6/11 Mouzer pmbg +6 377

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherryl & Mouzer

Member Since 2017
Mouzer's Last Night's Events

amps 538 :eek: 1.25u
+3 343
+6 248
+7 313
pmps 416 1.25u
+1 416
+1.5 373
+2 398
+2.5 324
+3.25 330
+4 332
+5 337 :(
+6 377

Even though Mouzer's amps was higher than he has ever gone, and the +3 showing pink, his +6 has dropped to yellow, close to where he was yesterday. I am going to hurry to get some things done and get a +9 and at least a +11, so I can see if he is doing a yesterday, other than the amps and +3 being higher today.

Maybe I should try to get a +7 and +8 too - to see if he drops to blue, where yesterday he was blue at +9 and I dont know when he got there, in between +6 and +9, even though there is not a real big difference in the numbers at +6 and +9, just enough to bring him to blue. I have things bulked up for other kitties at mom's place, where I can run over there at some point, real fast, and get back.

Edit: ok +7 went up but I am not trusting Mouzer just yet. He is not really with readings I can dictate.
 
Last edited:
Hi Cherryl

Sorry no one saw your question earlier. You’ve been doing a great job at getting tests in!! :):)

What we usually suggest in this insulin support group is that if you get 150 or lower at shot time, do not feed him, post and ask for assistance. An experienced member can walk you through the options which might include:

  • stalling without food for 30 minutes to see if numbers rise on their own
  • shooting a reduced dose
  • skipping
  • shooting an 18 hour schedule
Here are some pros/cons of each:
Stalling without food: In a normal cycle, you would see numbers eventually rise at the end of the cycle as the duration of the insulin wanes. Stalling allows you to see if the number you got at PS is still a dropping number (maybe he’s clearing a bounce) or if it is a lantus second dip which can be common in some cats. We don’t feed because it could falsely raise numbers at the end of the cycle when duration is waning. We sometimes will stall up to two hours if you can get back on schedule in 15 min/cycle or 30 min/day increments. Of course, that leaves kitty hungry.
  • Pro: it allows you to get the full dose in the kitty as soon as you catch the rise (you want to keep testing every 20-30 mins so you can shoot when you see the rise). We don’t normally stall and shoot a reduced dose as well.
  • Con: some cats will just continue to drop to the point where you can’t safely shoot; if you have data on handling low numbers and kitty is above 50 for TR or 90 for SLGS, it’s often best to shoot and immediately get some food in them to stop numbers from dropping any further. If the PS is in the lower range but above 50 (TR) or 90 (SLGS), sometimes it's a good idea to feed a MC food when you shoot so numbers are a bit higher at onset.
Shooting a reduced dose: If you want to get insulin into the kitty but are not comfortable stalling because of a time issue, then you can shoot a reduced dose. You can either shoot 1/3 less, or if you are really :nailbiting:, you can shoot a half dose.
  • Pro: it allows you to get insulin in the kitty on time
  • Con: because of the depot, you are likely to still see the same type of cycle as you would if you shot the full dose.....at least in the early to mid part of the cycle. In some cats, the effects of a reduced dose are not seen until the next cycle or even not at all.
Skipping: for whatever reason, you decide you need to skip the shot (either number is too low, it’s dropping, you can’t monitor, etc.)
  • Pro: everyone gets a cycle off and then you can start over the next cycle and can even adjust your shot time if you wish to do so.
  • Con: numbers are likely to go fairly high the next cycle but it depends on the cat, how well regulated he/she is, whether there is also a bounce (like today for Mouzer), etc. As in shooting a reduced dose, you can’t get complacent and think he won’t drop during the cycle. He still could so you have to test.
Shooting an 18 hour schedule: this can be beneficial for some especially if there are reasons they need to be away from the house but don’t want to skip two shots
  • Pro: it keeps the depot from totally depleting but allows you to get back on your regular shot time easily.
  • Con: you will likely see some elevation in the numbers; IMHO, this is a good option if you have to be away at a couple regular shot times. If you just are worried about shooting one low number, it’s best to just skip that shot if need be and then shoot at the next PS.
Please let me know if you have questions. However....again..an important point is that with all the options above, you cannot get complacent about testing. The depot can still leave you with a very active cycle if that’s what it was going to be anyway.
 
