6/10 Champ PMPS 379, +2.75 210, +4.5 89, +5.5 84, +6.5 87

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Happy, happy Friday, everyone!!!! In just a short little while, my most wonderful brother-in-law is coming over to put ceiling fans in every room in my house :-D except the living room because the ceiling is so high we need to get a taller ladder :sad: But that will probably be next friday!! It's starting to get hot here in Las Vegas so it will be nice to have the fans running so I can put off turning on the A/C for just a bit longer. I am NOT looking forward to the $300 summertime electric bill. I need to put that off as long as possible!!

Champ seems to be doing much better today than yesterday. His AMPS is down by about 100 points from yesteday's so maybe that has something to do with it. He jumped into bed this morning to let me know he was hungry. Unfortunately, his shot times were changed to 6:30/6:30 about a week ago so the poor bugger's internal alarm clock needs to be reset!! He's now lying on his back on the kitchen floor as I sit here typing, looking like he's sunbathing or something, taking a little snooze. When they're so cute like this, you just want to pick them up and hug the stuffin' out of them!!! :lol:

After much thinking and reading up on the notes I've written, I've come to some decisions....It may be a coincidence, but it seems Champ's wobbly legs have gotten worse since starting the FF and discontinuing the Wellness. It started before the FF, but was only in one leg and was very slight and there was no facial twitching. It also seems he's lost a lot of muscle mass all over, not just in his legs. When he sits, he puts his back legs far apart and it looks like his body puddles at his feet, so he looks normal size at the shoulders, but it looks like everything else...fat, muscle, skin... has slid down and pooled at his feet. I've decided, once again changing my mind, that I'm going to give him only Wellness for two weeks and see if he improves in any way. I'll also be keeping an eye on his BGs to see if he stalls in the yellows with the Wellness. I'm going to stick with the 4% carb varieties only, though, since he seems to be carb sensitive. No sense making it harder for him to get onto the blue and green floor!!

I'm going to make it my goal this weekend to try to get video of all the tremors and oddities and make an appointment with the vet. That way, if Champ doesn't exhibit any of these things in the vet's office, I'll have video of it to show him. I was going to call the vet yesterday, but decided not to because this isn't FD related and I just don't think it's fair of me to call him, take up his time without paying him, to ask him questions that he will just have to guess the answers to since he can't see Champ through the phone line. Unfortunately, I know something is wrong with Champ (we all know when something's wrong with our kitties). I just don't know if I'll be able to afford to find out what it is or be able to fix it. But I'll cross that road when I get to it. As it is, Champ seems happy and isn't in any pain at all. He's eating, pooping, peeing, and is still beating up flip-flops on occasion.

I sure hope you all have a fantastic Friday!!! I plan on partaking of some alcoholic beverages as soon as the fans are in and I relax. A cold Bud Light sounds AWESOME!!!
 
Re: 6/10 Champ AMPS 277, +2 294, +4 166

im sorry to hear that things aren't improving but it sounds like you are really on top of everything and you are taking it all one day at a time, not jumping to conclusions, and removing potential influences one at a time, and recording everything, which is the best thing you can do. you are really on top of champ's health.

going in armed with specific data is always better than going into a situation saying "um, stuff started a little bit ago, and ya'know, i changed stuff."

sending good thoughts your way, and it looks like he's gotten a great blue +4 today!
 
Re: 6/10 Champ AMPS 277, +2 294, +4 166

Pretty cycle for Champ. Good for you for getting everything organized and TAKING a video for the vet to see. Our vet (the one who just left) had me video Zoe and email it to her, several times after her asthma diagnosis, so she could see her breathing when she wasn't stressed.....and she looked at Zoe's SS several times a week to monitor her numbers...gonna miss that! :sad:

Keep up the good work, Champ....enjoy the ceiling fans and the Bud light Patty!
 
Re: 6/10 Champ AMPS 277, +2 294, +4 166

Pretty colors for Champ today! We have ceiling fans in every room and I really think they cut down on how low you have to have your A/C. Congratulations on the new fans!!!! That is very exciting.

Adult beverages sound heavenly right now. I might partake in some myself tonight as well.

Hope you have a great day Patty and a wonderful weekend!
 
