd like to see you start getting more shootable PS's so you don't have to try to figure out what to do at 4am by yourself. So I'd pull back the dose on anything over 200 to 3 units.

Believe it or not this is a good thing!!
 
OK thanks Robin..
now if he is in the 100's, what do you think I should shoot?
maybe 2.5?....or more or less??
 
Great job kse you said it better than I could! I think the thing is maybe glucagon (?) but honestly the term doesn't stick for me, so that might be wrong.

Denise, I'm confused why you would think the curve today suggests a low at +4? If he were low then, I would expect the #s to have gone up after that....?

This actually looks super-nice to me. The nadir is a little on the late side, which can come from the dose being a hair too high, like Rob said.

Since this shot tonight is a little late though, the effect might be lowered, so I don't know if you will see good #s on this cycle or not.

I think it is fine to play around in doses in the 3 range. I wouldn't lower much more than that, and I probably wouldn't raise over 3.15 at least for the moment. You might need a fat 3 - I'd just do a little experimenting and see how the #s look. I wouldn't be afraid of 3.15 though - no scary low #s or anything like that, and it is nice to see the blues. I agree with Rob though ideally you want things kind of even so you are not having to do late shots, and ranging from blue PS one cycle to pink in another, etc. As long as you don't overreduce and lose ground, I think you are good to go!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top