Last edited:
Hi Cherryl

Sorry no one saw your question earlier. You’ve been doing a great job at getting tests in!! :):)

A kitty person has done some answering, in last night's thread - but this is all information I need - to make decisions. Thank you for taking time to put all of this in, so I can read and study and fill my brain up more hahaha

Last night, you mean at pmps, when I did wait/stall for 30 minutes, and I did not do a shot - I should not have fed Mouzer his evening meal? And if that is the case, would it have been ok to give him a teaspoonful to tide him over for a bit? And if past the 30 minutes and still stalling, are you saying a shot could still eventually be given, after the 30 minutes? But then with doing that, I would work my way back to time, next morning, by 15 minute increments, per shot? Or can it even be by 30 minute increments, to move it back faster?

I do have to ask - Each shot time is a new cycle - I think I am a little confused haha So, I think it is I am trying to learn how many cycles in Mouzer's bounce but it appears they bounce a lot, so I really am confused on this one. I need to go back and re-read what you have said, so I can be sure I know what question I am asking here.

Anytime something like this comes up, I would be sure to be around to monitor - or I would just skip the shot but still I would monitor, like I did last night, and I did it because I was wanting to be able and document the rise - so I can learn from it. If this took place in the morning/day hours and I had an appointment, I guess I would have to skip the shot. That is a lot of decisions to make there - to shoot or not to shoot, to shoot lower dose or to do 18 hour shoot - so, I probably will need help knowing how to make these decisions, when the time comes.

I did hate skipping last night's shot because I knew today's highs and goofy readings through the day - with higher numbers - was to come. I was with the impression, if I did not do the shot by 30 minutes past shot time, I had to wait til morning shot time. But it appears I could have given it upon rise? And just work with getting back to shot time, with following shot times.

He has a high pmps and +1 for tonight and I am now monitoring to try to see when the shot starts working - the onset - if I have that correct in my mind now. I do see now why it is suggested to have a back up monitor - like last night, if I would have decided to shoot and the monitor broke or something and the need to monitor.

I have been trying hard to get in readings, so I can learn from them, if I can learn what they mean for a when of what takes place or is taking place. I sure hope Mouzer gets regulated and doesnt end up being a cat who never gets regulated.

OH! I have another question and it is about Zobaline. The Zobaline is 3mg and the bottle says one or two pills a day. I have been giving one pill a day, because I wasnt sure about the two. Would it help Mouzer more if I did give the two pills a day - like one in the morning and one in the evening? Or would this not help him because he is not regulated yet?

And yet another question - I just remembered - In past, not from this message board but while I was still seeking for people who knew what this was all about - Someone told me that Lantus doesnt work for 12/12 and it should be as 10/10, and something to do with a 10/10 overlapping, so there is no rise, as Lantus does not hold out for the 12/12.
I dont like 10/10 because that means you are changing times every day and your life would have more interruptions - or so I think -- but have you ever heard this before?

I will check back for whenever you get time to respond but no rush. This is not an emergency but it sure will help me in the future and I appreciate it.

**Oh Cool! I just got this to print as pdf to save just the upper pages 1-3 - just enough to get in the information you provided. I save as pdf a lot but I never tried to just get what exactly I need and have saved whole long stuff and then have to dig for it.
 
Last edited:
A kitty person has done some answering, in last night's thread - but this is all information I need - to make decisions. Thank you for taking time to put all of this in, so I can read and study and fill my brain up more hahaha
You’re very welcome and Gill gave you some good info.

Last night, you mean at pmps, when I did wait/stall for 30 minutes, and I did not do a shot - I should not have fed Mouzer his evening meal? And if that is the case, would it have been ok to give him a teaspoonful to tide him over for a bit? And if past the 30 minutes and still stalling, are you saying a shot could still eventually be given, after the 30 minutes? But then with doing that, I would work my way back to time, next morning, by 15 minute increments, per shot? Or can it even be by 30 minute increments, to move it back faster?
Correct..you wouldn’t feed until you decided whether you were going to shoot or not. Once you decided to skip, that’s when you could have fed him. When we are stalling, we usually don’t feed them even a tiny bit (unless they aren’t coming up out of the 40s while you stall). You want to be sure you are not shooting a food influenced number. Yes, we’ve had many members stall up to two hours, checking every 30 minutes for the rise.

