6/11 Lucy PMPS=110, +2=113

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

It depends on what you can do with your job. If you need to go, feed her, leave food out. She's very safe now and she's getting closer to nadir.

If you want to grab another test at +5 and then feed her, that is fine, too. It depends on what you need to do.

Lucy is usually pretty flat. I'm not nearly as concerned as I would be if she was lower and it was earlier in the cycle.
 
Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

OK, thank you Marje.
I will test at +5, and then feed her, and leave some food.
And go to work and try to come back as soon as possible.

This is hard!
 
Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

(((Mariko))))

I know but you are doing a fantastic job! She is spending so much time in good numbers!

I'll still be here so just post. It's great you have a boss who is flexible. You need that job to take such great care of Lucy and Ginger :-D
 
Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

Thanks, Marje.
I think she's good now!
Her +5 is 99.
I will feed her a little bit, and also leave some food before leaving.

Question!
Sienne mentioned about a dose reduction earlier. It's not now, is it? Should I keep her on 0.75unit for a few more cycle? Or reduce from the next shot? I will check back here before today's PM shot.


PS: Thank you everyone for lots of tips about meter and test strips earlier. Lucy prevented me from looking into your information, but I will tonight. You guys are all wonderful!
 
Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85

Perfect! YAY! Good plan.

No...no dose reduction unless she drops below 40 once or goes between 40-50 on three different days at this dose....she is not a newly diagnosed diabetic.

The other thing I would consider is if you are having to feed a ton of food to keep her above 40, then you could reduce. I haven't seen that with Lucy. Sienne was just hinting since she took a big drop at +2, it was something to watch. But Lucy has her own ideas.

Great job....have a super day at work.
 
Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

Thanks again, Marje! You are wonderful.
 
Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

Marje's right -- I wasn't suggesting that you reduce yet. Lucy's SS looks to me like she's gathering up some speed over the last couple of days and may head for a reduction. It may be that when you don't have work looming in front of you that you may want to hold off on the HC and let Lucy dip her toes in the below 50 water.

I'm also going to see if I can find some Canadians who can offer input on meters and syringes.
 
Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

You're welcome.

And that is a very good idea that Sienne has. When you are home...just feed LC and see what she does. Remember Lantus has a cumulative nature so one shot builds upon the preceding. Eventually, the depot overfills and the numbers come down. So she is trending a bit like that.

I don't know if it would help but check your Canadian eBay. I use the same meter and I buy my strips from eBay. I pay about $22/50 and only buy from those shipping free. I also watch the expiration dates and make sure it's out a bit.
 
Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

You can get a free bayer contour USB meter and 25 strips if you go to http://www.bayerdiabetes.ca/BDoffer and use code "BDS 11-14" And then if you register the meter when it arrives, you get a free USB wall charger. Its a reliable meter.
This offer was in the flyer comes inside the BD ultra fine 3/10cc syringes you get in Walmart Canada. I used a similar one six months ago and it worked great so bayer seem to run it a lot.

The strips are expensive in stores $75 for 100 in Shoppers for example but you can get them cheaper on eBay ( I can pay $50 for 100 including free lancets from Shorefront medical). But of course if you get them in shoppers you can get points! I havent found a good meter that has strips cheaper than that - they all seem to be about the same price. It arrives in a few days.
 
Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

The free Contour offer that Wendy (Tiggy) mentions comes in all boxes of BD syringes, not just Walmart. I have one in the box I just got from Save-On-Foods pharmacy. The cheapest I've seen Contour test strips was $72 on sale at London Drugs.

I have a Contour as a backup meter, but the Relion Confirm is my primary meter and I buy the Arkray Glucocard 01 strips from ADW. Depending on where you live in Vancouver, it doesn't take long to get to the States and pick things up. It takes me 45 minutes to get to the border and the Bellingham Walmart is 15-20 minutes after that. Alternatively, ADW does NOT ship to Canada, but you can get a free US post box and have things shipped there. Those places are usually 5 minutes the other side of the border. My last order via ADW, the Arkray strips were on sale, I got 500 for $126, shipping included. The difference from paying for strips here more than pays for the cost of gas to go pick things up. When they ask at customs what you purchased, if you say "diabetic test strips for my cat", their eyes glaze over and they wave you on through. :lol: If you are interested in this option, PM me and I'll give you some details.
 
Re: 6/11 Lucy +2.5=65; +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99

Hi...I'm new here, your thread caught my eye...both how you worked through that low and the meter info.

When I saw the link about Bayer in Canada, I figured maybe USA had one, so I checked and found:


https://www.bayercontour.com/Meter-and- ... ospec=save

They send a coupon to your email or you can print right off the site once you complete the info. I did find that it's a bit tricky..you have to refresh if "Submit" does not work.

I may be posting in the wrong area, so if you want to copy that link to post elsewhere, please feel free.
:-D
 
Re: 6/11 Lucy +3=74; +3.5=79; +4=81; +4.5=85; +5=99; +10.5=9

Thank you so much everyone for great tips on meter and test strips. There seems to be many options, so I would like to look into it when I have more time. I'd like to read your suggestion again, and check on them all one by one. Right now I have to catch up on work!!!

Thank you also Sienne and Marje about your advice.
I will let her drop a little further if she does this during the PM cycle.
I just checked her at +10.5 and she is 97.
I gave her about a teaspoon of LC food trying to bring it up a little for the PMPS...
I think she may give me low numbers again tonight.

That's fine. I won't be able to sleep tonight anyway.
I had to bring a lot of work home from office as I couldn't work this morning :smile: :smile: :smile:
 
Looking good, Lucy! Thank you for visiting Zener's condo. :-D No worries about the name, it's confusing, and you were worried about Lucy. Great job today. Doesn't Gus give the best kisses? :-D
Liz
 
Thank you, Liz!
Thank you, Marje!
I feel like I am one step forward with this taking-care-of-a-diabetic-kitty thing, getting less panicky every time, thanks to you all.

I got so many tips today on meter and strips :-D :-D :-D
Hard to decide which one!
I think the first thing for me to do is try to get a cheaper strips on eBay for my existing meter.
And then I can take time to decide on a better meter option!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top