6/10 FAX PMPS 454

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

Going by the 'shooting low numbers' sticky - anything under 150 and don't shoot. So I will feed him breakfast and retest in a couple of hours? I hope this is the right thing to do. After last night I am very leery of shooting such a low number...
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

I read through the thread from last night...nice job!

The 32 is an automatic dose reduction of 0.25u, so his new dose is 5.25u. However, you've never shot this low, so I would stall (don't feed) for 15-30 minutes and retest.
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

Thanks for replying Laurie,
I haven't fed yet, its been 20 mins since I first tested. I will test again now. About where do I want to see him before he eats?
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

You want to make sure he is rising before you shoot...if you feed, that will inflate his numbers. Let's see where he is when you test.

Are you going to be around to monitor today? Plenty of test strips, HC food? How long can you stall without causing problems with the schedule....remember you have to shoot 12 hours from whenever you shoot this morning.
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

I will be around for most of the day. I wouldn't want to stall past 8.30 for shooting - I just know it will be a nightmare to hold off his dinner meal until much later than that tonight. Also, I have company arriving this afternoon for the weekend.
Off to test now. Be back in a few minutes.
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

How much longer can you stall? I'd like to see one more test, that's not much difference.

When you say most of the day....will you be around for the part of his cycle that will likely be low? You don't want to shoot and have to leave when he is low. Do you have supplies?
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

oh, sorry - its 8.20 now.

last night was really stressful and long (didn't get to bed until 3!) and these lower numbers this morning I'm having trouble dealing with!
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

I have supplies (thank goodness, needed them last night) but i will most likely be out of the house around +6 and +7 (when he is usually lowest). I will be here the hours leading up to that and then later this afternoon I will be home with the company.
My cat is ruling my life...
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

I would get another test at 8:30, and decide then what you want to do.

Your options are either skip the shot, shoot the full dose (5.25u) or shoot a reduced (BCS) dose. If you skip, he likely will be high by tonight, but he will get back on track. If you shoot the full dose, you will need to monitor closely, and he may go low when you have to leave. If you shoot the reduced dose, you still need to monitor closely, and he still may go low when you have to leave....you have never tried that, so you don't know how he will react. Some cats act almost as if they got the full dose, some don't...no way to predict.

What do you think?
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

I feel like because I'm not definitely going to be around for those lowest hours its probably safest to not give anything - I would hate to do a reduced dose and have him act like he got the full 5.25u and not be here to help him if he goes super low again. He was not feeling well last night at all!

Does having these crazy swings possibly mean his dose is too high?

If I don't shoot this morning, do I stick to the same shot time tonight as usual?
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

Hi guys, congrats on the dose decrease! Looks like Laurie is helping with dosing advice this morning so just wanted to say nice job on handling everything last night .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

It's possible that he is over dose, but there is no way to know without more data. There is nothing to indicate that from past data. We will see as we go forward. He could be responding to the food switch...some cats do have a delayed reaction...or he could just be having a breakthrough. No matter what the case, it is manageable. The key is close monitoring and adjusting dose as needed.

If you would be more comfortable skipping, I understand. These are very nice numbers, and what happened last night would have been a easier if you had gotten the +3....not being critical, just pointing out that he likely would not have gotten that low if you had tested sooner. You need to watch when they drop a lot early in the cycle...if the +2 is significantly lower, that's a cue to test sooner rather than later.