Yes, if you stall, you work back to your regular time in 15 mins each cycle or 30 mins once a day. Sometimes if they bounce hard, like he did today, and you are making up time, you can shoot an hour early. If you want more info on this, you can read this post on Getting Back on Schedule.

I do have to ask - Each shot time is a new cycle - I think I am a little confused haha So, I think it is I am trying to learn how many cycles in Mouzer's bounce but it appears they bounce a lot, so I really am confused on this one. I need to go back and re-read what you have said, so I can be sure I know what question I am asking here.
Each day is composed of two-12 hour cycles. The first one begins with the AMPS/AMBG and the second with the PMPS/PMBG. If we say he’s bounced three cycles, then that is three 12-hour periods. Does that make more sense?

That is a lot of decisions to make there - to shoot or not to shoot, to shoot lower dose or to do 18 hour shoot - so, I probably will need help knowing how to make these decisions, when the time comes.
If you post as Gill suggested with a very catchy subject line such as “Need Help Shooting First Low BG” or something like that, someone should see it (hopefully). We’ve been a little short manned lately. That person can help you decide which option might be best for that specific timeframe.

do see now why it is suggested to have a back up monitor - like last night, if I would have decided to shoot and the monitor broke or something and the need to monitor.
Always good to have a backup meter. In our early days, I was so exhausted after a PJ party that I accidentally put my glucometer in the microwave, instead of the rice sock. Needless to say, even though I realized it quickly, it was “toast” :p:p I had to run out at 7 a.m. and find a pharmacy open.

OH! I have another question and it is about Zobaline. The Zobaline is 3mg and the bottle says one or two pills a day. I have been giving one pill a day, because I wasnt sure about the two. Would it help Mouzer more if I did give the two pills a day - like one in the morning and one in the evening? Or would this not help him because he is not regulated yet?
My Gracie never had neuropathy but I believe I’ve read you can give up to 10 mg a day. He will pee out any excess. The Zobaline plus getting better regulated is what helps the neuropathy so, yes, you’ll want to give it but you need to up the dose.

And yet another question - I just remembered - In past, not from this message board but while I was still seeking for people who knew what this was all about - Someone told me that Lantus doesnt work for 12/12 and it should be as 10/10, and something to do with a 10/10 overlapping, so there is no rise, as Lantus does not hold out for the 12/12.
Lantus does work 12/12 and many cats get plenty of duration out of it...some even longer than 12 hours. There are some other boards where they shoot every 10 hours but what they said is contradictory. If they are aiming for overlap by shooting every 12 hours, that means that the first shot still has duration as the second starts. In other words, they are trying to use overlap to the numbers from coming up towards the end of the cycle; by shooting at +10, by the time that shot onsets, it is 12 hours since the earlier shot instead of 14 hours (12 hours + 2 hours to onset).

The problem with shooting 10/10 is you are basically shooting around the clock. We use 12/12 here because the insulin lasts but also because it makes life easier for the caregiver. As you already noted, it’s very disruptive to your life to be shooting around the clock and never having the same shot time. Good observation.

Good questions, too.:)
 
Yes, we’ve had many members stall up to two hours, checking every 30 minutes for the rise.

Mouzer appeared to rise at +4 - which was actually +16 as far as how many hours past a shot -
So, this is where I would have had to make a decision of no shoot, shoot lower, shoot full - and to shoot any, means stay for monitoring - which I could have done last night just because I was so already up and into what was going on and trying to learn from it, I couldnt sleep haha


Yes, if you stall, you work back to your regular time in 15 mins each cycle or 30 mins once a day. Sometimes if they bounce hard, like he did today, and you are making up time, you can shoot an hour early. If you want more info on this, you can read this post on Getting Back on Schedule.

