6-11 Caturday Loose Lips

Status
Not open for further replies.

squeem3

Member Since 2009
caturday-1604.jpg


Hope everyone has a good Caturday :-D

It's early and so far Leroy is driving me nuts @-) I scooped the box clean and Leroy climbed in before I could put the lid back on. Typical of him :roll: So he digs around and squats to poop. One piece comes out, Leroy climbs out of the box and wanders away.... while poop is still coming out @-) @-) I went after him. Leroy scoots his butt on the floor @-) and runs off, dropping a piece along the way. I grab Leroy and put him back in the box. He jumps out, scattering litter everywhere @-), and runs off again. I grab him again and put him back in the bathroom, closing the door. Leroy scoots some more. I ended up removing the poop from his butt for him. Then I cleaned up the mess he made. I even vaccuumed the litter up (15 seconds tops. Really tiny bathroom), despite the hour and the PITA complainer upstairs. I need to mop the floor later (baking soda/vinegar solution since it's the only safe thing I can use around Leroy @-) ) and then run the steam mop over it.

Now he's bothering Emma :roll: She just screamed and hissed at Leroy :shock: Does anyone want a crazy trouble-causing Aby?

Emma will get a mini break from Leroy today. I'm taking her down the street to the groomers for a bath and fur trim, the same place where Squishy Merlin went to for baths and somehow always ended up with bgs in the blues and greens (briefly) afterwards (any really really really old oldtimers remember that? Not the exact post but has the story: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?22,1053195,1053949#msg-1053949 AMPS 195 on 1.5 units Lantus, +3 77, off to groomers, +8 255 and missed usual snack, +12 88 no shot, +16 91, next day AMPS 196 and lots of blues and greens for 2 months afterwards until Squishy decided to revert back to being defective :razz: ) Somehow it seemed that stress, like going to the groomers, got Mr. P working for at least a little while :smile:
 
oh my gosh, what a funny morning! funny for me to hear about, not so funny when you're the one with the cat scooting his behind on the floor. Anya has done that - could anything be more repulsive? let me think . . . . nope, that wins my vote. i take her in to the groomers to get her backside shaved - i fondly call it a brazilian! :lol: took her in on thursday and she'll be good for a couple of months now. her long hair is just too long for her!

amazing that a trip to the groomers resulted in a low number for little squishy merlin! who'd ever expect that!

glad you opened a caturday LL - don't know what it is about saturday but i always get kinda excited about it. a day with potential, i guess.

devon, enjoy your niece & plans today!

karrie, is it allergies bothering you? i saw our grass pollen is at high, trees are moderate and weeds are low-moderate this week. my face is all broken out because of it. oddly enough, but apparently i have enough skin damage from frying myself as a kid that it allows the pollen to react with my skin. looks & feels like poison oak. hope you're feeling better today. allergies can really kill energy.
 
Aww Julie, sorry about the allergies. I hope the pollen drifts away quickly or is washed away. But sometimes after a rain washes away some pollen, there is new pollen that bursts out of the refreshed plants. So you can't win.
And I'd love to see a photo of Anya's brazilian, hahaha!! :shock:

Sorry Karen, but I'm laughing at Leroy and his poop scooting actions this morning. You sure have your hands full! :lol:
 
i can't seem to get pics to post anymore, cd. not sure why because i did several at first. now it loads them, but then immediately goes to a "too bad for you screen." i'm sure that's helpful to describe it like that, but i haven't tried in a bit and don't remember exactly what the screen said. you're a pro at this - maybe i'll try again and let you help me.

she looks adorable, of course. :-D
 
ok, like charlie brown and the stupid football, i'm trying again. she was less than keen on me taking a picture of her back end, but hey, it's educational, right? :lol:

hard to imagine, but this is the screen i keep getting:

Server error
The website encountered an error while retrieving posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=45225. It may be down for maintenance or configured incorrectly.
Here are some suggestions:
Reload this web page later.
HTTP Error 500 (Internal Server Error): An unexpected condition was encountered while the server was attempting to fulfill the request.
 
I was trying to test to see if I can copy a photo:

I moved Ginger's cat tree this morning, so she can look out the sliding glass doors, while we're away on vacation.
I also planted some cat grass. Hopefully, it will be grown and ready for her, or close to that, by next Sunday, when we leave. She loves her grass so. Especially, when her sensitive tummy acts up, or she scarfs and barfs :roll:

This is an older picture of her curled up in her cat tree.
th_88.jpg

She loves for me to fill it with toys, so she can wack them about until they fall to the ground and I reload it again.

