6/11 Esca AMPS 338, +6 134, +11 108, PMPS 112 - Switched Insulin today

Kirsta & Esca

Member Since 2022
Please forgive my overall ignorance - we are new to dx and I have been very intimidated by posting on FDMB as I am struggling to learn it.

Esca started on Vetsulin, but we decided to switch to Lantus/Glargine-yfgn and today was his first dose. I kept him at .5u, the dose he was previously on with Vetsulin since his numbers looked alright. I wasn't expecting to see a big change yet, but his numbers dropped and look great as they stand, but I am now questioning if .5u was a good starting dose?

Also, how do I proceed with Lantus and low preshot numbers given that he's brand new to depot insulin? I see below 150 to not give insulin - he's sitting at 112 right now and due for his dose in 15 minutes. But since he's only had one dose, will skipping affect the shed? The entire premise of the "shed" is confusing as all get out to me and I am terrified to mess that up

Another quick note if it's important - we were doing SLGS with Vetsulin, but are eyeing TR with Lantus, I am still just trying to learn this method.
 
Welcome! I think TR would be a good choice for your cat. Some cats get a big response to the first shot. Let’s see the pmps. Do you have plenty of test strips, hc, mc, and honey or Karo? Can you stay up to monitor if needed?

It looks like today was a bounce clearing cycle so there was extra momentum.
 
PMPS is 112! I do have plenty of strips and Karo. I have some wet food (4 cans), but I am not sure on carb content. Both have gravy, two are beef, two have brewers rice which seems to pump up his numbers pretty well.
I def love the better possibility of remission with TR, but I also have anxiety so I think I might be hyping myself up a bit with the thought of a possible hypo!
I can set as many alarms as I need to wake up and test (+ of course stay up entirely in the event of a hypo situation)
 
The depot is not yet built up. Lantus kicks in around .+2. If you gave the fed him please stall without food and see if the BG cones up a little higher I. 20 minutes.

Any ketones or DKA at diagnosis?
 
He free feeds, but he's been laying beside me without eating. I tested him 30 mins ago, so I'll grab his number again here in a sec.

No Ketones or DKA.
 
Ok. He’s not going down any more so that’s good. You have choices. You can try .25 if you can stay up as long as needed or you can skip. What do you think?
 
With this being his first dose, I am leaning more towards skipping since I don't really know what to expect with this insulin!
My husband leaves soon for a week so I won't have help at night to monitor like I would want to every night. Would it mess things up if I did SLGS but attempted to switch over to TR when my husband returns? I think I'd be a lot more comfortable once Esca has been on this insulin for a bit and also having someone here with me!
 
Hi and welcome to the forum. We are all very friendly here and love to answer questions so I hope we can help you get Esca sorted out with his new insulin:).
I agree with the choices @tiffmaxee is giving you.
And yes it would be fine to stay with SLGS until your husband returns.
 
Thank you! I felt like I needed to know everything about the forum before I posted anything - I don't want to have the mods work harder because I didn't do enough reading lol

I've fully decided to skip his dose tonight. This will at least give me an idea of what skipping does to his AMPS number.
Based on his prior numbers with vetsulin and what .5u did to his numbers tonight, is it wise to stick with .5u again in the AM?
 
Thank you! I felt like I needed to know everything about the forum before I posted anything - I don't want to have the mods work harder because I didn't do enough reading lol
I've fully decided to skip his dose tonight. This will at least give me an idea of what skipping does to his AMPS number.
Based on his prior numbers with vetsulin and what .5u did to his numbers tonight, is it wise to stick with .5u again in the AM?

We certainly don't expect you to know everything before you post..most people arrive here knowing nothing about FD...it takes a long time to get your head around all the information and the mods certainly wouldn't expect that.
He has certainly had a good response to the lantus. We want you to have a dose that you can shoot both cycles and not have to skip so it might be a good idea to drop the dose to 0.25 units and see if that works better. @tiffmaxee what do you think about the dose?
I would suggest you test for ketones in the urine as you are skipping the dose and reducing it tomorrow.
 
.25u works for me if she agrees!

Is there a preferred way to try to test for ketones? I tried to wait until he was in the box and actively going to try and catch, but he's pee shy and just will not go if I am in there. And we use pine pellet litter so urine absorbs too quickly for me to rush in there to dip.
 
Is there a preferred way to try to test for ketones? I tried to wait until he was in the box and actively going to try and catch, but he's pee shy and just will not go if I am in there. And we use pine pellet litter so urine absorbs too quickly for me to rush in there to dip.
Yes you can use a meter, much like a glucose meter if you prefer. The test strips are not cheap though.
I have a list of the available meters but I cant find it atm. Hopefully someone else will come along and tell you. I know Abbott has one... oh and there is Nova Max Plus and Precision Xtra ketone meters
 
Yes you can use a meter, much like a glucose meter if you prefer. The test strips are not cheap though.
I have a list of the available meters but I cant find it atm. Hopefully someone else will come along and tell you. I know Abbott has one... oh and there is Nova Max Plus and Precision Xtra ketone meters
Oh, I just have the cheap ketone strips, but I will look up those meters. If they are easier, I prefer it! Thank you :)
 
Back
Top