6/10 Rocky PMPS 196 +1 260

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon LL!

I have to apologize once again as I just have not had time to post, or input the BG tests into Rocky's SS. However, I continue to do the blood tests and I am monitoring just as close as I always have..

I have been slammed the past few days.. helping the dehydrated kitten and another dehydrated adult cat (my friends), evaluating colony kitten situations, who needs to be trapped when and if there are fosters available, etc.

I am also the organizer and contact person for my Tibetan teachers talk at the Burlingame Peninsula Humane Society this coming Thursday. That has required a lot of time in communicating to attendees, Rinpoche's staff, and the shelter. 107 people have RSVP'd to me so far.

http://www.peninsulahumanesociety.org/e ... l#buddhist

I'm sorry that I haven't had time to read through any of your posts yet. I can probably get to them this coming Friday. I know that some of you have offered ways to help me with my rescue and I'm not ignoring you, I just haven't had the time to respond.

But back to Rocky, he had two of the red alarm numbers overnight and then sort of went straight to green today. I have been feeding him small amount to try to keep him above 50. With this stretch of green numbers today I wouldn't doubt it if he sees a BG in the red or even black by this evening's PMPS. I wish he wouldn't bounce like that but there seems to be nothing I can do about it. :YMSIGH:

Rocky's SS for yesterday:
AMPS 98 +1 100 +2 85 +4 104 +7.5 339
PMPS 409 +1 417 +3.5 316 +8 348

I'll be taking Rocky to his vet at the animal hospital for a medical board this coming Thursday so there won't be any condo for him on Thursday, and not until late in the day or evening on this coming Friday. I'll be spending the night at a friend's house who lives near San Francisco and don't have anyone to give Rocky his shots nor to monitor him while I'm away from the house.

Thank you everyone for sticking with us and cheering us on!! <3 <3 <3
 
Re: 6/10 Rocky AMPS 211 +1 224 +3 50 +4 51 +5 51 +6 60 +7 69

Rocky's numbers are looking SOOOO good. :mrgreen: He's hitting green every day. Not every cycle yet, but he's getting there. The bounces are so quick that they are almost nonexistent. Nice.

Since you have been feeding so aggressively to keep his numbers up, I think you should reduce his dose a bit while he is boarded. Maybe 2u, since that would be a nice easy dose to measure, or less if that makes you more comfortable. I'm sure the vet won't be able to do all that you do to prop the numbers up, and you never really know if they will eat the same at the vet anyway. In fact, since he tends to drop more during the day, you might want to go ahead and reduce the night before so the depot will clear out a little. Who knows, he might do fine with the reduction, and if he doesn't, I think he is at a point where he can recover quickly.

Good luck with your event!
 
Re: 6/10 Rocky PMPS 196

I had a moment to pop in here while scarfing down sushi at my computer and waiting to do another test before feeding Rocky again. I expected him to be sky high at PMPS so I am a bit surprised by the 196.. But, maybe after this first meal, even though it was only 4% carb, he could bounce way up like his normal routine.

This lower BG number pushes my night way back right now because I haven't gone out to feed the ferals yet. With this extreme heat, the moms with their kittens haven't been coming out until after 10pm. However, the strangest thing happened today.. It was 96°F today and then at about 7:30pm this cool Delta breeze came in and dropped the temperature by nearly 20 degrees. It's only a balmy 68°F outside at nearly 10pm.

Thank you Libby I will go ahead with your suggestion. To keep Rocky safe I will reduce his dose to 2.0u tomorrow night. In addition, I'm going to be giving the vet a brand new pen as this one is nearly drained. The new one might be more potent too.
 
Hi Tina.

Isn't the Delta breeze wonderful?! I got in the car in Sacramento at 5:00 and it was 100, and got out at home about 90 minutes later and it was 70! They say we are done with the triple digits for a while. 80s the rest of the week. Music to my ears, and I'm sure it's better for your feral kitties, too.

I board my kitties a lot, and I always have them shoot a lower dose. Even though Cinco is in the hospital section, they can't watch him as closely and they don't test often enough. I'd rather have him go a little high than a little low. I hope Rocky does okay while you are gone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top