6/11-Fluffy +2 52, +3 56, +3.5 61, +4 70, +5 81, +7 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

lynngaut

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,
Fluffy's been doing really well so far but tonight I got his lowest PMPS ever - 83. So I stalled half an hour with no food to see if he'd come up and he's at 46 now! His dose is .5u. I'm not really sure what to do now - should I keep stalling or should I give him his usual dinner?
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy PMPS 83, +.5 46 - shoot his usual dose?

I would give a tsp of low carb and test again in 30 to see if the drop has stopped. You dont want to feed too much because the number is probably about to start rising on its own anyway (due to the end of the cycle, and the insulin is wearing off).

How long can you afford to stall tonight and still shoot at +12 in the morning?

Here is a link to info on Shooting Low Numbers that explains the hows and whys.
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy PMPS 83, +.5 46 - shoot his usual dose?

Ok, great thanks for the advice. That's what I'll do now.
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy PMPS~83, +.5~46, 1tsp lc, +.75~74

I can probably stall till for another half hour before I'll need to shoot based on his next dose timing tomorrow. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy PMPS~83, +.5~46, 1tsp lc, +.75~74, +1~68

The subject line might be misleading (don't know how to indicate these are all preshot numbers) but we haven't given him his usual dose yet and all he's had to eat is the tsp of lc food.
I want to shoot low to stay low, right?
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy PMPS~83, +.5~46, 1tsp lc, +.75~74, +1~68

As long as you have strips, are going to be able to monitor and have HC food if you need it, you are good to shoot and feed Fluffy dinner.
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy PMPS~83, +.5~46, 1tsp lc, +.75~74, +1~68

Yep, I'm good to go for all of those things. Thanks, Sienne!
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy PMPS~83, +.5~46, 1tsp lc, +.75~74, +1~68

As far as the subject line notation, it would be as follows:
  • +12 - 83
  • +12.5 - 46
  • +12.75 - 74
  • +13 - 68
Until you actually shoot, it's not your PMPS.

Also, remember, whatever time you shoot tonight, your AM shot is 12 hours later. You can move your shot time by 15 min. at each shot or by 30 min. once a day with minimal effect on the numbers.
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy +12~83, +12.5~46, 1tsp lc, +12.75~74, pmps~6

Whenever you shoot your lowest number, you want to be sure to test early and often. At minimum, get a +1 and a +2. If you're in the least bit nervous, get a +0.5.
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy pmps~68, +1 70, +2 52

Hi Lynn

Sorry I missed all the excitement. Because her +2 is much less than her PMPS, you should be prepared that she might keep you really busy tonight. I'd like to see you give her two good tsp of food and get a +2.5. Let's see if we can catch
any big drop before it happens....it's early yet and she has a long cycle to go.

I'll be up tonight and can check in on you.
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy pmps~68, +1 70, +2 52

I agree with Marje. Try a bit of LC to see if it gets Fluffy surfing. If not, you can go for the HC food.
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy pmps~68, +1 70, +2 52

Good luck with getting Fluffy to surf tonight! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: We've been playing the surfing game too, every night for the last few nights. You've got some awesome people checkin' in on you :-D
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy pmps~68, +1 70, +2 52

Thanks Marje and Sienne - we're giving small bits of lc now and will test soon.
Caitlin, agreed, this is such an awesome group of people. I feel really lucky to have the support.
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy pmps~68, +1 70, +2 52, +3 56,

We refer to this process as lather (test), rinse (feed) and repeat.

Look at Fluffy surf!! Please test every 30 min. There's not a lot of room for numbers to drop so you want to keep Fluffy in a safe range that helps his pancreas to heal.
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy pmps~68, +1 70, +2 52, +3 56,

Hi Lynn

I think we're going to switch back out on you now so Sienne can get some rest.

I'll be looking for a +3.5 ok? Let's see if we can keep her surfing the 50s and not dropping as she gets to her nadir.
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy pmps~68, +1 70, +2 52, +3 56, +3.5 61

Ok, thanks Sienne, sleep well.
Marje, we must have been posting at the same time :-D
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy pmps~68, +1 70, +2 52, +3 56, +3.5 61

Great job!!! If Fluffy is doing ok with the tests, how about one more in 30 minutes and if he's up, we'll give him a break for an hour?
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy pmps~68, +1 70, +2 52, +3 56, +3.5 61

I think I can get one more test out of him for a +4. :smile: Will post soon.
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy +1 70, +2 52, +3 56, +3.5 61, +4 70, +5 81

He let me get a +5. Does it seem safe for me to leave him for the night to get some zzzz?
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy +1 70, +2 52, +3 56, +3.5 61, +4 70, +5 81

Yep I can do that. SEe you in a couple of hours. :smile:
 
Re: 6/11-Fluffy +1 70, +2 52, +3 56, +3.5 61, +4 70, +5 81

:lol: :lol: I'll probably be in bed! I think he'll continue up and you know how to handle low numbers, right?

Any questions before you go to bed?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top