? 6/10 Roxy AMPS 362!

She is not bouncing. Her numbers are just high. She needs more insulin! :(

I checked my emails and couldn't find any order confirmation so I found the website in my history and there was an error so I had to resubmit ! :( I paid for express so hopefully here within the week!
I'm wondering if you can find U-100 syringes of 30 unit (cc) capacity locally and eyeball 1.25U so you can increase her dose without waiting any longer for the half unit syringes to arrive from the UK. It is a little hard, but it's more important to be consistent than accurate.

If you get callipers, you don't even need half unit syringes. You could just use callipers with 30 unit syringes to measure the dose. That's much more accurate that eye-balling the dose.
Dosing with calipers
 
So 239 to 362 in a couple of days is a normal high range? She stayed around that lower range for 2 days and now she's way higher with no change in dose? I will see when the syringes are supposed to arrive, otherwise ask in my pharmacy but it's pretty stressful considering giving her an 'eyeballed' dose!?
 
So 239 to 362 in a couple of days is a normal high range?
No, that is not a normal high range, but I doubt she's bouncing. Unless she has gone below 200 at some point and is bouncing from there. Any chance you can get a mid-cycle test in every cycle? Or does she still hate it?
 
Just getting the preshot test has become a nightmare the last couple days, it takes two of us and I’ve been in tears.
 
Just getting the preshot test has become a nightmare the last couple days, it takes two of us and I’ve been in tears.
I am really sorry to hear that, Deb. What part of the testing does Roxy not like?

Yes very much so, I think it's more the being restrained, she hates it and just wants to get away. She's very independent! Never sits on your lap, only next to you!
I saw this post of yours in a previous thread. Do you have to hold her down?
 
Yes she has developed this habit of seemingly going along with it and then moving her head violently at the moment you either stab with the lancet or when you are trying to suck up the blood with the testing strip which means we have to do it again.. so frustrating!
 
Is it normal for readings to bounce around a bit to begin with?
Unfortunately, and infuriatingly, the answer is yes. And sometimes beyond "to begin with". :rolleyes: Cats in the beginning can also bounce from yellows if they aren't used to them. And remember, the preshots are not as important, though they do tell us if it's safe to give insulin. What's important is the nadirs or low points, and those are the values we primarily use to determine how to change the dose. I'm glad Bhooma mentioned an increase, cause it's time.

If you are using the BD Ultrafine syringes, there is a paper insulin ruler you can use to measure the doses.
Insulin ruler template for use with BD syringes: https://www.diabetes-katzen.net/insulinruler.pdf
There is a section in this article on how to use them. management of diabetic cats.pdf
 
Thank you Wendy. We don't actually have any syringes yet but I need to get some if the ones I have ordered don't come soon. No idea what to ask for at the pharmacy. We are still using the pen with the super find needle (are the syringes that fine? That stresses me out too as the only good thing at the moment is that she doesn't feel the needle go in. Thanks for the insulin ruler link.
 
(are the syringes that fine?
The syringes are 31G. I don't think the pen needles are finer. If you get callipers, it makes dosing consistent (since the markings are off in most syringes) and you don't have to worry about getting half unit syringes from abroad.

I've seen people here collect the drop of blood on their finger nail so that they don't have to hold the kitty down long enough to touch the blood drop to the strip. Of course, this would work only with reasonably sized drops.
 
The syringes are 31G. I don't think the pen needles are finer. If you get callipers, it makes dosing consistent (since the markings are off in most syringes) and you don't have to worry about getting half unit syringes from abroad.

I've seen people here collect the drop of blood on their finger nail so that they don't have to hold the kitty down long enough to touch the blood drop to the strip. Of course, this would work only with reasonably sized drops.
What syringes are 31G? Is that the type I need to ask for? I don’t really understand the calliper things? What do I need to look for?
 
Yes, these are the syringes with half unit markings. What happened to your previous order?

What syringes are 31G? Is that the type I need to ask for? I don’t really understand the calliper things? What do I need to look for?
The needles on the syringes are of 31 gauge. The higher the gauge, the thinner the needle. For e.g. 31G needles or lancets would be thinner than 28G ones. You insulin pen needles would be 31G or less.

See this sticky for how to use callipers for measuring a dose - Dosing with calipers
 
Yes, these are the syringes with half unit markings. What happened to your previous order?


The needles on the syringes are of 31 gauge. The higher the gauge, the thinner the needle. For e.g. 31G needles or lancets would be thinner than 28G ones. You insulin pen needles would be 31G or less.

See this sticky for how to use callipers for measuring a dose - Dosing with calipers
I got an email from from previous supplier saying there are delays to shipments so am searching for closer supplier.. thanks
 
Back
Top