I see! So, the 30 minutes is only in one day, regardless if done 15 twice or 30 once - there is no 30 minutes at first shot and another 30 minutes at second shot.
LOL Lantus is strict :D

And from this - from the link you gave -
Option C: if, as a bounce initiates, the BG has risen very quickly by +11 from the time you shot (in this example, you shot at 9 so +11 would be 8), you might be able to shoot at +11 which will allow you to make up one of the two hours and then use Option A or Option B to make up the rest of the time.

I could have given Mouzer a shot an hour earlier this morning? Or actually, I guess I could have, because I skipped shot, it would have been just to give it an hour early, and then work the process to get him to the hour later, by the 15 minutes each shot or 30 minutes in one day.
Dang!! I did not even think of this! And he got to the black this morning :(


Each day is composed of two-12 hour cycles. The first one begins with the AMPS/AMBG and the second with the PMPS/PMBG. If we say he’s bounced three cycles, then that is three 12-hour periods. Does that make more sense?

That makes sense -- And once a bounce has been declared, is that when we then start over with a cycle count - to see next bounce and how many cycles for the bounce.
I dont think I am ever going to learn this one. For bounce - is it that we start from blue and then see red - that is a bounce?
Like Mouzer went from the blue/green/blue to yellow to black (that is my fault due to no shot) but is that a bounce?
And then from black and first shot, after a no shot - to all of these high numbers I am seeing now - we are within a new bounce going on?


Always good to have a backup meter. In our early days, I was so exhausted after a PJ party that I accidentally put my glucometer in the microwave, instead of the rice sock. Needless to say, even though I realized it quickly, it was “toast” :p:p I had to run out at 7 a.m. and find a pharmacy open.

OK - That one is a wild story haha To microwave the monitor. Just my luck the microwave would have blown up haha
And this was a push, I just ordered the second monitor hahaha


My Gracie never had neuropathy but I believe I’ve read you can give up to 10 mg a day. He will pee out any excess. The Zobaline plus getting better regulated is what helps the neuropathy so, yes, you’ll want to give it but you need to up the dose.

The pills are 3mg each and the bottle says one or two a day - but if 10mg in a day - I should give three pills a day to be 9mg in a day?
Just making sure I know this is how to do this and so to give one and a half pill in the am and another pill and half in the pm.


The problem with shooting 10/10 is you are basically shooting around the clock. We use 12/12 here because the insulin lasts but also because it makes life easier for the caregiver. As you already noted, it’s very disruptive to your life to be shooting around the clock and never having the same shot time. Good observation.

heehee You can leave it to me to observe that something is going to be a whole boat load of more work hahaha And to try to keep up with when 10/10 is. You know, that could be very easily mixed up, with trying to keep up with shot at 6am, shot at 4pm, shot at 2am, shot at 12pm, so on and so forth - you could very well totally mess up and give a shot more than you intended, just due to schedules for work and things you have to do, I would think.

And I want to make mention that Mouzer is not yet coming down in numbers after pm shot tonight. He is +3.25 330 - It appears I have really messed him up this time. And all because I am scared to shoot lower than at 130 - even the 130 is scary to me that I am not ready to do a shot. I think I feel safe giving a shot more up like at 170. I have got to get over this fear, for Mouzer's sake. I am trying to stay up to see if he goes down, to show me when the shot has began to work for him, but this isnt happening yet.
 
Last edited:
Mouzer appeared to rise at +4 - which was actually +16 as far as how many hours past a shot -
So, this is where I would have had to make a decision of no shoot, shoot lower, shoot full - and to shoot any, means stay for monitoring - which I could have done last night just because I was so already up and into what was going on and trying to learn from it, I couldnt sleep haha
The reason he started a rise then was because he ran out of duration and his depot didn’t carry him very far. Sometimes that happens, sometimes it takes longer. But it is a good illustration of how important it is to stay vigilant even if you skip, stall, or shoot a reduced dose. Actually, I can’t think of any time in seven years that I’ve seen someone shoot after stalling for four hours. It’s not that you “can’t”. It just makes getting back on track really hard. I have seen people stall and shoot at +18 and then just do two 18-hour cycles. I don’t think that is the best solution in a situation like this; I think it was best, once you committed to skipping, to just let it go for the rest of the cycle and get back on track today.