Re: 6/10 Champ AMPS 277, +2 294, +4 166

Hi guys .. I like that champ is down onto the blue floor at +4 .. not bad my man! I think it is a smart idea to take video of champ and his twitching .. we all know kitties never show their problems at the vets .. hopefully the wellness food change will do him good .. enjoy those fans!
 
Re: 6/10 Champ AMPS 277, +2 294, +4 166

Hi Patty!! Glad to see Champ on the blue floor. Maybe he intends on keeping you up tonight now that your DBIL, Mike, installed those fans. I think they make a HUGE difference!!!

I think you have some great ideas to start trying to figure out what the problem could be. Please keep us posted. I am worried because you are worried....yes, you know your Champ and you know when there's something up so follow your gut. I really hope the WN makes a difference. And if it makes his numbers a little high, increase his dose maybe????

hugs and enjoy that bud light for me. Oh wait...never mind. I don't drink beer...YUCK :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/10 Champ AMPS 277, +2 294, +4 166

Hi Patti

We are right there with you on the high cooling bills in summer well its like that in winter for us as well we have all electric, hate that sometimes hope you enjoy those fans and very nice that Champ came down to the blue floor for you enjoy your Beer I am not a beer girl myself although my DH has made it his goal this year for some reason to find beer I like its kinda funny I think he is under the impression its will help my migraines anyway he did find one that had orange peel in it yeah sound gross I know but I did like it one of those blue moon flavors.
 
Re: 6/10 Champ AMPS 277, +2 294, +4 166, PMPS 379

I AM SO MAD AT MYSELF!!!!! I laid down on my bed, underneath my brand new ceiling fan, marveling in its cooling beauty, when WHAMMMM. I fell asleep and missed Champ's shot time! Ugghhh!. Shot 45 minutes late!!! And then, to top it off, I'm having no luck getting Champ to eat the Wellness. I sprinkle it with freeze-dried salmon dust....he eats the salmon flavored bits and nothing else. This morning and this evening, I've had to put a little spoonful of FF in there just to get him to eat some of the Wellness, but he's not eating all his food. Around noon today, I was fixing a sandwich for my DBIN and DD and, of course, Champ is standing there for his share. I threw him a couple tiny pieces of ham, I mean tiny, and five minutes later I hear him throwing up. It's the first time ever I've seen Champ throw up! He was ravenous after that, but refused to eat the Wellness in his bowl. I think I might have to slowly phase out the FF instead of making him quit cold turkey. Geez....it's like FF is his heroin. He's going through serious withdrawals or something.
 
Re: 6/10 Champ AMPS 277, +2 294, +4 166, PMPS 379

Aaahhhh....I'm sorry for the pukus...poor Champ!! I hope you can get him switched over. I do believe FF is kitty crack!!
 
Re: 6/10 Champ AMPS 277, +2 294, +4 166, PMPS 379

Yes, you probably will have to phase out the FF...they do love it! Tinkles tries to steal it from the civies' bowls when I give it to them.

I would open new insulin. When it gets toasty, you see inconsistent cycles....some are good, and others just seem like there isn't enough "oomph". If you are pushing 80 days on that vial, it's past time.....

We all shoot late sometimes....life happens! Don't worry about it, work your way back on schedule gradually, it will be fine.
 
Re: 6/10 Champ AMPS 277, +2 294, +4 166, PMPS 379

Hi Laurie....my thoughts exactly on the insulin. I was going to start it this morning, but realized I wouldn't be able to monitor closely because of having the fans installed so tomorrow's the day!!! I just looked at the pen to get an idea what to do and I'm going to go over the info in the sticky again on how to use the pen. I just hope I don't get bubbles like others have had lately!!!
 
Re: 6/10 Champ AMPS 277, PMPS 379, +1.5 331, +2.75 210

can't believe i didn't get to your condo today! i am trying to be more disciplined because i can spend hours on fdmb, literally. yesterday i must've been on the computer for 8 hours just reading diabetic stuff and being on here. i'm trying to get anything else done!

sorry to hear champ's puking today - we hate that.

i wouldn't worry about bev - she'll probaby be back tomorrow. hugs!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top