? 6/10 Taz, AMPS-189

SaraMV

Member Since 2022
I'm back from my trip and going to try TR. Taz dropped to almost 90 two nights ago for my husband, but I went ahead and increased him to 2.25 this morning.

How do I prevent big drops? I know I'm supposed to feed MC in the beginning of the cycle to prevent dropping too low, but giving it at +1 seemed counter productive.... it didn't seem to prevent big drops the first time, and the second time I tried it, it prevented him from dropping at all. I'm not so scared of lower numbers as I am about the big unexpected drops. How do I get him to flatten out, so that his PS numbers aren't so high when he nadirs early in his cycles?

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-5-taz-amps-338.264206/
 
You could try a little mc mixed with his lc at preshot meals. And I would still do a small tsp of mc at +1

It's a total guessing game for each cat. Some things work for some but not others that's why everyone here says ECID....every cat is different. Now that you're able to be home I'd do some experiments with food and see what works best.

I think he is so close to that breakthrough dose Those big drops are probably causing some bouncing.

:bighug::bighug:
 
You could try a little mc mixed with his lc at preshot meals. And I would still do a small tsp of mc at +1

It's a total guessing game for each cat. Some things work for some but not others that's why everyone here says ECID....every cat is different. Now that you're able to be home I'd do some experiments with food and see what works best.

I think he is so close to that breakthrough dose Those big drops are probably causing some bouncing.

:bighug::bighug:
That's the part that confuses me. If I make him go higher with MC, theoretically doesn't that just cause him to stay high and to not drop enough since he nadirs quickly and it isn't a gradual drop during a cycle?
 
That's the part that confuses me. If I make him go higher with MC, theoretically doesn't that just cause him to stay high and to not drop enough since he nadirs quickly and it isn't a gradual drop during a cycle?
Not really giving the higher carb can help to slow down the drop. So yes we are trying to keep him higher in a sense. We still want him to drop but if he drops like a rock it can cause a panicky liver. His body thinks he is dropping too much so his liver dumps glycogen which is sugar into his system to protect himself. Unfortunately then he spikes back up. So he is just on an endless rollercoaster of highs and lows never flattening out and regulating. By feeding slightly higher carb at intricate times in the cycle mainly right before and at onset of insulin it will hopefully slow the drop down.

Does that make sense to you? I know it seems counterintuitive and you strike me as a logical black and white type of person I get that I'm somewhat like that too.
 
Not really giving the higher carb can help to slow down the drop. So yes we are trying to keep him higher in a sense. We still want him to drop but if he drops like a rock it can cause a panicky liver. His body thinks he is dropping too much so his liver dumps glycogen which is sugar into his system to protect himself. Unfortunately then he spikes back up. So he is just on an endless rollercoaster of highs and lows never flattening out and regulating. By feeding slightly higher carb at intricate times in the cycle mainly right before and at onset of insulin it will hopefully slow the drop down.

Does that make sense to you? I know it seems counterintuitive and you strike me as a logical black and white type of person I get that I'm somewhat like that too.
That endless roller coaster is the thing that bothers me the most. Your explanation made perfect sense, thank you. I love to spend hours researching things to get a better understanding of them, but I haven't been able to find a whole lot online when it comes to cats, onset, and nadiring that answers the questions I have. I've talked to a couple of my diabetic friends and they too were confused when I ask some of my questions or I've told them about SLGS and TR. This forum truly is a wealth of knowledge, but then it makes me feel kind of stupid when I ask some of the questions I have or I don't grasp a concept. Lol
 
That endless roller coaster is the thing that bothers me the most. Your explanation made perfect sense, thank you. I love to spend hours researching things to get a better understanding of them, but I haven't been able to find a whole lot online when it comes to cats, onset, and nadiring that answers the questions I have. I've talked to a couple of my diabetic friends and they too were confused when I ask some of my questions or I've told them about SLGS and TR. This forum truly is a wealth of knowledge, but then it makes me feel kind of stupid when I ask some of the questions I have or I don't grasp a concept. Lol
The rollercoaster bothers me too it's very frustrating!

Dont feel stupid at all! Feline diabetes has so many differences that human diabetes. Personally I think that's part of vets issue. They try to compare it to closely and never learn enough about it for felines.

Cats systems are so complex. I mean they are the only mammal that can heal their pancreas and go into remission. Makes me love mine even more they are such wonderful mysteries :):):bighug::bighug:
 
Dont feel stupid at all! Feline diabetes has so many differences that human diabetes. Personally I think that's part of vets issue. They try to compare it to closely and never learn enough about it for felines.

Exactly! My friend is on lantus and she keeps telling me she has no idea what I'm talking about when I start talking about things with Taz.
 
Back
Top