For some reason, I can access no new photo files to upload to Photobucket.com. The screen to choose your files from is completely blank. I sent them an email. Maybe they'll answer. I hope it gets fixed, because that's the only program I know of that I can use to share photos with you all.
 
Hi Dyana... this may be too stupid to mention, (and probably isn't what is going on with you) but one time I had trouble uploading photos to Photobucket and it was because I was signed out for some reason. I almost never have to sign-in since it 'recognizes' me & my computers so I didn't look to see if I was signed in. But that was my problem regarding uploading new photos. :roll:

Also when you fly with J.D. do you need to sedate him in anyway? Does his carrier fit under the airplane seat? Do you buy an extra seat or anything? How big is J.D. anyway? Sorry to be so nosey, but I may need to fly with BigMac and I'm trying to understand the limitations.

I will probably end up leaving him home with the kitty sitter and no insulin for about 10 days... sigh. Petsitter will not test or shoot. My vet said that they board kitties.... I thanked her but I almost laughed in her face. Uh no.... BigMac hates to be confined and staying in a kennel would be torture.
 
Photobucket is just known (to me) for giving me troubles.
It worked this time: Here she is on her newly moved cat tree, by the window
P1010144Resized.jpg


My vet does not recommend sedating sp? a diabetic cat. I give him some Rescue Remedy orally, put a drop on the top of each paw and put some drops around his pee pad filled carrier. This year, I should give Ginger some Rescue Remedy before we leave, too, because she must feel the stress :sad:

J.D. is a big cat. I check the different airlines ahead of time to read all the individual rules they have. Some are more expensive, and some don't even allow pets as carry on. Some have weight restrictions. Continental charges $125.00 each way (so $250.00 round trip) for a carry on pet that has to ride under the seat in front of you. As far as I know, they can not have "a seat". Last year, J.D.'s ticket was more expensive than mine was.
J.D. hates the airport with all the crazy scary humans running around, but is good on the plane. He also isn't too happy with the car rides to and from the airport.
I get to the airport early as they recommend (like 2 hours before departure). When I first get there, I go to the bathroom and test him on the diaper changing/cat testing thingy. And then during the long wait at the gate, I usually have him sitting on my lap (and he hides his face under my arm). As close to right before boarding as I can, I test him again. It's a long flight across the country. I usually bring a baggy with some no carb (freeze dried) cats treats mixed in with a little Evo dry food. As I try to get one of the first flights out in the morning, J.D. doesn't eat much (if at all) at home before we leave, I sometimes halve or skip his AMPS shot. Last year, when we arrived at SFO he was pretty high, so I gave him some R in the airport bathroom (on the pull down cat testing thingy), as he wasn't going to get his PMPS shot for another 4 hours and still had a long car ride to go through before reaching my dad's house.
I actually look forward to being at my dad's house as J.D. is extra affectionate to me at night (he usually hides in the bedroom all day, and) when I come to bed, he comes out from under the bed, and finally will eat some food, and snuggle with me. I feel like we become closer on vacations.
 
J.D. and Ginger are also both microchipped, have collars with about 5 or 6 bells on them, and have tags with my phone number (J.D.'s says Diabetic, Bloodtype AB, and has my home phone and cell phone number on it).
J.D. also wears a well fitted harness with leash almost always, especially in the airport, during the flight (If I feel like I'm going to fall asleep I tie the leash to my hand, in case he decides to take a stroll), and when taking walks at my dad's house. The only time I take it off is when he's hiding in the bedroom, because I don't want him to wind it around a bed leg or dresser leg, and get stuck, where he can't get to water or food or litterbox, while I'm out galavanting about.
And, I have to (unfortunately) leave the bedroom door closed all the time, because my folks' spoiled Tramp Dog always has kibble available in the kitchen and J.D. knows where it is :smile:
 
The micro chip is a great idea. Neither of my kitties are chipped since they are big chickens and run away from open doors so I never thought it necessary. But if I take BigMac with us on vacation, all the rules change. Before I adopted BigMac, I took his sister with me on a plane to Philadelphia. From Chattanooga we had to change planes in Atlanta and it was kind of a hassle. But she did fine because she was only a few months old and pretty small. Back then it was only $50 dollars extra to take her and squish her soft sided carrier under the seat in front. But it was tight. Now my cats are WAY bigger and from here the connecting plane to Atlanta is so small you can't even take carry-on luggage. It has to be gate-checked and retrieved as you disembark. So I guess I can't take my kitties on a flight from here. Too bad they won't sell me an extra seat, he'd like that. :lol:

Interesting about the sedating thing. Good to know that info too, in case I need to take BigMac on a long car ride. I think he'd settle down after a while... I hope. Rescue Remedy sounds like something I should have available.

