6/11 China AMPS 311 Increased to 1 unit Puke after shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
I increased China to the 1 unit and within 10 minutes she threw up the majority of what she'd eaten. How should I deal with this???


Link to prior thread viewtopic.php?f=9&t=97343

Thanks again to this wonderful group of people for helping us through this new adventure!!
 
Re: 6/11 China AMPS 311 Increased to 1 unit

Ugh. Was it a scarf-and-barf? Where she eats too fast and then pukes? Give her a little break, like 20 mins, then try feed about 1 teaspoon at a time, every 10 mins. Does she have a good appetite in general? You need to get some food in her, to counteract the insulin.
Liz
ETA: maybe put "puke after shot" in the subject line so others will check in with suggestions.
 
Re: 6/11 China AMPS 311 Increased to 1 unit

She ate pretty normally...she isn't a big eater, but I'd say from the amount I cleaned up, she lost most of it

She's still acting like she's hungry, so I'll give her a few minutes to let her stomach settle and then do a little bit at a time
 
Good plan. Do you have any Pepcid or Zantac? You can give her 1/8 of a 10 mg pill. Wash it down with something, can you syringe a little water?
Liz
 
No but I have to go to WalMart soon to pick up more test strips...will see what I can find when I'm there. Any particular one better (or easier to get down the cat) than the other?
 
They are about the same. Most people use Pepcid but we use Zantac because it is a little better for stomach motility, which is an issue with Zener. Get the 10 mg pills. There are 20 mg versions.
Liz
 
You can buy that stuff to have on hand, but honestly, I wouldn't give it based on one barf...especially if she is eating now.

Occasionally, Gracie will scarf and barb after a shot. Mi wait maybe five minutes and feed her again. She's fine.

I'm not a big advocate of grabbing Pepcid or Zantac unless a kitty has a chronic acid tummy. Just as people do, cats need stomach acid to start the digestion process. Antacids block all acid production making digestion and absorption less effective processes.

Please be sure and get some early tests to see if she is coming down fast, ok?

Let us know if she ate. :-D
 
Yeah!! She's eating twice (small meals) but without any more barfing!!

Since I did +3, +6 and +9 the last couple days, I am doing +2, +4, +7 and maybe +10 today to get some variety

While I was shopping, found a new feather wand toy which she enjoyed chasing, pouncing on and jumping to catch, so think she's feeling much better!

Just had to worry after a new dose and such a difference in her behavior soon after

Thanks again for just being here!!
 
Yeah for no barfing the second time around. :lol: My civie will sometimes do that too. I always break my cats meals into smaller ones anyway. It's easier on a healing pancreas if you feed China several small meals instead of one big one.

You might not notice any difference in China's numbers for a couple of cycles. The new 1 unit shed has to get built up. But it's good to mix up when you get the tests like you are doing today.

It's great when you start seeing them looking more healthy and playful. :-D
 
Re: 6/11 China AMPS 311, Increased to 1 unit Puke after shot

I know it's too soon to draw any conclusions since this is day 1 of 1 unit, but these numbers make even less sense than normal...thought we were doing good until the +10 and PMPS

I'm being a bit neurotic, but any ideas? Just give it more time? Nothing out of the ordinary happened other than the AM puke

Once again, thanks
 
What happened today is that China got to a nice number, that 143, that is lower than what her liver is used to, and she "bounced". If you haven't seen the definition of a bounce before:
Bounces occur for at couple of reasons: a kitty that's not used to being in lower/normal numbers drops into that range or there is a fast drop in numbers. Numbers don't have to be unusually low to trigger a bounce. Rather, they need to be in a range that your cat's body has "forgotten" is normal. When this happens, the liver and pancreas overreact. When this overreaction occurs, a stored form of glucose, glucagon, and counterregulatory hormones are released which causes BG levels to spike back up. (Hence the term, "bounce.") It can take roughly 72 hours for a bounce to clear.
The more time China spends in normal numbers the less frequently bounces will occur.
 
Thank you! I'll relax a little and just keep updating the SS and post 1 Condo/day for awhile....See where we go from here!!

New Dose Wonkiness.

I like that!!! :lol: Thanks for the giggle too! I've always thought the word "Wonky" didn't get the respect it deserved....LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top