6/10 Belle, AMPS 344, +4.25 276, +6 261, PMPS 353, +1.5 301

Status
Not open for further replies.
i know EVO's canned cat food is good, but the company got bought out, and they decided to no longer sell it thru Chewy or any other online retailers... :(
that's why need to find an alternative...

The new formula of EVO's canned food is under 2% so still a good choice. One of the other members received an email from them. Hope that helps.
 
I don’t know if you saw my post from the other night but I’ll repost it here.

There was some agreement that Belle might still be getting too much insulin.

I am really not one to drop the dose back without a reason to do so but without more testing at night, we just aren’t able to tell you whether Belle is going low or not. I’m not talking about a lot of testing but just a +6 or +7 test for three nights. Without that information, I’m not comfortable telling you whether Belle is overdosed or not.

Whether he will come down into green and stay there with no insulin, I just don’t have a clue. On one hand, I hate for you to stop insulin if he really needs more; OTOH, if he’s getting too much, it’s causing him to bounce. Whether you take the dose up or down is going to have to be your decision because without some additional tests at night for just a few nights, I can’t tell you with confidence which is the best way to go.

I will tell you that on 5/2, he earned a reduction which would have had him starting an OTJ trial. Unfortunately, none of us were aware of it to advise you.

Insofar as food, I really like Ziwipeak. Chewy.com sells it for a great price (although it is expensive) but it is a really high quality food (more so than Evo) and the % carbs are fairly low. The beef is the highest at 10% but that never affected Gracie’s BG and I don’t believe it affects Karen’s Doodle’s BG.
 
Thanks Marje,

I checked Ziwipeak on Chewy...but it is also out of the budget that i can afford. :(
i am looking for something similar price (and similar quality) as EVO... seems hard to find....

as for the night test, it's actually a bit difficult, the best i could do is a +2 at night, since he gets his PMPS pretty late, and he is not an indoor cat (he lives in the garage at night, and outside during the day)... a +6 or +7 would be like 4am or 5am in the morning... which would be much easier to do if he is an indoor cat...

i believe for the 5/2 reduction pt, i believe other members did noticed that, but they think he should stay on insulin a bit longer, cos otherwise it is not a strong remission, and remission is not going to last.

yes, now i m pretty confused if he needs more juice. or less... cos he had been constantly high for a while. but like u said he might be bouncing... so confused.... ... ...



I don’t know if you saw my post from the other night but I’ll repost it here.



Insofar as food, I really like Ziwipeak. Chewy.com sells it for a great price (although it is expensive) but it is a really high quality food (more so than Evo) and the % carbs are fairly low. The beef is the highest at 10% but that never affected Gracie’s BG and I don’t believe it affects Karen’s Doodle’s BG.
 
Thanks Marje,

I checked Ziwipeak on Chewy...but it is also out of the budget that i can afford. :(
i am looking for something similar price (and similar quality) as EVO... seems hard to find....

as for the night test, it's actually a bit difficult, the best i could do is a +2 at night, since he gets his PMPS pretty late, and he is not an indoor cat (he lives in the garage at night, and outside during the day)... a +6 or +7 would be like 4am or 5am in the morning... which would be much easier to do if he is an indoor cat...

i believe for the 5/2 reduction pt, i believe other members did noticed that, but they think he should stay on insulin a bit longer, cos otherwise it is not a strong remission, and remission is not going to last.

yes, now i m pretty confused if he needs more juice. or less... cos he had been constantly high for a while. but like u said he might be bouncing... so confused.... ... ...
Thank you for commenting. I did know he lives in th garage. I'm only asking but is there any chance to move his shots earlier just to get a later test but that would still allow you to get to bed and sleep?

Well....you can't go much lower than 0.05u and if he earns a reduction, it would have been worth trying.

Think about it and just let us know if you want to try and take him off insulin or not.

I wish I could recommend another food for him but I'm not a fan of most canned cat foods....
 
i am looking for something similar price
Wellness may be a good option and believe comparable in price as Evo.
WELLNESS (look for the yellow triangle stating “Grain Free”)

Grain-free 3oz cans

Chicken LC - cabs: 4 Phos: 219
Turkey LC - carbs :4 Phos: 200

Wellness CORE - grain-free - 5oz cans only
Chicken/Turkey/Chicken Liver MC -Carbs: 8 Phos: 215
Beef, Venison, & Lamb LC- Carbs: 5 - Phos: 171
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top