That makes sense -- And once a bounce has been declared, is that when we then start over with a cycle count - to see next bounce and how many cycles for the bounce.
Nope. The cycles are the cycles....they don’t change. Let’s say he starts a bounce at +6 of a p.m. cycle. Then he bounces all day the next day and clears the morning of the day after. That would mean he has bounced three cycles (the one where he started and the two 12-hour cycles the next day). Does that help? You don’t really “start over” with a cycle count when you are counting bounce cycles. You just start counting the cycle they start the bounce and count them until he clears.

Starting over a cycle count is what you do when you skip, stall, or shoot a reduced dose. For example, he had been on 1.25u for 7 cycles when you skipped. As you correctly have shown on the SS, this morning, the cycle count for the 1.25u started over.

I dont think I am ever going to learn this one. For bounce - is it that we start from blue and then see red - that is a bounce?
Like Mouzer went from the blue/green/blue to yellow to black (that is my fault due to no shot) but is that a bounce?
And then from black and first shot, after a no shot - to all of these high numbers I am seeing now - we are within a new bounce going on?
Yes and no. He is bouncing but he also has the added issue of no insulin and so that makes the bounce seem higher. He might not have bounced into black if he had had insulin last night. I’m not being critical about you not shooting....it happens all the time with the first mid blue number and that’s fine. But he might have just bounced into pink or red because he didn’t really get that low and he didn’t drop fast. For counting a bounce, I’d probably start with this morning’s cycle because last night just looks to me like loss of duration when his depot was done.

I should give three pills a day to be 9mg in a day?
I think that is easiest, yes.

And I want to make mention that Mouzer is not yet coming down in numbers after pm shot tonight. He is +3.25 330 - It appears I have really messed him up this time. And all because I am scared to shoot lower than at 130 - even the 130 is scary to me that I am not ready to do a shot. I think I feel safe giving a shot more up like at 170. I have got to get over this fear, for Mouzer's sake. I am trying to stay up to see if he goes down, to show me when the shot has began to work for him, but this isnt happening yet.
Try not to worry. It happens all the time. Just think of it as if you gave a fur shot ;) which also happens all the time. He will come back down (they always do) so you haven’t messed him up.

Truthfully, in most cases, skipping, shooting a reduced dose, or stalling are more for the CG than the cat. There are a few exceptions but by and large, it’s just what we have to do until we feel comfortable, build data, and learn to shoot lower. We all go through it. We really try to have someone stay with you (even if it is all night) the first time you shoot a lower number (even if it’s 130). If someone advises you that it’s ok to shoot, that person is responsible to either stay with you or arrange for someone else to.

I was certain I would never, ever shoot below 150. Ever. But it was only a couple of weeks until I had the chance and I did it. Then I shot a little lower and then little lower. Next thing you know, I was shooting everything about 50 (we did TR). That’s how it happens most of the time. So you are right with the rest of us with your feelings and learning to shoot lower.
 
Then he bounces all day the next day and clears the morning of the day after. That would mean he has bounced three cycles (the one where he started and the two 12-hour cycles the next day). Does that help? You don’t really “start over” with a cycle count when you are counting bounce cycles. You just start counting the cycle they start the bounce and count them until he clears.

OK - So, my reasoning for doing my SS as cy-1, cy-2, cy-3 - etc... in my personal counting - Is that I am trying to learn to recognize a bounce and how many cycles the bounce goes through, but it is always still cycle 1 and cycle 2 - and next day is cycle 1 and cycle 2 - I got it!


Starting over a cycle count is what you do when you skip, stall, or shoot a reduced dose. For example, he had been on 1.25u for 7 cycles when you skipped. As you correctly have shown on the SS, this morning, the cycle count for the 1.25u started over.

And the only reason I have it correctly shown on the SS is because I just learned it from you, in our conversation, and fixed it :D


Yes and no. He is bouncing but he also has the added issue of no insulin and so that makes the bounce seem higher. He might not have bounced into black if he had had insulin last night. I’m not being critical about you not shooting....it happens all the time with the first mid blue number and that’s fine. But he might have just bounced into pink or red because he didn’t really get that low and he didn’t drop fast. For counting a bounce, I’d probably start with this morning’s cycle because last night just looks to me like loss of duration when his depot was done.