:lol: :lol: Had to laugh at the pull-down cat testing thingy in the restrooms. Hahahaha!! Now I'll never be able to look at one of those without thinking of you and J.D.!
 
CD and BigMac said:
The micro chip is a great idea. Neither of my kitties are chipped since they are big chickens and run away from open doors so I never thought it necessary. But if I take BigMac with us on vacation, all the rules change. Before I adopted BigMac, I took his sister with me on a plane to Philadelphia. From Chattanooga we had to change planes in Atlanta and it was kind of a hassle. But she did fine because she was only a few months old and pretty small. Back then it was only $50 dollars extra to take her and squish her soft sided carrier under the seat in front. But it was tight. Now my cats are WAY bigger and from here the connecting plane to Atlanta is so small you can't even take carry-on luggage. It has to be gate-checked and retrieved as you disembark. So I guess I can't take my kitties on a flight from here. Too bad they won't sell me an extra seat, he'd like that. :lol:

Interesting about the sedating thing. Good to know that info too, in case I need to take BigMac on a long car ride. I think he'd settle down after a while... I hope. Rescue Remedy sounds like something I should have available.

:lol: :lol: Had to laugh at the pull-down cat testing thingy in the restrooms. Hahahaha!! Now I'll never be able to look at one of those without thinking of you and J.D.!

I try to get non stop flights whenever possible. It's about 11 to 12 hours in his carrier as it is (3 hours of car travel plus 2.5 hours in airports plus 6.5 hour flight time equals 12 hours), without an extra stop and the extra hassle.

Last year I drove J.D. and Ginger from N.J. to Pittsburgh PA (and will again this year) for The Pittsburgh Reunion.
I used Rescue Remedy that time, too, but it was 6 1/2 hours of driving. Ginger finally stopped screaming in my ear at about the 3 1/2 hour mark. J.D. meowed softly (compared to her) for about 3 1/2 hours, too. We stopped for kitty meals, testing, litter box breaks, and coffee and gas. I think they were very happy to reach Deb and Spots house.
 
julie1220 said:
oh my gosh, what a funny morning! funny for me to hear about, not so funny when you're the one with the cat scooting his behind on the floor. Anya has done that - could anything be more repulsive? let me think . . . . nope, that wins my vote. i take her in to the groomers to get her backside shaved - i fondly call it a brazilian! :lol: took her in on thursday and she'll be good for a couple of months now. her long hair is just too long for her!

Nope. This morning was not fun @-) Good thing I had the carpet replaced with hardwood floors before I moved in last summer. Carpet and pet messes do not go well together.

CD and BigMac said:
I'm laughing at Leroy and his poop scooting actions this morning. You sure have your hands full! :lol:

@-) @-) I still wonder what Squishy was thinking when he sent me Leroy. Leroy is a huge troublemaker @-) Cute yes, but, oh the trouble he gets into @-)

Emma is all clean now :-D The place is still using the same shampoo stuff. Emma smells just like Squishy did :smile: Tthey did a good job at trimming her butt fur so that stuff won't get stuck back there. I picked up some CET poultry toothpaste from the groomers as well. Neither civie seem to like the seafood flavored one very much.

julie1220 said:
amazing that a trip to the groomers resulted in a low number for little squishy merlin! who'd ever expect that!

Tip for anyone who wants to try to get Mr. P sputtering ;-)

Dyana, love the pic of Ginger in her cat tree :smile: Does she like to watch the bird from the tree? Leroy and Emma go nuts at the birds that fly by.
 
julie1220 said:
i take her in to the groomers to get her backside shaved - i fondly call it a brazilian! :lol: took her in on thursday and she'll be good for a couple of months now. her long hair is just too long for her!

LOL!!! I have to take my civvie, Noah, in this week for the same treatment. Is it insulting when the kitty is a boy?

I've got an occasional scooter, too. No fun. He's been to the vet and given the all-clear. The furbombs are the main reason we have nothing but hardwoods. Even though the real estate market is down, I think this will eventually help us with resale...so maybe the kittes are earning their keep afterall :lol: !!
 
The thing with Leroy is that he gets distracted very easily and has a very short attention span :? He wanders off in the middle of eating and will only eat again when I put him back in front of the bowl and hold it up for him :roll: Otherwise he "forgets" where his bowl is and will whine for food and then Emma will finish the food off :? He's good with the litter box, except for yesterday's scooting as he wandered away @-) I think it was Emma who distracted him by meowing. Even something like sneezing is enough to distract Leroy from eating or using the box and he *has* to come over to inspect whatever it is that distracted him and then he completely forgets what he was doing prior :?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top