If you skip, you can shoot at whatever time you want tonight. It's a great opportunity to change your schedule if you want to.
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

I tested again and he is now at 148. I'm not sure how many more times I will be able to test without feeding him - he is really fed up with me at this point.
I think I will feed and not shoot - I am in no mental state this morning to go through a repeat of last night so soon and fear if he goes super low that I won't be able to be here for him.
THis is incredibly stressful business.
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

If you are going to skip, go ahead and feed. It would be good to get a few tests through the cycle to see when he starts to rise...that will help us with dosing for tonight. If you can get a +11 and post it an hour before you need to shoot, we can confirm a dose...is that doable for you?
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

Also...you did really good last night, and this is manageable, ok? Don't let it freak you out too much....it's not unusual to see a sudden response, that's why you monitor. It keeps them safe. It will get easier, it's always scary the first few times you see low numbers. Everybody panics the first time....I had my first number in the 30s in the middle of the night, and there was no one on the board. I plunked a whole can of HC food down for Tinkles and stood over him to make sure he ate every bite! :lol: :lol: :lol: Needless to say, his numbers came WAY up....someone tactfully suggested the next day that maybe I could try a tsp or two next time. :lol: It will get less stressful....really!
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

thank you again, laurie.
i have fed him and did not shoot.
i will get a +11 and post as soon as I get it (so that will be around 6.30 pm Eastern Time Zone)
I will also get a few numbers throughout the day as I can.
The lower numbers are more stressful for me than the high ones!!
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

Great, thanks for the heads up about what time....I should be around, others may be too.

I know the lower numbers are more stressful, it's always like that when you first start to see them. Once you get used to them, you will be cheering when he sees green! The low blues and greens are what you want....it just takes time to get used to them...
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

Roisin, I was up last night until 2am, and I was following Fax's night too. I just have to say what an amazing job you did! I hope when Tessie drops that low I can be as good as you were. Congrats to you!

As far as the cats running our lives, I know exactly how you feel. It is incredibly stressful, and the worst part is sleep deprivation. I can't function well after one of those nights like we both had last night. I think you did absolutely the right thing by not shooting, and I am HOPING and PRAYING that you can get some sleep tonight.

We are so lucky to have the wonderful people here. They will keep us sane! :lol: :lol:

Catch your condo later to see what Fax is doing. Good luck,
Sandy and Tessie Lou
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

m'dear you did great last night, and he threw you a great number this morning.

that first low is always a lot to handle but next time you'll be swinging it like a pro.

like laurie said, it won't be long before you are cheering some of those green numbers! (not all of them, 32 is a little too low to cheer ;)

it's just like driving, the first time you get behind the wheel it's both exciting and scary, but soon enough you can't wait to get there again.

great job last night!
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

oh, and sometimes you can still have a little shed action going early in the cycle, even when you don't shoot.

i know laurie suggested earlier grabbing a couple early numbers, and that not might be a bad idea today.
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

roisin, it does get very routine after a couple of times going through that - and fortunately, it doesn't happen every night!

you did great last night - hope you can get a little snooze in today before your company comes.
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 DOSE THIS MORNING??

Thank goodness that doesn't happen every night - I couldn't cope!
Fax was 216 at +3 (from original preshot test @7:30) I am going to try and get him again before I go out but he is doing his neighbourhood rounds at the moment. When he has been way too high (or way too low) he only wants to be inside sleeping (or asking for food) - so, I hope him being out is a good thing and means his numbers aren't spiking on me.
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 noshot +3 212

Roisin, his numbers will go up because you skipped. He also will most likely bounce from that 32, so don't be surprised if he's quite high by tonight....he will come down.
 
Re: 6/10 FAX AMPS 131 noshot +3 212

Roisin - You did great last night! I would have skipped the one today as well, especially after last night.

Tarragon was probably so happy to see me leave the house this morning. He could finally get some sleep and give his poor ears a rest.
 
make sure you grab an early cycle number from fax. i know you have company tonight, but a +2 or 3 will be helpful after last night.
 
Just wanted to say Hello since this is my first visit to your condo :mrgreen: looks like Fax kept you busy this morning hope this bounce is a short one for him
 
Hi Roisin: I know last night was scary but you did really well.....you had awesome help. Isn't it wonderful that we have such amazing support here? Laurie helping you out this morning was also a godsend. But everyone is right....soon you will get used to low numbers and you will be helping others through it. Looks like Fax is giving you permission tonight to enjoy your company!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top