6/10 Frank AMPS 298, +6 46 Dose decrease help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delma and Frank

Member Since 2009
Hi everyone! Well Frank surprised me today (sort of) with the 46. He gave me a couple worrisome days at work yesterday and Tuesday, too. However with the DS home from school, I was able to get him to feed Frank some dry food (eek!) while I was at work...did the best I could...DS gave me grief to do me the favor.
( Hope I wasn't as grumpy to my mom when I was 15.)
Anyway..... I was wondering about whether or not Frank has earned a dose reduction with BGs in the 40s today and Monday, 6/7. Monday, I had to leave, but I think he may have or did drift into the 40s.
What do you think...decrease or let it ride at same dose?
 
Let's see what the others say. But since Frank has been diabetic for over a year...here is what the protocol says for decreases...

Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.


So I am thinking that Frank needs to drop below 40 before you take a reduction. But I am no expert for sure :mrgreen:
 
While it's a great number, it doesn't earn a dose reduction. Frank would need to drop below 40 for an immediate reduction. However, from the Tilly Protocol:

Tilly Protocol said:
if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!

This would be your first below 50 number. Two more and you can try a reduction unless Frank drops below 40 and earns an immediate reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top