Re: 6/11 - Oliver - Skipped shot. Wondering about his diabet
A little history on Oliver.
During the last few months of 2013, Oliver started to throw up fairly regularly and he began to slowly lose weight. The vomiting wasn't an every day occurrence and the weight loss wasn't dramatic, so the whole thing kind of crept up on me. Then, in January, he threw up blood. By this time, I had realized that he was losing weight and the blood freaked me out. I took him to the Pet ER and he was admitted to the hospital for 3 days. They did x-rays, an ultra-sound and multiple blood tests. There was no sign of diabetes at this time. The x-rays and ultrasound revealed a shadow near his pancreas and the final diagnosis was IBD, lymphoma, or possibly pancreatitis.
Oliver was put on 5 mg. of prednisolone twice a day and then, two weeks later, the dose was lowered to 5 mg. once a day. He has had no vomiting episodes since he started on the pred. (except for the occasional hairball.)
When I took him in for a routine check-up in April, the vet found diabetes. (His BG was over 400.) However, when they checked his fructosamine, it was not as high as the vet expected. Speculation was that this was prednisone induced diabetes, so she lowered his dose to 2.5 mg. once a day and told me to feed him only canned food. (She did not specify low carb food, so I feed him some "bad" food during this month.) I took him back a month later and his BG was still above 400. His fructosamine was marginally better but was still above high normal. That is when the vet put him on 2U of insulin twice a day.
I have had problems with this since I started the insulin because of my fear of hypoglycemia. After I started the insulin, I talked my vet into lowering the pred. to 1.25 mg. once a day. I also talked her into lowering the insulin to 1U twice a day. Then I found this web site and began feeding him low carb canned food.
Here is what I am wondering about. Is it possible that Oliver's diabetes was prednisone induced and that the lower pred. doses and the small amounts of insulin that I am giving him are allowing his pancreas to recover? His readings just seem off to me. I skipped his shot this morning and his BG has been dropping since I started checking this morning. The reading I just took (+4) was 97 and I took it about 15 minutes after he ate half a can of FF. I have to confess that I skipped his pred. last night and maybe that is why his BG is so low today. However, I have skipped it before and I haven't seen this effect.
Does anyone have any thoughts or advice on this? Is it possible that Oliver is going into remission with the lowered doses of insulin and pred?