6/11 Belle, AMPS 445, PMPS 216

Status
Not open for further replies.
he has his PMPS @ 10pm, mostly becos during weekends, i am usually out until later at night, that's why he has a late PMPS time. and i don't want to be late or miss his insulin time...

I am actually thinking if we should increase his insulin, cos from his past history, once we increase his insulin (sometimes after 2 increases), his BG heads back down really fast and will earn 3 reductions within 1-2 weeks.



Thank you for commenting. I did know he lives in th garage. I'm only asking but is there any chance to move his shots earlier just to get a later test but that would still allow you to get to bed and sleep?

Well....you can't go much lower than 0.05u and if he earns a reduction, it would have been worth trying.

Think about it and just let us know if you want to try and take him off insulin or not.

I wish I could recommend another food for him but I'm not a fan of most canned cat foods....
 
thankssssssssss !!!! maybe i will try the turkey, he had been on the Beef, Venison, & Lamb LC (becos Phos was lower), but then he doesn't like it...


Wellness may be a good option and believe comparable in price as Evo.
WELLNESS (look for the yellow triangle stating “Grain Free”)

Grain-free 3oz cans

Chicken LC - cabs: 4 Phos: 219
Turkey LC - carbs :4 Phos: 200

Wellness CORE - grain-free - 5oz cans only
Chicken/Turkey/Chicken Liver MC -Carbs: 8 Phos: 215
Beef, Venison, & Lamb LC- Carbs: 5 - Phos: 171
 
Good luck with whatever you decide regarding his dose. If you do increase, make sure you can get tests in just in case it pushes him low. I wish we could give you a definite answer on increasing or decreasing. Sending prayers.
 
I agree with Carla. It is your decision and I hope what you decide to do works. We will always be here to help and support you however we can.
 
Hi there
I am actually thinking if we should increase his insulin, cos from his past history, once we increase his insulin (sometimes after 2 increases), his BG heads back down really fast and will earn 3 reductions within 1-2 weeks.
His past history is incomplete - there is no data at all on what his BG does between PM+2 and AMPS.

Have a look at the ss of Dimitri:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1GxmtctaBITa9HPPB3JQt-ZRUmscMWVZLEj5d5TOPHBQ/pub?output=html

Very little data from 4/02/2014-4/20/2014 particularly on the overnights.
On 4/21/2014 his caregiver posted that based on the data so far she thought an increase was needed. She was encouraged to instead hold the dose and work on getting some overnight data, which she did.

In the 6 days that followed Dimitri earned 2 reductions. One month later we attended his OTJ party. Had the caregiver increased on 4/21 and continued with limited testing things would have gone in adifferent direction.

So before you make another dosing decision, how about filling in some of the missing data?

Tests don't all have to all be at the same times every cycle; as a matter of fact it's more revealing if you stagger the times you do those tests. For example one PM cycle test at +5 and the next PM cycle test at +10 and the following night get a +3 etc.

Taking a step back from the ss and looking for the 'wide open spaces' that do not contain data will help you decide which tests to do each night -try and place your next test in a +hour that has not seen a test in a while. In this way you are sprinkling testst to throughout that whole right hand side of Belles ss.

If you can manage to do even one PM test each night in this way
for just 1 week, I'll bet a clearer picture of what is really going on with Belles BGs will emerge - and then you will be making dosing decisions based on the full picture.

What do you think?
 
I know this would make it a very hard and horrible week for you but it could save you from a costly mistake and if this is your chance to get Belle OTJ you don't want to miss it - how much easier would that make things going forward...
 
PMPS @ 10pm, BG 216
0.25u + food
That pmps is 200pts lower than amps, tonight would definitely be a good idea to get that +2, seems like Belle has some downward momentum.

Just a thought how about +7 +8 or +9 when you get up in the morning, it may mean getting up a little earlier than usual for week or so, but that would also help fill in the picture.

I have to agree with Sandi and Marje, that it seems that Belle may be going lower at night, for example june 6 he was 261 at pmps then 186 at +2, with George that sort of drop of +2 would more often than not indicate a very active cycle, and I would have usually expected him to drop to green.

Remember if the +2 is about the same or lower than PS often the cycle can be active think of it as the early warning signal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top