? 6/11 King AMPS 435, PMPS 122, +2 89, +3 103

we went to the vet for a UTI shot. since yesterday he has high sugar numbers. the vet told me when the sugar rises so much to give him a larger dose of lantus. now I give him 2 units morning-evening. to increase the dose;
 
we went to the vet for a UTI shot. since yesterday he has high sugar numbers. the vet told me when the sugar rises so much to give him a larger dose of lantus. now I give him 2 units morning-evening. to increase the dose;
I don't quite understand what you are saying. I looked at the SS and you have been giving 2 units of insulin for 11 days?
 
I don't quite understand what you are saying. I looked at the SS and you have been giving 2 units of insulin for 11 days?

I talked to Maria earlier today. Vet asked her to increase the dose of Lantus. To what dose? I don't think she made it clear.

2 days ago, vet confirmed King has a urinary infection, took a sample with cystocentesis and sent it to a lab. Results won't be ready until Tuesday.
Vet sent King home without any broad spectrum antibiotics until the test results are back, which is 5 days since diagnosis!

Maria had to push vet to precribe an antibiotic. She finally prescribed a pill generic to Baytril which King vomited.
Today they went back to the vet to inject an antibiotic and told Maria there is no need to inject another antibiotic or give any pill until the culture results are back.

I don't understand...
What good just one day on antibiotics will do?
Do you think Maria should increase the dose of Lantus?
 
The 2 units is taking King down to the mid greens. He could be bouncing now with the higher BGs. I would give it one more cycle to see if he drops before increasing the dose. If it doesn’t drop into the blues by tomorrow morning you could increase to 2.25 U and monitor closely.
I would also test for ketones in the urine if he has a UTI. You will need some keto-diastix or some Ketostix.
keep posting
 
The 2 units is taking King down to the mid greens. He could be bouncing now with the higher BGs. I would give it one more cycle to see if he drops before increasing the dose. If it doesn’t drop into the blues by tomorrow morning you could increase to 2.25 U and monitor closely.
I would also test for ketones in the urine if he has a UTI. You will need some keto-diastix or some Ketostix.
keep posting

Thank you!

I hope Maria sees your reply and keeps posting!
 
Did you see my answers above after @Yanna posted?
Yes. the vet told me that the high numbers are from the urinary tract infection and that they will drop from Tuesday when she will take antibiotics. ketones she told me it will definitely be due to a urinary tract infection.
upload_2023-6-11_15-37-57.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-11_15-37-57.png
    upload_2023-6-11_15-37-57.png
    312 bytes · Views: 125
Did you see my answers above after @Yanna posted?


Thank you Bron an Sheba for your reply.

I'm at home with a new born baby who cries all the time and unfortunately I will have to take my baby to the hospital tomorrow morning, so I don't think I could increase the dose, because I won't be able to monitor King closely.

I will consider an increase in the following days if his numbers are still high
 
Please make sure he's getting a snack and test hourly or sooner if the bg continues to drop. So test now.
 
ketones she told me it will definitely be due to a urinary tract infection.
Are you saying the vet said there were ketones in the urine or blood when you went to see the vet about a possible UTI?
If so, you need to be testing daily for ketones in the urine with either Ketostix or Dia- Ketostix.
Ketones in the urine is serious and needs attention.
You also need to be feeding as much food as possible…give lots of snacks.
If you can do the ketone urine test done, that will help us decide if an increase in dose is needed in the insulin.
I can understand you are very busy with a new baby as well which makes it all more difficult.
 
Are you saying the vet said there were ketones in the urine or blood when you went to see the vet about a possible UTI?
If so, you need to be testing daily for ketones in the urine with either Ketostix or Dia- Ketostix.
Ketones in the urine is serious and needs attention.
You also need to be feeding as much food as possible…give lots of snacks.
If you can do the ketone urine test done, that will help us decide if an increase in dose is needed in the insulin.
I can understand you are very busy with a new baby as well which makes it all more difficult.

the vet did a test on him and told me that he doesn't have ketones, but it could be a urinary tract infection. She also told me that if his sugar drops, he won't have ketones. I try as much as I can with a 15-day-old baby and with King. I found it in the trash and I've had it for 10 years. I'm very sad about his condition and I hope he gets well soon and that he doesn't have to do injections
 
the vet did a test on him and told me that he doesn't have ketones, but it could be a urinary tract infection. She also told me that if his sugar drops, he won't have ketones. I try as much as I can with a 15-day-old baby and with King. I found it in the trash and I've had it for 10 years. I'm very sad about his condition and I hope he gets well soon and that he doesn't have to do injections
That is good if there are no ketones, but I would still get some of the test strips I told you about and test for them. They are more likely to appear if there is an infection and if King is not eating well or not getting enough insulin. So good to test.
It is not necessarily true that a cat won’t get ketones if the BG drops. It depends on what else is going on.
I’m sure you are doing all you can for King. It is hard to do everything with a new baby. I would make sure he is eating lots of food.:)
 
That is good if there are no ketones, but I would still get some of the test strips I told you about and test for them. They are more likely to appear if there is an infection and if King is not eating well or not getting enough insulin. So good to test.
It is not necessarily true that a cat won’t get ketones if the BG drops. It depends on what else is going on.
I’m sure you are doing all you can for King. It is hard to do everything with a new baby. I would make sure he is eating lots of food.:)

he eats almost every 2 hours a little Purina dm. tomorrow I will start bozita for him
 
Back
Top