You dont have to be critical of me anyhow haha I am over here beating myself up pretty good, all by myself hahaha
This isnt really the first mid blue - I skipped a shot the first darn week of doing the SS because he was at 156, then went to 184 and I was too scared.


I think that is easiest, yes.

Ok - Got the Zobaline thing understood. I wish it was all this easy to understand :)


Try not to worry. It happens all the time. Just think of it as if you gave a fur shot ;) which also happens all the time. He will come back down (they always do) so you haven’t messed him up.

I worry so much about giving fur shots because Mouzer is still rather high on the numbers and I feel like he cant afford for me to do fur shots. I dont know if I have done them yet but when I see his numbers not going down, like tonight, I worry I gave a fur shot --- And I really was careful to try to make sure he got this pm shot because of missing last night but his numbers staying up like they are, have me wondering about myself and the shot and fur shot or did I get the shot to him or not.


I was certain I would never, ever shoot below 150. Ever. But it was only a couple of weeks until I had the chance and I did it. Then I shot a little lower and then little lower. Next thing you know, I was shooting everything about 50 (we did TR). That’s how it happens most of the time. So you are right with the rest of us with your feelings and learning to shoot lower.

I hope I get the nerve and when I do, I hope it doesnt do something to freak me out and make me scared again. When I read around in the board and see some of the people doing the shots and then worrying and freaking out and doing the tsp of lc and a couple of them went to the karo or honey -- It freaks me out to read what they are going through, as if I am right there with them - and it is even the past that I am reading and freaking out with them over hahaha

And I dont see Mouzer to come down off of this darn pink number he is stuck in tonight. I even have coffee, trying to stay awake to see if he starts coming down. I feel so disappointed.

Edit now after +5 and still yuk pink. I am going to stay up til the +6 but I can see he is staying pink, so I will go on to bed after that and just do normal 6am shot and hope for better tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
pmbg +6 377

I am beyond sad. I even bowed my head, petted the top of Mouzer's head, told him I am sorry and I got tears in my eyes and just sad.
I am going to bed. I hope he doesnt get to any darn black again in the morning and I hope this will look better tomorrow.
Just sad *hangs head and goes on to bed*
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Morning Cheryl(,well for me anyway)

Get some rest while he's running high he'll get back on track, they always do, and when he does it'll be easier on you if you are rested.

Don't be hard on yourself:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
OK - So, my reasoning for doing my SS as cy-1, cy-2, cy-3 - etc... in my personal counting - Is that I am trying to learn to recognize a bounce and how many cycles the bounce goes through, but it is always still cycle 1 and cycle 2 - and next day is cycle 1 and cycle 2 - I got it!
Yes, there are two cycles each day...cycle 1 and cycle 2. If a bounce lasts two days, that's four cycles.

I worry so much about giving fur shots because Mouzer is still rather high on the numbers and I feel like he cant afford for me to do fur shots
You can usually smell the insulin if you give a fur shot. It smells like bandaids. You can also check his fur and see if it is damp.

If he is still flat pink or higher at +11, you can shoot that hour early to get back on track.

Remember that, while any data you can get is good, you only have to do the 12 hour (testing every two hours) or the 18 hour curve (testing every three hours) once a week.
 
Last edited:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Morning Cheryl(,well for me anyway)

Get some rest while he's running high he'll get back on track, they always do, and when he does it'll be easier on you if you are rested.

Don't be hard on yourself:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you for the consolation. Mouzer didnt go up so high, like I thought he would. Or well, he wasnt high at amps and +3, so I can only assume maybe he didnt get up to the red and black from the pmps to +6 last night. Today looks a little hopeful but you know he can always decide to throw a red in there just to keep me in fret hahaha And then he could always decide to go green to freak me out too :D


You can usually smell the insulin if you give a fur shot. It smells like bandaids. You can also check his fur and see if it is damp.

If he is still flat pink or higher at +11, you can shoot that hour early to get back on track.

Remember that, while any data you can get is good, you only have to do the 12 hour (testing every two hours) or the 18 hour curve (testing every three hours) once a week.

I have never smelled bandaids and not felt wet fur yet, so maybe I have been lucky. I had read to not do shot in the scruff, unlike the vet had said. I read to do them in the side. I forget where I read it. The one part about not doing in the scruff was saying lumps appeared and when they moved to the side, the lumps eventually went away out of the scruff and no lumps in the side and also was said that in the side, it gets to their system faster or better or something, than in the scruff. So, I have still done some in the scruff because the side is harder to get a good angle sometimes, so I can know I didnt do a fur shot - but I have been trying to get the side, as much as I can.

I ended up just waiting til the normal time, for this morning shot, because I didnt want to do a wrong thing.

And I am laughing on the once a week curves. I couldnt get curves and now I have set out to kill myself to get them haha I have been rushing off, to do what I do, making myself get back by three hours and then going back to finish what I was doing, which is taking twice the gas, but I want to get Mouzer regulated and this is the only way I see it might be possible -- to get as much data as I can for maybe a couple of months - I am hoping anyhow - and then back off to relax a little - uummm as long as he dont freak me out with low greens or somethin. I think I feel better to have him run 130 to 150 and not go any lower. I do have one kitty with 150, that is not diabetic - but he has to have depo-medrol and that is why he is at 150 and under watch, to make sure it doesnt go to 200.

But maybe to give me a rest and save on test strips, because they are costing me, I will back off to do the once a week 18 hour curve. That 18 hour curve is better for me, even though I do have to go back and finish up, it at least gives me the time out, the first time, to get stuff done and get back for third hour. And I have thought, if Mouzer goes low and I cant leave him, I might have to take him with me, just so I can do the monitor watch. I am trying not to have to do that, so not to upset him, but if worse came to worse, I would have to do it. Who knows, maybe taking him with me and the upset could cause numbers to rise haha
 
@Cherryl & Mouzer Just a quick note since I don't see a condo for today yet and I've got some errands to run.

It's fine to shoot in the scruff but, yes, you are right that he can develop little fatty deposits that can then affect the duration. Some members only shoot in the scruff because their cat won't let them shoot anywhere else but they still rotate the shots around the scruff.

Gracie
IMG_0692.PNG
IMG_0692.PNG
would let me shoot anywhere so I rotated scruff, chest, flank and did right side in the mornings and left side at night. It worked for us but ECID. I never noticed a difference in absorption with her.

Just as a suggestion, if you can do the curve once a week, then the other days, perhaps you can do random spot checks around your schedule. On days when he's high and/or starting a bounce, slack off and maybe just get three tests a cycle (e.g. PS, +2, +7 one day and PS, +3, +8 another and as a different option PS, +2, +6, +10). Save your strips and pokes on his ears for when he's running in blues and greens.
 
Last edited:
@Cherryl & Mouzer Just a quick note since I don't see a condo for today yet and I've got some errands to run.

It's fine to shoot in the scruff but, yes, you are right that he can develop little fatty deposits that can then affect the duration. Some members only shoot in the scruff because their cat won't let them shoot anywhere else but they still rotate the shots around the scruff.

Gracie View attachment 28981View attachment 28981 would let me shoot anywhere so I rotated scruff, chest, flank and did right side in the mornings and left side at night. It worked for us but ECID. I never noticed a difference in absorption with her.

Just as a suggestion, if you can do the curve once a week, then the other days, perhaps you can do random spot checks around your schedule. On days when he's high and/or starting a bounce, slack off and maybe just get three tests a cycle (e.g. PS, +2, +7 one day and PS, +3, +8 another and as a different option PS, +2, +6, +10). Save your strips and pokes on
his ears for when he's running in blues and greens.

Mouzer seems like he will let me poke him anywhere. He is real mellow. I just feel sure I am getting that shot in the scruff but when I go to the side area, I sometimes am not so sure I am at a right angle because of the way he lays. But I will move around over his body so to keep from doing same areas.

And Mouzer has turned blue and I left and got some things done and this is what I was trying to stick around for but I decided I could be waiting for several days and went ahead to go catch up some work and he turned blue on me hahaha Oh well!! And I will make note of those test times and try to get some in at those times for spot checks. I think I will put it in remarks on SS so it is there for me to remember.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top